Fruits and Veggies Monday: Mushroom & Tempeh Tacos


Happy Monday!  While I very much enjoyed unplugging for a week, I did miss all of the joy that comes with joining in on @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest!  Besides just having fun posting myself, everyone else always shares great entries that I am excited to check out.  Make sure to pop in on Lena's contest post to see all of the entries and throw some support for the delicious and healthy entries.


I went shopping Saturday afternoon to load back up on my produce after being gone for a week.  I mean load literally--I think my eyes may have been bigger than our bellies!  No worries, though, as we will not let any of our bounty go to waste.  It was nice to have a break from cooking and doing dishes, but there really is nothing like eating food you made with your own two hands.  The resort we stayed at for our vacation was lovely and had some good options luckily.  However, it was really hard to stay eating quite as clean and wholesome as I normally eat, and there were times I was not sure if some of the dishes were totally vegan.


I think I did eat my body weight in pineapple over the course of the week.  It was so fresh and delicious!  Thank goodness for fruit. :)

After looking through my grocery haul, I decided to put together some tacos for dinner on Saturday.  It was a great transition meal to go from vacation back into the usual daily routine.  I filled them with lots of fresh veggies, but it still felt like a treat.  My protein options last week were a bit limited, so I reveled in having access to my delicious tempeh again!

Tempeh & Portobello Tacos


For the Filling:

  • 1 small red onion (or half of a large), peeled & sliced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon adobo seasoning
  • 1-2 chipotle chilis in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 4 portobollo mushroom caps, cleaned & sliced
  • 1 (8-oz) package tempeh, sliced
  • 1-2 tablespoons low-sodium tamari or liquid aminos

Prepare all of your veggies and measure out your spices.  Heat a grill pan or skillet over medium heat, then add your onions and jalapenos to the pan.  Cook until the onions are just starting to caramelize, about 10 minutes.  Stir occasionally to prevent sticking.


Sprinkle in your spice mixture, stir and cook for an additional 60 seconds before adding in your mushrooms and chipotle chilis.  Continue cooking for 8-10 minutes for your mushrooms to almost cook through.  Finally add in the tempeh and tamari and cook for 5 minutes, or until the tempeh is heated and all of the vegetables are cooked to your liking.

Remove from heat.  Adjust spices to taste.


For the slaw:


  • 1/2 red cabbage, shredded
  • 4 organic Roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeded & minced
  • 1/2 lime, zest & juice
  • 1 tablespoon pineapple white balsamic vinegar (optional)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh coriander (cilantro)
  • sprinkle of sea salt (optional)

Toss all of the ingredients together, then set aside at room temperature for the flavors to combine.


Easy Guacamole:


  • 1-2 small ripe avocados
  • 1/2 lime, zest & juice
  • pinch of ground coriander and sea salt

Mash up the avocado with the seasoning and lime.  I like to leave mine a little chunky for texture. :)

Load up your favorite organic corn tortillas or make some lettuce wraps and enjoy!  Of course mine always tend to fall apart, so you can also eat with a fork and knife. ;)


Hope everyone has a fruits and veggies packed week!  Don't forget to also check out @woman-onthe-wing's great interview with our host @lenasveganliving here.

Sort:  

Looks delicious 😋
Def gonna try this recipe!

I hope you give it a try! Nothing fancy, but definitely tasty. :)

Oh such a healthy savoury treat;) Absolutely love your tacos Katie!!

Thanks! I really need to make tacos more often. They are quite yummy. :)

So many yummy food! I guess it would be easier for me to move to your place 😁 looks like you are making wonders in the kitchen!

We've got a spare bedroom. ;) I'll trade out cooking for help with the dishes! Haha!

What a generous offer! Thank you! I can do the dishes 😂😂

What a generous offer! Thank you! I can do the dishes 😂😂

What a generous offer! Thank you! I can do the dishes 😂😂

These look really nice, great for the kids to get creative with healthy toppings.
Do you made you own homemade tortillas or do you buy them?

I remember loving tacos as a kid, too. I have not quite gotten to trying out making my own tortillas. I would love to give it a try, but I usually buy organic corn tortillas. Most of the time I'll eat a few tacos then as we finish up leftovers I just mace a bowl of the fillings and leave off the tortillas. :)

Fantastic recipe! It looks so good and healthy in my tummy!

Thanks Icy! It was a very yummy combo! :)

They get better and better, I'm always telling you! excellent post! I'll find time to make your recipes! hahahaha, you are my idol!

You are too kind! I think a little break definitely did me some good--I feel energized and ready to share! Have a fantastic week my friend!

It's also a pleasure for you, it's a pleasure for me to review your recipes, I love them!

Soo colorful and pretty!

Always fun to eat the rainbow, right? :)

Very true! 🌈

Yum! I'm going to have to try these this week. Just got some mushrooms today :)

Awesome! Let me know if you give it a try! I hope you enjoy. :)

Amazing taco's! I'm sure you were so happy to be back at home in your own bed too! That slaw made my mouth water, love the recipe. I'll have that with my next guac feast!

Oh yes! I think that's part of the point of vacation, right--makes you realize how good home is, too?! ;) I think I make a variation of that slaw at least every couple of weeks!

Wow, that looks delicious!

Thank you! We definitely enjoyed them. :) Tacos are never turned away in this house!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43