Fruits & Veggies Monday {Butter Bean Burger & Kohlrabi Slaw}

Happy Monday everyone! I am excited to be once again sharing a yummy farmers market feast after not being able to go myself for the last few Saturdays. Oh man did they have tons of beautiful fresh produce! I think I was most excited to see radishes, beets and kohlrabi in abundance. Though I think I also bought half of the varieties of leafy greens available, as well. Kale chips will definitely be on the menu later on today. ;)

It's always fun to see what everyone else has to bring to the table for @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest. I wasn't sure what I would share, but then I made these veggie burgers yesterday evening that came out so well I knew many of my pals would enjoy them! I used to have a tough time making them because I think I just didn't have the ratios right. Not anymore!

I was surprised to see one of the vendors I enjoy visiting still had some butter (lima) beans and lady peas left. He said next week is probably the last week, so I made sure to grab a few bags to enjoy until next season. I'm also on my kohlrabi kick right now, so I though using the butter beans with some shredded kohlrabi would make a great base for my patties. The daikon radish I got also had tons of greens attached to round out the veggie portion of my burgers. No sense letting any part of such a beautiful vegetable go to waste!

To get the rest of the ingredients figured out I resorted back to a version I really enjoyed earlier in the year my pinkeye pea burgers. I used tahini for a bit of fat and binding power in that one, but opted for peanut butter this time to give it more of an Asian flair. I adore ginger and garlic, as well, so the whole burger ended up having a bit of a peanut sauce-type flavor. I don't think I'd change a thing because they came out that delicious!

The daikon radish itself I used with the rest of the shredded kohlrabi and an apple to make a light, crunchy slaw to go with my dish. Our lemon balm has also exploded in the garden again making the perfect herb accompaniment to round out the side dish. I love how simple ingredients can come together to make such a delicious bite. A dash of cayenne perfectly set off the salad with just a touch of heat.

Butter Bean Burgers

  • 2 heaping cups daikon radish leaves or other leafy greens
  • 4-5 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh ginger
  • 2 tablespoons natural peanut butter
  • 2 tabelspoons tamari or liquid aminos
  • 1 tablespoon light miso
  • 2 cups cooked butter beans (fresh lima beans or cooked from dried)
  • 1/2 cup shredded kohlrabi
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • fresh bread, leafy greens, hummus or any other toppers of your choosing to round out your meal

Heat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Place the greens through the miso in a food processor and blend until roughly combined, scrape the sides once if needed to make sure no big chunks are left. Add in the beans and pulse together further until the beans are broken down before finally adding the kohlrabi. Pulse a few more times until you have a mixture that looks similar to a chunky hummus.

Scrape out the veggie patty mixture and add to a bowl with the bread crumbs. Mix together then set aside for a few minutes to let the crumbs soak up some of the moisture and make the patties easier to form.

Scoop out roughly 1/2 cup portions to make your patties then place in the oven. Cook for 20 minutes, then carefully flip and cook for an additional 15 minutes on the opposite side.

Remove from the oven and build your favorite burger on fresh sourdough bread like we did or however you like to eat yours!

Kohlrabi Slaw

  • 2 cups shredded kohlrabi (about 2 bulbs)
  • 1 cup shredded daikon radish
  • 1 apple, peeled & shredded
  • 1/4 cup chopped lemon balm (mint would also taste great)
  • 1 lime, juice
  • 2 tablespoons lemongrass mint balsamic vinegar
  • pinch of sea salt
  • pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

Mix all of your ingredients together and let sit for a few hours before serving to really let those flavors meld together! Any other slightly sweet white balsamic would also work well, or you can add a bit more lime juice if you like your slaw more tart.

I hope everyone has a healthy and delicious start to the week!



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

Good luck in this weeks competition Katie!
I love vegieburgers, it's been a while since I made them myself, the Kohlrabi Slaw sidedish also look delicious.

Thanks @byebyehamburgers! We may not eat traditional hamburgers anymore, but that doesn't mean we can't make some killer veggie options, right? It's about time you jumped back on for one of these Mondays. ;)

I want to join in again one of these weeks but I pretty much ran out of ideas after posting nearly all of the recipes I switch between . Right now I'm pretty much eating green vegetable lasagna every weekend. If I ever make my own vegan burgers I'll make sure to make a post on it.

Fair enough. :) I forget that not everyone goes nuts making different stuff each week like I do, haha!

Wow @plantstoplanks, your vegan food always sounds and looks so fragrant & delicious!
You should consider entering #steemitsandwichcontest (if you find the time that is) but also another new one run by @steemkitchen with a real nice bounty on offer plus both have nice little communities :)

Aww, thanks as always for your nice comments! I've been watching from the outside the sandwich contest for a while, so maybe one of these days I'll jump in. I'll have to look at the Steem kitchen one, too. So many great groups on here!

