Special "No Waste" Edition of Fruits and Veggies Monday :)

Happy Monday guys!  I am quite happy to be getting back to my usual routine as we had quite the interruption to our daily life here in Atlanta starting on Friday.  We got snow!  Lots of it.  If you are not familiar with this part of the Southern United States, it is quite rare to get any snow, let alone this much in early December.  It was quite the winter wonderland.

I am very thankful that all of my friends and family made it home unscathed before the roads became treacherous.  However, we lost our power for right at 24 hours.  Luckily we have friends close by that we could borrow some power to heat up some lunch and charge our phones.  I also managed not to lose any of my food in the refrigerator or freezer.  It did totally throw me off my normal shopping and cooking game!

So today instead of showing you my lovely goodies from the market or store, I figured I'd give you a slightly less glamorous post for #fruitsandveggiesmonday initiated by @lenasveganliving.  I am very much a fan of not wasting food, so yesterday I threw together the last of the homely veggies I had to make into a bit of a breakfast hash.  No sense letting good food go bad, and it turned out just as delicious as anything I make really fresh. ;)

I had a sweet potato, the last bit of Napa cabbage, and always keep a few onions around in case of en emergency.

My spinach was on it's last leg, too, but you can't tell once it's cooked!

I chopped and shredded my veggies.  Then I cooked my onion with a minced chipotle chili in adobo sauce.  After that was warmed through I added my shredded sweet potato with a tablespoon of chili powder.

I also had some extra adzuki beans that I had cooked for one of my recipes last week to add some extra fiber and protein.  I tossed those in, then added my cabbage to the skillet.

After letting all of that cook through for about 10 minutes, I finished it off by mixing in my chopped spinach.  I was able to make it to the store yesterday, so I will top it off with some salsa for breakfast this week.  Not too shabby for a meal made from scraps!  Hopefully it will inspire you to see what you can make when you are down to the bare bones of the produce bin.

We are still without internet, so if I am not responsive to any interaction on here that's why!  I have access here at work, but I am heading home now to make  some more meals for the week.  I look forward to checking out everyone else's posts for #fruitsandveggiesmonday when I get access again. :)  Have a great day!

  


Sort:  

That is a delicious meal from scraps, I just wish I have some right now. Thank you for being such a good sport and having this wonderful entry ready for us despite a major obstacle.

In addition to that, I must say the weather really gone crazy, because there is no snow in Canada, but I see photos of snow from all over the world. Although, the forecast is saying we should get snow tonight. Will see!!!

It really is crazy! We were not expecting anything like that, not that Atlanta is every really ready to handle it. The worst part is that the poor trees can't handle it either. So many limbs and full trees down.

Glad I could take a little time on here at work. Heading back home to the kitchen now. :)

Glad you survived.

Your food photography is looking better. I like how you got the "winter wonderland" in the background.

Thank you for the comment on my slowly improving photography skills. I take it as high praise from someone who posts pictures as beautiful as yours! :)

1394779205779.jpg
Awww shucks

Delicious heart friendly food! Congratulations my dear friend @plantstoplanks!

Thank you! Nourishing for the body and mind. :)

Oh oh!!!! I hope that you will soon be all right. it is very wise to have a small supply of home products for such cases.

We definitely made do. Still no internet at home, but in the grand scheme of things it's really not that big of a deal. I'm taking advantage of my breaks at work to get my social media check-ins.

Hurray for not wasting. Sorry to hear you lost your power. Did the snow start to melt yet?
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Thanks! It is slowly but surely melting. Crazy that there is still a good bit left in the shady areas. I know that's normal for a lot of places, but not here! I'm curious now to see how the rest of the winter is going to go.

I love how you used all these things and managed to combine them so well! 😊👍🏻

Thank you! I think some of my best meals are made from random scraps. :)

This looks delicious! It's amazing what you can do with leftover scraps of food!

It's a great way to force you to get creative, that's for sure!

that sounds like a delicious meal to me!! Are you back online?

Yes! Finally got it back last night. I really can't complain because it could have been a whole lot worse. It does make you realize how dependent you are on accessing the web!

For sure. We are very dependent on all the modern conveniences - like electricity, running water and all of that....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45