FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY/Buckwheat gnocchi with cashew sauce ๐Ÿ ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ“ ๐Ÿฅ

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago

Have you ever made gnocchi yourself? No? Then it's about time! This is no comparison to the commercially pre-produced Gnocchis. Together with the cashew sauce, this dish is a real treat. In addition, this dish is also healthy and gluten free. ๐Ÿฅ”๐Ÿฅ’๐Ÿฅ•๐Ÿฅœ


DSC05314_2.jpg

Ingredients for 4 persons

Buckwheat gnocchi

  • 400 g potatoes (net)
  • 500 ml of water + 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 100 g buckwheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons potato starch
  • grated some nutmeg

DSC05288.jpg

Cashew sauce

  • 100 g of cashew nuts
  • 250 ml (potato) water
  • 50 ml rapeseed oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Herbs to your taste, I have chosen from the garden parsley, chives, lovage, thyme, lemon balm and oregano.

DSC05290.jpg

Optional

1 large carrot, 3-4 tablespoons parsley

Preparation of buckwheat gnocchi

Peel the potatoes first, leaving 400g. Then boil the potatoes for 15 to 20 minutes in 500 ml of salted water. Then drain off the water (catch the potato water and set aside) and let the boiled potatoes steam for 1 to 2 minutes in the saucepan.

1.jpg

Press the boiled potatoes through a press (alternatively crush with a sieve trowel until a lump-free mass is produced). Add buckwheat flour, potato starch and a pinch of nutmeg, mix everything and make a smooth dough.

2.jpg

From the dough 4 form about thumb-thick rolls, cut off about thumb-wide pieces and shape as desired. With the help of a fork, you can press the typical gnocchi groove pattern into the pieces of dough.

DSC05304.jpg

Yes, I admit they could be nicer.

DSC05305.jpg

Then bring enough water to a boil. Add the gnocchi to the boiling water, turn the temperature back and allow the gnocchi to stand for 10 to 12 minutes in hot salted water (do not boil the water). When the gnocchi swim up, they are done. Then remove the gnocchi from the water and drain on a paper towel and allow to cool slightly.

DSC05310.jpg

DSC05311.jpg

Finally, fry the gnocchi in a pan with a little oil from both sides until golden brown.

DSC05313.jpg

Preparation of cashew sauce

Roast the cashews golden brown

DSC05291.jpg

Put 250 ml (potato) water, 50 ml vegetable oil and the cashews in a tall container and puree with a blender (alternatively, pour everything into the food processor). Then bring to a boil in a saucepan. Season with salt and pepper. Add the chopped herbs.

DSC05300.jpg

If the sauce is too thick, you can add some potato water.

DSC05301.jpg

Optional

In addition, fine carrot julienne fits perfectly. For this, cut a large carrot into the finest possible strips, sautรฉ briefly in vegetable oil and sprinkle over the dish.

DSC05307.jpg

Try it, it's worth it

DSC05322.jpg

I wish you a wonderful week!

DSC05315_1.jpg

Proanima collage2.JPG

Sort: ย 

Oh my goodness, Heidi, I am saving this recipe for sure. I never made gnocchi before, but now I will!!! Soooooo delicious. Well done my Dear ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you dear!

Ooooo. My laptop is in trouble. I just drooled all over @plantstoplanks post and then I read yours! I have to admit @proanima your dishes never cease to tantalize my tastebuds. I was discussing homemade pasta with @puravidaville a couple days ago. I used to enjoy making ravioli with our freshly roasted and freshly picked veggies and herbs. But gnocchi? Never. I have to bookmark this and try it. As for the cashew cream. I love it but I've only ever made it raw. I'm sure the roasting gives it a really unique flavour

Thank you very much @buckaroo!

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

No, I've never made gnocchi myself, but you surely made me want to prepare some! It was so interesting to see how you make them yourself from the scratch, and there's no need for fancy equipment, anyone can try these. This will definitely go to my list of dishes to try! One question though, do you think the recipe would work with different flour or is buckwheat flour a must in this recipe? :)

Many thanks @jasmink, You can also use any other flour.

Totally agree with @buckaroo here, you definitely have me drooling over my screen, too! I have never made my own gnocchi and admit I really haven't eaten them on more than one or two occasions out. I might just have to give these a try because I adore potatoes in any form. Especially with that yummy cashew cream sauce!

Many thanks dear @plantstoplanks ๐Ÿ‘

Wow..never made my own, and this looks so good!

Thank you!

Oh my God, these look like a dish made in heaven. The perfect browsing of the gnocchi laying over a bed of cashew sauceโ€ฆ just divine! @proanima your kitchen never ceases to amaze me. This is quite an impressive dish, great job friend!

Many thanks dear, I am glad that you like it๐Ÿ“

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76