Fruits & Veggies Monday/Ragout ๐Ÿ๐Ÿฅ•๐Ÿ…๐Ÿ‹

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear foodies!๐Ÿ“

Today I decided on a ragout that I liked as a kid. Most of the time you love childhood food because of the memories associated with it. Ragout, then with pork or beef was a classic Sunday lunch.

Since I associate this dish so much with my childhood, I had to do it in vegan and that is easier and more authentic than you think. You should only pay attention to the wine, because they are often not vegan. But there are vegan variants, which are also marked. Vegan wine can now be found in the supermarket.

Savory ragouts can be prepared on countless variations. There are no limits to your imagination. Use vegetables and mushrooms of the season. The basic recipe, however, always remains the same. Incidentally, ragouts are ideal for warming up or ready for freezing. This is how you cook once and prepare a prepared dish that you can refine before serving.

proanima3.JPG

Ingredients for 3-4 people

  • 300 g meat substitute
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 2-3 carrots
  • 1/4 of a celery root
  • 2 parsley root
  • 1-2 onions
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Salt
  • pepper
  • 250 ml of red wine
  • 500 ml vegetable stock
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • Peel of a half untreated orange
  • Pinch of thyme
  • Pinch of tarragon herb
  • 2 tsp marjoram
  • 150 ml of cream
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch

DSC05914.jpg

you need another

  • 3 pears
  • 1 cinnamon bark
  • 3 cloves

Preparation pears

Peel the pears, remove the core and halve the pears, then place in a saucepan, cover with water, add cinnamon bark and cloves and cook until soft. Cool the pears in the broth.

DSC05915.jpg

Preparation ragout

Clean carrots, parsley root and celeriac. Peel the onion and garlic and cut into small cubes.

1.jpg

Fry the meat substitute in a pan with 2 tablespoons of oil. Remove meat substitute from the pan and set aside. Fry the chopped vegetables in the pan for about 3 minutes.

DSC05925.jpg

Add the tomato puree and sautรฉ briefly and pour immediately with red wine.

2.jpg

Add the meat substitute and simmer for 10 minutes on a low flame.

DSC05931.jpg

Add thyme, tarragon herb, marjoram and vegetable stock, cover with lid and simmer for about 20 minutes.

3.jpg

Add cream and if you want to thicken with cornstarch.

4.jpg

Today I have chosen pasta as a side dish, but it also taste potato dumplings or napkin dumplings for this hearty, delicious dish. A small dab of cranberry jam makes the whole thing perfect!

proanima2.JPG

Proanima collage2.JPG

Sort: ย 

This looks absolutely heavenly my Dear and I remember the name Ragout from back home, but we were usually having goulash, which I think is similar. It's amazing how the meat substitute looks so much like the real thing and I bet it tastes delicious, except it's cruelty free. Great recipe Heidi, well done ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you dear Lena, yes you are right, goulash is made similar only with a lot of onion๐Ÿ“

Thank you for sharing! Healthy food. โค๏ธ

Thank you for the visit ๐Ÿ˜˜

How appetizing ! ^_^

Many thanks :)

For some reason I have an aversion to fruit in savoury dishes. But this Ragout of yours looks delicious @proanima. So many people don't realize that wine is often not vegan. Scary thought but I guess we take for granted that the only ingredients are grapes!

Many thanks @buckaroo, It used to be unfamiliar for me to eat fruit with spicy foods, but today I like to eat it, it's a great taste experience. Meanwhile, my husband and I also produce home-made wine from an old grape variety for our own consumption.

Really? That's amazing @proanima! We've only made wine once ever with passion fruit. It was delicious! Do you post about your wine making?

Maybe I'll write about it, wine made from passion fruit sounds very interesting and tasty.

Another delicious and comforting bowl of goodness! I love how you always cook from the heart my friend. This is no exception. I would never have thought to add a pear to something like this, but I am sure it rounds out the meal beautifully. Good tip about the wine, too. I like using Barnivore.com to make sure what I am buying is vegan.

Thank you, for many people that sounds unusual, for me at first, but now I love this taste combination of sweet and hearty and many thanks for your tip @plantstoplanks!

Congratulations @proanima! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.
You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you!

Wow! Pairing that pear (see what I did there) with such a rich dish is genius. I never would have thought to do that @proanima. That looks like a nice hearty plate to warm up anybodies tummy. Thanks for sharing my friend!

Many thanks dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54