What Chu Know About Enchiladas: fruits and veggies Monday

Hola and welcome back to #fruitsandveggiesmonday! I am steadily impressed with the dishes that enter F’s and V’s (fruits and veggies), @lenasveganliving, and am constantly inspired by everyone- thank you for that!

My friend @plantstoplanks made this fabulous looking Nice Cream Pie, a little while back and although it wasn’t for Fruits and Veggies but to celebrate her parents 50th (yes, I said 50th) wedding anniversary, it was incredible. I mean, do you know how to make an ice cream cake let alone a healthy version called nice-cream cake-pie? Me either! One of these days I will have a go at this pie/cake, ice-cream-nice-cream plate of deliciousness. But until then my friend @plantstoplanks killed it with this one.

Anyway, I’m saying all of this because I really appreciate the community, here, on Mondays. The group of people are just fantastic and I’m very glad to have been invited into the fold. Without further adue, my fruits and veggies for this week…

ACC5C3EC-1147-474A-91D0-37C84A05D29A.jpeg

What Chu Know About Enchiladas

So, if you’re like me then your kitchen counter is covered with beautiful fall looking flowers, that photograph with enchiladas perfectly. No, I did not buy these at Traders Joes with plating pictures in mind, but they do happen to look great with my new itsy, bitsy, fall pumpkins (copped from TJs also).

B426FBCA-E5AA-4763-9F50-A640E82D1543.jpeg

I know- the “vase” is actually a coffee mug that, I think, worked out swimmingly :)

Back to these delicious enchiladas! Made all from scratch, stuffed with a ton of vegetables and sauced to perfection, you can’t go wrong with these gluten free, dairy free, vegetable abundant, homemade enchiladas.

A7615B2A-7431-48C2-94EF-62CA307BCE50.jpeg

My husband says “your flowers are placed too proportionately to use that one as a cover photo” but I am rebellious (kinda) so I use it as ‘the alternate’ cover shot 🤠.

Ingredients

Filling:
Olive oil
1 onion (chopped)
1 bell pepper (chopped)
1/2-1 zucchini (chopped)
1.5 C black beans (cooked or canned)
1/2 C corn (frozen/thawed or fresh/cooked)
1/2 C green peas
5 stalks green onion (chopped)
1/2 C cilantro (chopped)
3-4 garlic cloves (minced)
sea salt and pepper to taste
1/2 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 Tbsp cumin
1 Tsp oregano
Dash cayenne pepper
All spices, here, optional

8-10 gluten free tortillas or 10-12 corn tortillas

D187D076-E78B-4826-AA2C-C4E4D408E685.jpeg

Really you can stuff these little suckers with whatever you want and seasoned however you’d like- that’s the beauty of these Enchiladas 💃.

I start by… you guessed it… sautéing my onions then adding my chopped bell pepper. Continue cooking until your husband yells “damn, that smells goooood” then toss in the garlic.

2B6143E5-F508-4BE1-8502-5BB48FA88E48.jpeg

Careful not to burn your garlic (it does not give off that “damn, that smells good” smell).

7FE2D0BD-AB47-457E-9752-D7BD8D045A6E.jpeg

I add my zucchini and stir all of that around for a minute then toss in your black beans and green peas.

6D0A66A0-FCF3-4FF9-AF28-810FD497C2DF.jpeg

If you feel like your mix is getting too dry then go ahead and pour a 1/4 C of vegetable broth into the fold or add a little water. I will usually add a chopped tomato for more juices but did not do that this time. Really, it’s whatever you want :)

AD06492F-883C-4698-A7ED-3ADF1535F629.jpeg

Toss in your corn and green onion (make sure your corn is thawed or it’ll get too juicy in there) and stir carefully without spilling over onto the oven top.

It’s like I’m constantly battling dishes or pans that are too small, too big, not the right shape 🤷🏼‍♀️ Just out here living the life of Goldilocks and The Three Bears

Go ahead and add your spices, salt and pepper.

DFC1B935-FE6A-4673-ADBC-693BF6E397E6.jpeg

Mix well and let that simmer on low for 10 minutes or so while we get started on the sauce. This is where the magic happens…

35735A0A-5465-4628-B1BE-D7433DDE8F9A.jpeg

Ingredients

Sauce:
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp flour (gluten free)
1 Tsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp oregano
4 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 Tsp salt
1/2 Tsp pepper
1-2 Tbsp tomato paste
2 C vegetable broth

I usually make a double batch to ensure I have all of the sauce I need. As you can tell from my pictures, I forgot to do that this time 🤦🏼‍♀️

F0EC7E0D-B41F-4742-B43E-BCED9CFE7F6C.jpeg

Start by adding olive oil (2 Tbsp) and flour in a pot on low heat. Whisk together with a fork… I employed my favorite helper here… sometimes we could use a few extra hands when it comes to enchiladas.

