FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY/Vegetable soup and potato pancakes 🥕🥔🥕

Hello everyone!

Today, my mom and my husband have decided that they want a vegetable soup and their beloved potato pancakes and I was overruled one-sided. I actually wanted to cook plum dumplings because I tend to prefer sweeter foods, but of course I also like vegetable soup and potato pancakes.

Potato pancakes are a traditional dish of Austrian, German and Bohemian cuisine. They consist mainly of potatoes that have been peeled and grated to a fibrous porridge, which - depending on the recipe - with other ingredients (oatmeal, onions, curd cheese, buttermilk, baking powder, garlic, salt, ground pepper, nutmeg, marjoram etc. ) and portionwise in hot fat to small pancakes baked.

I would also like to thank @lenasveganliving for this great contest!

DSC05142.jpg

For the vegetable soup, I cut the carrots, potato, celeriac, parsley root, leek and parsley into small pieces and sautéed in a little oil for two minutes, then tossed with broth and cooked until the vegetables were soft. In the end I spiced with pepper and mayoran.

DSC05123.jpg

DSC05148_1.jpg

For the potato pancakes you need the following ingredients for about 10 pieces:

  • 2 kilograms of potatoes
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 5 toes of garlic, more or less to taste
  • 1-2 tablespoons of flour, which you want
  • rapeseed oil

Preparation:

Peel, wash and finely grate the potatoes, that can be a hand grater or an electric grater.

Collage ohne Titel.jpg

DSC05132.jpg

salt the grated potatoes and let them rest for 15 minutes. Then firmly squeeze the potatoes with your hands and place in a bowl. Add salt, pepper, squeezed garlic and the flour and stir.

Collage ohne Titel.jpg

Heat one tablespoon of oil in a nonstick pan (diameter approx. 24 cm), put a big spoon full of the potatoes in the hot oil and squeeze them flat with the back of the spoon so they are spread all over the pan.

DSC05138.jpg

DSC05139.jpg

Fry the potato pancakes golden brown and crispy on both sides.

DSC05140.jpg

The potato pancakes also taste good with freshly made chive sauce and a mixed salad.

DSC05145.jpg

I like to eat it right with the soup 🥔

DSC05146.jpg

Proanima collage2.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @proanima! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Just like my grandmother used to make! Oh my goodness, it looks soooooo delicious! Well done Sweetie 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Many thanks dear!

Oh my, potato pancakes!!! This could become one of my favorite things ever! In Bulgaria, we have a dish, called Patatnik. It's like a huge pancake and it's made from potatoes mainly. The original recipe is with cheese and eggs but it can be prepared only with potatoes and spices and it's very delicious. I guess the pancakes taste similar so I am sure I would love them!

Thank you, I'm glad if you like it!

You've got me wanting to pull up a chair and join you in this comforting meal yet again @proanima! I can't wait for soup season to really get going here once the cooler weather kicks in. My boyfriend actually made himself some potato pancakes last week, too. He's Polish, so they also have a similar tradition. :)

Thank you, yes you are right, your friend and we Austrians have a similar tradition :)

Yum 😋. We call potatoe pancakes hash browns and they are delicious. I’ve never thought to pair with a vegetable soup… this is a genius idea, thank you @proanima! I love that soup season is here… “bring on the soups”.

Many thanks dear!

I cannot say anything else than oh my goodness, this is perfection. I love soups, especially vegetable soups, and last week I was searching for a nice potato pancake recipe, but couldn't find any. Now I don't have to look anymore, you gave me a simple vegan recipe I'm going to try as soon as possible, thank you @proanima!

Thank you @jasmink, I'm glad, if you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37