Brazilian Black Bean Mango Stew: fruits and veggies monday

As things have slowed down in my work my husband has convinced me to start posting more on Steemit. Because I’m constantly trying out new recipes naturally, #foodfightfriday was a great place to start. My last weeks entry caught the attention of Ms. @lenasveganliving which led me to #fruitsandveggiesmonday. Here is my entry for fruits and veggies Monday:

3C38759D-0493-492B-AA46-24B06AE63242.jpeg

Black Bean Mango Brazilian Stew

Even though it’s summer I love making this stew. With all of its interesting flavors coming together to make a symphony in your mouth don’t make the mistake of waiting until fall to recreate this dish.

CD9E8340-5ED0-42EB-A590-C0C18AC8798A.jpeg

I never make the same thing in the same way twice but will try and re enact how I put this together for the sake of this post.

Sweet potatoes, garlic, onion, peppers, mangos, black beans, crushed tomatoes and cilantro oh my!

4B16448E-EECA-4EB0-9580-90E852068306.jpeg

Chopping the sweet potatoes and setting them aside, I mince my onion, red pepper and garlic for the sautéing.

0ED8B3E5-4A1F-4A5F-A9B7-2A654B866EB4.jpeg

Sautéing the onions until they’re nice and translucent I add the red pepper and after a few minutes, the garlic.

3E9C8393-20E5-4B71-B973-48A8919DC09F.jpeg

Then comes the sweet potatoes, chopped tomatoes, Serrano pepper and a cup or so of water.

1393DB54-7546-4D63-9C2B-1B95A970B310.jpeg

Adding the black beans I bring the stew to a boil so I can turn it down to a simmer. Now I get to prepare my favorite part, carving the mango. I always add the mango a couple of minutes before serving because I don’t want the fruit cooking too much.

2E5D11C0-B52F-46FE-9C5C-128056277B3B.jpeg

After I pour in the mango cubes I let the pot simmer for another minute while I sauté the rainbow Swiss chard (this batch I didn’t have Swiss chard so topped our bowls with fresh chopped cabbage instead).

096FCCC8-2A1D-4227-8DCA-EC5400CEAFD0.jpeg

The flavors come together so nicely in this dish!

DB88E1A2-5899-4D85-A241-7A171FD81D33.jpeg

Loading up our bowls with all of these yummy nutrients I top them off with fresh cilantro and chopped cabbage for added crunch and heat a corn tortilla to be served on the side.

A4B3DD83-3EA0-4A43-9BD8-73896504728B.jpeg

Thank you for reading and thank you to
@lenasveganliving for introducing me to your contest. All of the entries look sensational and I’m humbled to participate amongst this kind of quality cooking. Looking forward to checking out all of the #fruitsandveggiesmonday creations.

Bon appetit!

Sort:  

I would definitely enjoy a bowl of this! Right up my alley--any time of year! I have no problem eating soup/stew/chili in the summer time, especially with some refreshing mango. I am pretty much a fan of anything with mango and black beans paired together. Glad to see another member joining the #fruitsandveggiesmonday family!

Thanks for the warm welcome! Coming from a pro like you, it means a lot. I probably make more soup in the summer season than I do any other time of year 🤷🏼‍♀️ . We love warm comforting soup/stew/chili in my house. I really appreciate you stopping by and am happy to participate amongst all of these wonderful looking dishes (I mean did you see @lenasveganliving strawberry delight recipe). Just fantastic! Looking forward to your other recipes @plantstoplanks.

Lena is quite the vegan gangsta herself! ;) And it's a fantastic group of people with tons of inspiration, so you will fit right in! Joining in regularly was what helped me meet so many great people on here and allow me to get comfortable finding my groove with blogging. :)

Everyone’s page I have visited is a plant based gangsta. Haha. Thank you for the support! I am happy to have found such inspirational people.

Did you really just chop mango into a stew!? I think I would've gobbled it all up before the pan was even sizzling. Just based on that cilantro I'll take a double helping of this yummy dish. Well done @puravidaville on an appetizing first #fruitsandveggiesmonday

Thank you so much @buckaroo! The mango paired with the sweet potato, mixed with the spice of the Serrano really does invigorate the taste buds. I really appreciate the support and am excited to be a part of this appetite inducing contest. Thanks again for stopping by my #fruitsandveggiesmonday recipe.

