FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY : Simply Pumpkin!!!

Greetings world of lovely steemians!

I hope everyone is having a great start of the week! Today after such a long time I am getting the opportunity to send my contribution into one of my most favorite contest that is run on whole steemit by the wonderful @lenasveganliving : Fruitsandveggiesmonday!!!

If you are not yet aware of this contest, I really encourage you to please go check out/follow the blog of @lenasveganliving and wait for the contest post to be out (On Mondays normally), learn the rules and send your entry for a chance to win some nice prizes as well as sharing your post with the amazing foodies community there!

As I am actually among one of the sponsors of the contest, I can't officially participate for winning, instead I am sending this entry as a non-valid one just for the pleasure of sharing! Hope you like it!

SIMPLY PUMPKIN!!!
DSC_0012.JPG


Despite that it is really hard these days to find some good quality veggies on the market stalls in Mauritius, from time to time I manage to get my hands on some nice ones!

Well for this dish, you actually need only couple of ingredients...

  • Pumpkin cut in different sizes
  • Lime slices
  • Cucumber slices
  • Fresh mint leaves
  • Olive oil
  • Lime juice
  • Salt and pepper
  • Thyme
  • Wasabi coated peanuts

DSC_0004.JPG


I started by marinating the big piece of the pumpkin with olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme!

DSC_0006.JPG


And here it goes on the grill and cook till soft!

DSC_0007.JPG


Once well grilled, I placed this piece of pumpkin in a bowl and marinated it further more with some more olive oil , lime juice, lime slices, mint leaves and salt/pepper!
You can add some agave syrup if you wish a little sweet note in the dish!

DSC_0009.JPG


All the rest of the pumpkin - the dices and slices were kept raw and simply brushed with that same marination of above just before plating!
Just when you are about to plate the dish, cut the grilled pumpkin as you can see below and place on your plate!

DSC_0010.JPG


As mentioned above, brush the rest of the pumpkin - dices and slices with that lime-mint-olive oil marination and place delicately on the plate!
Roll the pumpkin slices once they become soft after marinating!
Coarsely crush the wasabi peanuts and put on the grill pumpkin for some spicy-ness and crispy-ness too!
I also added some pickled red onions which is homemade and used in my bistro!

DSC_0015.JPG


You can plate this dish differently if you wish - no need to do fine dining like I did! All the different components of this dish go so well together, especially with that smoky taste of the pumpkin...hmmmm!Yummy!

This plate did not last long actually....This is what was left after couple of minutes after plating it!!!

DSC_0016.JPG


So voila my friends, my Simply Pumpkin dish for the fruitsandveggiesmonday contest organized by @lenasveganliving!

I hope you all enjoyed this little dish and you'll get inspired to try it your way soon! Do let me know what you think about it!

Thanks everyone for your usual support!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

Very nice food and display. Thank you for the detailed instruction on plating.

Oh wow! This is so pleasant for the eyes! How amazing must it even taste?!! This is a wonderful entry and it is an honor to have you here among us contestants! I wish you good luck with it! It's a winning entry!

I appreciate the simplicity of this dish. Looks delicious. Thanks for sharing!!

What a lovely surprise Dear @progressivechef I am so happy so happy to see you. And what an amazing treat you have for us. I can totally imagine how delicious it mush be not to mention the presentation is absolutely exquisite. Thank you so much for joying us this week 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

very interesting recipe for cooking pumpkin! I never thought that it would be tasty with these ingredients. Thank you!!!!

very pretty and colourful!

Good entry, like this very good food

amazing! i find your presentation very inspiring and delicious !

Love the photos and how well you explain all the steps, thanks for sharing with us :)

Such beautiful presentation and love that it's veggie friendly. Definitely going to make this for my girlfriend!!! Following you to keep getting updated with awesome recipes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39