7B897417-0080-4FB0-A206-C7F753FD6BDD.jpeg

Keep your helper whisking continuously so that nothing burns and start adding the spices.

87C31124-B1EC-4BC2-B4DC-3A6DED693C53.jpeg

Let your helper stop stirring for just a second so you can grab a process photo and then continue cracking the whip :)

F643233C-346E-4A71-84AA-295F383B2CEB.jpeg

Add your tomato paste, whisking that in until fully blended and then your vegetable broth.

E2126CB7-F2E8-4ED6-84EA-3BE3C68DEC92.jpeg

As you can see I had to give my mixer a break (I think it’s a law or something) and took over the job of whisker…

Whisk, whisk, whisk,
Whisk, whisk, whisk,
Whisk your groove thing,
Whisk your groove thing!

Keep whisking on a low simmer for about 10 minutes. The sauce should be thickening.

D6859147-629D-4796-B899-3B2B012D0FAF.jpeg

And Taaah-daaaahh… you’ve got sauce! Take it off the heat or drive the whip on your handsome Mr. Whisker but don’t let it burn.

Cut some more green onions to go with your chopped cilantro and set aside for “sprinkling” during the stuffing process.

82B09BDF-0759-41E1-934E-24EE0458846F.jpeg

Take one or two scoops full of sauce and line the bottom of your enchilada dish. Pre-heat your oven at 350F while preparing to get messy.

2908F454-EE46-43CD-9FE4-8E8328A0BF77.jpeg

First, I tried my new (and super exciting) gluten free tortillas. I heated a stack up for about 30 seconds in the microwave and pulled one out while it was steaming. Scooping 2-3 healthy spoonfuls of guts into the tortilla, I could already see that these were going to suck! As I tried to roll, all I got was a rip and enchilada guts were going everywhere…

6287389F-2009-4A88-884C-7F8191E3EC85.jpeg

Salvaging what I could, I thanked my food Gods that I had my beloved corn tortillas on hand to save the day.

Take your tortilla and give a couple healthy scoops of filling, dollop of enchilada sauce, sprinkle of green onions/cilantro and roll that bad boy up placing it seam side down in your dish. Top with more sauce.

B1A46F04-122F-48C9-A0EC-CF530BA63F66.jpeg

I, actually, had to grab another small dish to stuff more tortillas so quickly ran out of sauce. I just called these Skinny Enchiladas and moved on.

B252703E-F6D9-4376-B5EA-3C5D7214884D.jpeg

Sprinkle with remaining green onion and cilantro then cover tightly with foil and place them in the oven for 20-25 minutes (until the sauce is bubbling).

C1E051DE-0BD9-4B46-8AA9-AE284B7848BC.jpeg

Voila… What Chu Know About Enchiladas, Enchiladas!

1961A99C-9E36-49D0-8E2D-0E1C272775AD.jpeg

The only casualty of the night was losing my Sous Chef to me going all Gordon Ramsay on him. I think this Latin dish brought out my fuego so will work on keeping the heat confined to my food. Thank you so much @dandays for always being a good sport. At least I can apologize with yummy food :).

Thank you for hanging out with me today during Fruits and Veggies Monday and as always, I’m looking forward to all of the great entries.

35BA4440-E3A8-4951-8E36-F95F4490BAA5.jpeg

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

Another super delightful dish! Highly Resteemed

that looks super yummy. Ill try and remember to come back and upvote after the VP issue get resolved :)

Glad you like it @mattlovell- thanks for stopping by VP issues or not :)… I know my husband is probably regretting telling me “Steemit is back up”. Haha

By 50th wedding anniversary, I meant 40th wedding anniversary (yes, I said 40th). Such a beautiful accomplishment- congratulations @plantstoplanks Mom and Dad 👏👏.… giving us all something to strive for :)

Haha, good catch! Still an accomplishment either way! Thanks for the shout-out! I would gladly take a plate of these yummy enchiladas! I have always had a hard time finding the perfect wrap/tortilla. The healthier ones always seem to fall apart like yours did, but at least with an enchilada you can just dig right in with a fork and gobble up all that messy deliciousness regardless. 😋

No sweat, I’ve been meaning blast you and what better blog than your parents anniversary nice cream pie-cake :) Also consider a few enchiladas coming your way @plantstoplanks… let me know if you track down that perfect tortilla (oh and can it also be gluten free) ha… I’m glad you stopped by my friend!