It really looks delicious. Funnily enough mango in any cooked dish always reminds me of my baby brother - as a baby. He was barely toddling and he would find his way to the bucket of what we in South Africa call the Indian hot sauce - atcha! Green mangoes cooked up with the hottest chillies is the basic recipe. And my baby brother would scoop handfuls down his throat.

Haha… what a sweet memory. You may have to share that recipe with me sometime, it sounds yum.

I love your style of cooking, trying new things and going with what you have! This Brazilian Stew must be really delicious, I'll have to try to create something like this! 😋

Oh please do, you won’t be disappointed. Thank you so much for the compliment. Cooking and creating food for my husband is such a joy to me. So much of our love goes into preparing these fruitful meals that they feed more than just our bodies. Your whipped berry porridge looks so refreshing btw. I don’t know if you could serve it cold but certainly wouldn’t mind enjoying a batch at my house. Thank you for stopping by @jasmink, I look forward to all of your wonderful recipes.

I just love your mindset and positivity! I also look forward to all your yummy recipes! 😋 And about the whipped porridge, you definitely can serve it cold, I store it in a container in the fridge and just take it straight from there! :)

That’s quite a nice compliment to wake up to, I’m equally as impressed with you. Thank you and enjoy your weekend!

Oh my goodness, this has me salivating and I cannot wait to try your recipe! Wow!

Oh good, I hope you enjoy it as much as my house does. Would love to hear about the results 😋

It looks so yummy and healthy! Just a bowl of goodness in there!

Thank you for the compliment! Looking forward to next weeks entry of yours.

I could eat such stew every day! You're not the only one who eats like this in summer :) We even have soup almost every day :D

Soup is so soothing, it would be a shame to only enjoy it in the winter months. Thanks for stopping by @delishtreats.

Wow this looks so so good and I have all the ingredients available locally here in Costa Rica ( and I can’t say that often 🤣) so shalll be trying this out very soon. Thanks for being a wonderful inspiration and I am happy to have found your blog your name drew me in of course as I live in Costa Rica.
Puravida 🌴🌈🦋💚

Your comment drew me in of course for you said “Costa Rica”. Thank you so much for stopping by my page!

My husband and I will be in Costa Rica in a couple months. We just fell in love with the country and culture that when we got home we decided we were going to move there. Finally, the time has come for our departure and after we explore a couple other places we’ll be back in Costa Rica indefinitely. One of my favorite Costa Rican dishes to make is Gallo Pinto, yum 😋.

Thanks again for stopping by and showing me support. It’s much appreciated! Pura Vida @sallybeth23 ✌️

That is awesome news you will be moving permanently here! A great choice. There is so much to love about this place. 🌈🦋🌴💚

Which the exact reason we fell in love with the place! We really can’t wait to find our home, start our garden, adopt our dog (from the dog pasture in Costa Rica) and live the Pura Vida to the fullest.

We haven’t even seen the Caribbean side of the island so that will be neat to explore too. :)

Costa Rica is not an island , it’s mainland Central America between Nicaragua and Panama.😉

I know that, I didn’t mean to say island. We are very excited to discover all of the countries landscape.

It will be a real adventure for you indeed , I wish you all the best on your arrival 🤗

Thank you so much. Any local tips you may have will always be greatly appreciated. 🤙

What a wonderful recipe my Dear! I love all the ingredients and your presentation is lovely. I am definitely going to make it and I am glad your husband convinced you to post more on Seemit, lol.
image

Thank you for the kind words. I’m just trying to keep up with all the other impressive looking entries. I imagine running this entire contest is quite a task so thank you also for doing what you do because I’m delighted to be here. Can’t wait to hear about your rendition of a Brazilian Stew. 😋

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The mango bits are just perfect for that dish well done, one of your best for me !!!

Thanks @edprivat! I just love how all of these flavors compliment each other.

like fig and "foie gras", oops sorry that's liver pate, you are a vegetarian.

Oh I’m familiar with foie gras, even when I didn’t eat plant based the thought of eating liver was always far beyond my palate. I’ll take some extra fig though. 😋

Hahaha, it's normally eaten with a sweet wine called "Sauternes", it's very rich as you can imagine :)

I’m familiar with the wine. It’s a dessert type wine, right? I’ve been a bartender for quite sometime so have been exposed to “strange foods and different wines”. Haha. I’m kidding, but both fios gras and Sauternes are a bit too rich for my blood.

Do you know what the wine festival is called in France where everyone wears these certain hats (beret’s I think) and drinks this very young wine (maybe from the barrel)?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64215.55
ETH 3183.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47