FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY/Apricot dumplings

The apricot harvest has begun!🍊

Apricot dumplings are a traditional dessert of Bohemian and Austrian cuisine.


In addition to plums and strawberries, it is mainly the apricot, which is refined in this way to a sweet. Of course, only sun-ripened apricots get into the dumplings.

These are rolled after cooking in a mixture of margarine and breadcrumbs. Instead of the kernel, a piece of sugar is placed in the middle to take away the acidity of the fruit.

Culinary Austria is a dumpling landscape. No kitchen in the world cooks so many different dumpling varieties as here. A trip to Austria is therefore always a journey from bread dumplings to apricot dumplings.

DSC04233.jpg

The apricot, my absolute favorite fruit and of course from my garden

DSC04210.jpg

DSC04207.jpg

Ingredients for about 10 dumplings

  • 1300 g of potatoes
  • 100 g potato starch, more or less, depending on the type of potato
  • 1 tsp salt

DSC04218.jpg

  • 10 apricots, or more
  • 10 pieces of sugar cubes, or more

DSC04212.jpg

  • 200 g breadcrumbs
  • 50 g of margarine or butter-flavored oil
  • 3 tbsp coconut sugar

DSC04215.jpg

Preparation of potato dough

Cook the potatoes with the skin in slightly salted water. Peel the potatoes while still hot, squeeze through a potato press and let cool. When the pressed potatoes are cold, they are mixed with potato starch and salt and kneaded into a smooth dough.

Collage ohne Titel (3).jpg

In the meantime, melt the margarine, add the breadcrumbs and the coconut blossom sugar and roast on a low heat until golden brown, stirring often. Put breadcrumb aside.*

DSC04217.jpg

Wash, halve and core the apricots. Replace the core with a piece of sugar cubes and put the two halves together again.

DSC04216.jpg

Form the potato dough into a roll and cut into pieces. Press the dough pieces a little flat, cover them with a apricot and cover them with the dough piece to form a dumpling.

Collage ohne Titel.jpg

Carefully place the dumplings in boiling, slightly salted water, switch the cooker to medium and let the dumplings soak for 10 minutes, do not cook!

DSC04225.jpg

Carefully lift the apricot dumplings with a skimmer and add them to the breadcrumb mixture. Carefully roll the dumplings until they are covered on all sides.

Collage ohne Titel (1).jpg

Oh, they taste so fruity, tender and juicy

DSC04237_1.jpg

Big thanks to @lenasveganliving

Proanima collage2.JPG

Sort:  

Woawww! I wouldn't have ever thought to use potatoes in this way! At first I was thinking it was going to be a gluten battle for me wanting to try these and I am so excited to see this unique way of making dumplings! Yum! Thank you for sharing, you made my day! =D

Many thanks dear, I am glad that you like it🧡

Oh my gosh Sweetie, you are killing me, lol......my grandmother used to make these!!! And when I say I wish to have some food that is presented for FAV, this time I wish more then ever!!! I can totaly taste them trough the screen!!!
1 Collage.jpg

haha, i do not want to kill you sweety, just seduce 😈

I know, lol................CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

Many thanks, I am particularly happy about this great price, so I'm so happy because I cooked this apricot dumpling in spite of severe back pain. Thank you again!

I am very happy about your award Sweetie, but very sorry about your pain. I hope you are feeling better now 🌸💖🌸

Thank you sweety, unfortunately no, have already five weeks problems with the intervertebral discs, in three weeks have an MR examination after I know more 💖

Oh my gosh, that doesn't sounds good, but keep me posted. I hope there is a treatment that will help you.

Thank you dear!

Just love this. Never thought of fruit dumplings before. Very creative and yummy creation my dear.

Thank you very much dear!

Hmm, hmm! Das sieht aber fein aus! Wunderbar!

Vielen Dank!

Hi proanima,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

These look amazing! I love apricots, I would love to try this recipe, really beautiful. Well done!

Thank you, I'm glad, if you like it, try it, these apricot dumplings taste heavenly

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-02T04:32:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 1102.25/200.00
Total Photos: 174
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love these when I wasn't vegan! Yours look delicious! Do you know if it is possible to get vegan dumplings in restaurants too?

In the Restaurante it will be difficult to get any, because usually they give an egg to the potato dough, but as you can see, it is also very good without.

Wow this is amazing. I just love dumplings. I really love your instructions. I am not the most successful dumpling maker. Thanks for your recipe!

Many thanks dear, I'm glad if you like it!

Apricot dumplings??!! Wow, you have definitely shown me something new today! I would love to give those a try. :)

I'm glad if you like it, try it, you'll like it, you can also fill this dumpling with strawberries or plums, but my favorite is the apricot 😊

I think apricot is the best choice. :) We have lots of peaches around here, but I need to hunt down some fresh apricots! I do enjoy them very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67540.43
ETH 3764.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71