Congratulations on another homerun beautifullest.
:knucks:

Muah… thank you babe!

40th anniversary. Now that's an achievement. Wifey and I are just over half way there with a score of 26 this year.

Back to the food though, I reckon you need your own tv show. You always manage to make things look so simple and delicious. And not even a slither of meat involved.

Wow! 26 years? That’s incredible!!! Congratulations, that’s an impressive feat. Cheers to another 26 more… give @dandays and me something to look up to :)

Thank you so much… I love to cook and bake, I think I’m a little uncoothed for my own tv show 🤷🏼‍♀️ but the thought/suggestion is really sweet. I’m glad you like my recipes- when dandays and I stop by the UK for a visit I guess we know who is cooking :). Thanks again for the sweet words @sivehead.

Mrs. Talented :). You could easily start a restaurant or food truck :p

Ahhh that’s so nice! A food truck sounds like it would be fun… maybe a lil shack cafe on the beach in Costa Rica? Both sound fun- until they turn into “work” that is.… thank you so much for the compliments @weirdheadaches… the food fight family is awesome! One of these days a ‘reunion’ of sorts should be orchestrated… I’ll cook up a storm :)

:D, reunion oh yah lol. Costa Rica would be awsome! Brings back my surfing days. Sorry for the late reply, alots been going on. Happy Sunday ))))

No worries, we’re all trying to figure out this fork thing-y. I’ve never tried surfing but look forward to the experience. A triple F reunion would be dope!!

It's been a while since I made enchiladas and this is a very yummy reminder. Now i only wish I could reach our and grab one or too, lol. They look amazing, filled with all that goodness. Well done my Dear Puravidaville 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you @lenasveganliving- I’ll send a few your way ASAP. Would you believe that they are gluten free too? I just love when we can create recipes that are not only vegan but also gluten free… the best is when you can’t tell the difference. I always appreciate your support friend :)

Wow, those enchiladas look amazing! The sauce is so rich and I love all of the veggies you used for the enchilada filling! Well done my friend, hopefully your sou chef has forgiven you for your tough kitchen treatment. I'm sure the great dinner helped mend a few fences! Love this!

Thanks @birdsinparadise! The sauce is pretty rich- I’ve been known to make wet burritos out of the sauce too 😋. Haha… my sous chef forgave me right away but that’s probably because I had a plate of steaming fresh enchiladas in hand with his name on it. This documenting the steps of cooking for Steemit can get stressful you know?! Those cover photos aren’t going to shoot themselves… :). He’s always a good sport. I’m glad you like them and thank you for stopping by my friend.

Whoever created enchiladas in the first place, well done and thank you! This is a perfect recipe to share on Fruits and Veggies Monday, just look at that photo where all the veggies are on the frying pan. Is there anything that looks better than a pan full of colorful vegetables? Maybe these enchiladas! Seriously, you're like a real magician in the kitchen, everything you create ends up looking and sounding phenomenal!

Luckily you had corn tortillas at home to save the day! But why do they even sell tortillas that rip when you try to roll them? I mean, that's how you use tortillas... :D

Well done (as always) @puravidaville! :)

Hahaha 🤣🤣🤣 totally, that is HOW you use tortillas 🤷🏼‍♀️ It’s like reading the ingredients label of potato chips and it reads “contains milk”… why does an already perfect potato chip need milk or “milk products”… what does “milk products” even mean? Haha.

I’m so glad you like them @jasmink! Whoever did invent enchiladas really was a genius. The best part is without all of the cheese, milk and sour cream they are actually pretty healthy :) And ‘magician’ ‘shmagician’ I'm just tying to keep up with all of you.

Oh my gosh I love this--why do they sell them indeed??! Haha, finding the perfect healthy tortilla is like trying to find a unicorn! I do love regular corn tortillas, but I even have problems with those sometimes. Though it's probably because I try to stuff too many goodies in them...

Haha… the tortilla unicorn is quite an elusive fella indeed. I get the corn ones from Trader Joe’s and heat them up on a frying pan for about 30 seconds (no oil or anything, just dry) and they work out perfectly. Now if I can only find a burrito size corn tortilla 🤔

Haha, I've had the same problem, it's always a struggle to be decent with the fillings!

Wow, look at all of that veggies! Such a healthier version for enchiladas!!

If they would have fit I would have thrown every vegetable in my house in there. Haha… thank you for stopping by @icybc :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49