Warm Kohlrabi & Cabbage Salad for Fruits and Veggies Monday!

Happy Monday everyone!  I see there are already lots of great posts for this fabulous challenge put on by @lenasveganliving.  Even when I do not get a chance to do a post, #fruitsandveggiesmonday never disappoints to get the week started on a high note.  Thank you as always Lena for hosting, and for the guest judges and sponsors for helping keep it going!

I was lucky enough to get this past Saturday off to make a stop at the local farmers market before heading over to check out the Atlanta Veg Fest for the first time.  It was pretty chilly out, so I was particularly grateful to all of the vendors for coming out and shivering their buns off as they sold their goods.  As usual, I came home with a fabulous haul of beautiful fruits and veggies for the week.

I decided to go outside of my usual selections to add some kohlrabi to by bags.  I am sure I have had it before, but I have never used it in my own cooking.  No time like the present!

Since I was also able to get fresh green cabbage, I decided to do a warm salad with the pair.  I think they would be fantastic raw, as well, but given the chilly temperatures this weekend my body was craving something warm.

The recipe is quite simple, but definitely hit the spot!

Warm Cabbage & Kohlrabi Salad

  • 2 shallots, peeled & chopped
  • 2 bulbs kohlrabi, peeled & thinly sliced (I used the food processor)
  • 1 medium head of green cabbage, cored & chopped
  • 1 cup shelled edamame (optional--add if you want a little extra protein)
  • 2 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ground celery seed
  • 1 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 4 tablespoons whole grain or spicy brown mustard
  • 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • salt to taste

Saute your shallots in a skillet over medium for a few minutes to start to soften.  Then add all of the rest of the ingredients through the mustard to the pan.  Stir together, then cover and reduce heat to medium low.  Cook the vegetables for about 10 minutes, or to your preferred texture.  I wanted a little bit of crunch, but still have the cabbage slightly wilted.  Remove from heat and stir in your apple cider vinegar.  Taste and add salt or additional seasonings to your liking!

I served over additional greens to really pack in the nutrients!

Sort:  

You always bring something super healthy and super delicious to the table my Dear. Thank you so much for this fabulous entry 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Aww, thank you so much for the kind comment! I love that challenges like yours encourage myself and others to try new things!

CONGRATULATIONS! A WELL-EARNED AWARD! PLEASE CHECK THE WINNERS ANNOUNCEMENT POST, I HAVE AN IMPORTANT MESSAGE FOR YOU:
4.png

Thank you so much sweet Lena!

it's great that you can buy food for a week. I do not get :( after a day or two again, I have to go to the store for something :)

I do sometimes have to go back mid-week to grab one or two extra things, but since I usually do most of my cooking for the week at once I've gotten used to one big shopping trip each week. :)

it is very convenient: it saves a lot of time

Oh that looks so good! I think our local market has kohlrabi, and I will check it out next time!

You definitely should! I think I may have to get some more next week to try a different way.

oh my you have just made me hungry here with your yummiful salad !!
congrats for your bonus prize !!
morelove&fruits.png

Thank you as always Barbara! Your little blue friends always make me smile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91