Fruits and Veggies Monday: More Veggie-Packed Meal Prep!

Happy Monday!  I am always excited for @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday competition with all of the truly fantastic entries.  I have my half marathon coming up on Saturday, so I took extra special care to make sure all of my meal prep for the week is packed with energizing fruits and veggies.  Here's a peek at what is on my menu for the week:



Yesterday I posted my entry for the #healthyveganicecream challenge.  I want to make sure to stay away from any processed sugar this week and load up on anti-inflammatory foods.  That doesn't mean I can't have a yummy fruity treat.  The pineapple and ginger in this are both really great foods for any athlete.  @dksart and I gobbled up the whole batch yesterday, but I have enough to make more for later in the week.  Thank you to @smallstepschange for finally giving me a little push to try out such a delicious concoction!



For breakfast I'm also loading up on veggies with a sweet potato and pinto bean hash.  I tend to really enjoy sweet breakfasts, but the past few years I have tried to incorporate savory much more often as a way to get even more vegetables into my daily intake.  This had shredded sweet taters, bell peppers, onion, tomatoes, arugula and protein-packed beans.  I got a new mix of spices from Penzeys, so I decided to try out the Cajun blend on this one.  I'll top it with some chopped avocado for a satisfying way to start out the day!



I also went back to a classic with some easy tempeh stir fry with a peanut sauce.  Lots of green stuff in this one with broccoli, celery and bok choy, as well as the satisfying nutty taste and texture of the tempeh.  This is always another great way to pack in the produce to make sure you are getting tons of nutrients.  I used black rice to fill it out and make it stretch for multiple meals.



The key to making meal prep go smoothly is having all of your ingredients ready to go when you start cooking.  Especially for something like a stir fry, where you want to add the vegetables in at different times to keep from overcooking any of them.  I like to get everything chopped and my sauce mixed up front so I don't rush and chop of a finger trying to get my veggies in the pan. ;)



If you haven't noticed, I'm a fan of anything in a bowl.  There's just always something satisfying about mixing everything together for the perfect bite.



I also have a Buddha bowl I'll put together today, but that's it for now.  I have an extra sweet potato set aside for my pre-race meal on Friday night.  I felt really great for my last race, so I expect all of this good stuff will help me feel just as good this week!

Have a fantastic week everyone!

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Thank you so much!! :)

Now you made me hungry! 😍💗 I love it!

That was my plan. Haha! ;)

That's cruelty! 😂

Hello, friend:

Today like every Monday reading the post of the entrances, very good the plates to be honest, but the colorful and varied of yours leaves me as always open mouth, how much mixture of flavors, happy week =)

Greetings, Gersson

Always such a joy to read your kind words! Thank you so much. I wish you a wonderful week, as well!

Thank you very much, I hope so!

Good luck for the marathon! It looks like you are perfectly prepared! Beautiful entry - again!

Thank you! All the training is in the books, so now it's just fueling well, resting, and getting in a good mental state for race day. :)

Hello friend @plantstoplanks that undo of vegetables with sweet potato that in fact I love the sweet potato looks very rich and healthy, I love it and the best of luck I am also participating in this wonderful contest

Thank you so much! I do love sweet potatoes, as well. They are a big part of my diet. I'll definitely pop by to check out your entry. :)

Thank you friend @plantstoplanks you are welcome to my blog

Thank you for sharing. I like to try new vegan dishes and it is so nice to get fine ideas from you - really thankful!

Yay! I'm happy you can find a little inspiration from my meals. Nothing fancy this week, but still delicious and nutritious. :)

You seem super organized with your diet, that's the best way to keep on track.

I sure do try. I definitely do much better when I bulk cook and have everything ready for the week. That way I know I am getting a good variety of nutrients each day. :)

Delicious! :)

Thanks babe. :)

Looks heavenly darling :) I really should try to make some more savoury food for breakfast. We have a huge batch of sweet potatoes in the fridge that needs to be used and no oven so I guess I need to get creative :D

I still love my sweet breakfast, but savory can be quite delicious, as well. These sweet potatoes I just shredded and tossed in the pan to cook. No oven needed if you have at least a stove top or hot plate! :)

Maybe I experiement a little during the week :) We still have our stove top but the oven is completely dead.

I love these meal prep posts! So real and useful :) Love what you prepared this week, such nourishing meals! Good luck on your half marathon!

Thank you so much! It's always fun to share what I've got on the menu. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67677.71
ETH 3825.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65