One has to be selective otherwise it can get quite hectic :)

whoaaa... another simplicious recipe from @planstoplanks, Luv it.. I think even the non-vegan foodies would love this burger.. yummy! what is balsamic vinegar anyway?

I think you're right--I know a few of my non-vegan friends would still love one (or two) of these to try. ;)

I think the difference between regular vinegar and balsamic is that the balsamic is traditionally aged longer. I believe it originates from Italy. I have a local store that has all different types of flavors in both dark and light balsamic vinegars, so I enjoy using different flavors in my salads and other dishes. I know not everyone has access to such variety, so there are always ways to adjust and still make it bright and delicious!

Yes..I thought that I can find the balsamic vinegar somewhere at the ranch market or other spesific store that sold imported food. And I think we have our own sugar palm vinegar that used for making the special boiled meat from Aceh, my hometown, I made my own vinegar from bilimbi fruits though.. but so far I just use it to control my headache.. not for cooking😊

Thank you @plantstoplanks for your explanation.

You share such amazing recipes

Thanks @tattodjay! I'm constantly inspired by other people, so I'm happy if I can return the favor every now and again when it comes to cooking yummy veggies. :)

Ohh you are for sure inspiring, I may not have made your exact recipes but they have given me ideas for new things to try with our cooking ;)

That's one of the cool things about cooking--you can adjust most things to your needs once you have the basic template. I probably do rotate out a lot of similar meals, I just tend to jazz them up with different veggies or beans based on what is in season. :)

YEah I am slowly gettign better tat that LOL

Yum! Burgers at their best! It's so easy to stuff your patties with delicious and fresh veggies. Another lovely recipe, Katie! And I love that you used Kohlrabi in your slaw. I woukd never think of that! You give me new ideas every week 🤗

Thanks Martina! I will definitely be making these again soon. The kohlrabi is so wonderful right now, so I keep trying to find different ways to use it each week. I had been waiting for a while for it to finally pop up at the market, so I can't pass it up! Still figuring out how to use it this week... 😊

I usually only use it in a soup from root vegetables so this is a very refreshing idea for me. I didn't even think to use it differently! :) Looking forward to seeing how you use it this week!

Perfect! I was just looking for a new veggie burger recipe and this fits the bill. Now I need to find that mystical kohlrabi you speak of 🤔. I love the side of slaw too! I always forget about a good slaw. Unless I’m making tacos then sometimes the slaw is essential. You killed it this week @plantstoplanks- great job!

Haha, well if you can't find kohlrabi, using shredded radish or zucchini would work in the burger, too. It just adds a little bit of moisture so the patties don't dry out. Slaw is definitely necessary for tacos, but I do really like it in general. For some reason I just liked shredded vegetables from a texture perspective. It is a great way to add something fresh and crunchy to any meal!

I agree about the slaw. It’s the crunch that I seek 😋 You know I think one of the first meals I ever cooked after going all plant based was a burger patty. I used zucchini and black beans and the patty’s were good but the texture wasn’t what I was looking for. You patty’s are on my list though.

These burgers with Kohlrabi slaw are calling my name. How delicious this meal must be, I can only imagine. You are truly know how to make me drool, lol. Well done Katie 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

So glad you enjoy what I've brought to the Monday table! I had a feeling these veggie patties would be right in your wheelhouse. They really did taste quite yummy. Can't wait for another round of leftovers later on today! :)

Hello, it is the first time i encounter a vegan burger recipe!!!This is looking so lovely and delicious.

Oh really? I'm happy to open the door for you then because there are so many different options when it comes to vegan burgers! Black bean burgers, tempeh burgers, chickpea burgers--so many ways to make a good patty. :)

yes im not vegan but im pregnant and i don't really fancy meat at the moment. I just found a recipe with caramelized onion and lentils i may give it a try:)

I love me a veggie burger and this recipe does not disappoint @plantstoplanks - what a flavour bomb these must be! I don't have access to some of the ingredients which is a shame but if I ever come across them I'll be sure to buy them and try this out for myself!

Veggie burgers really are such a great staple. I know many of my omnivore friends who still enjoy one in lieu of their usual non-veg choice on occasion. :) The ginger was probably my favorite part of how this came out. It added that little kick and livened up all the green veggies. This definitely highlights a lot of the local produce we have here (especially the butter beans), but I hope you can find a few things to sub to give them a try sometime!

This recipe is bookmarked for the future :) I love kohlrabi!!! Wonderful, well done!

I really don't think I ever realized how versatile kohlrabi is! I'm so glad I have found lots of ways to incorporate it because it is a tasty vegetable. I am happy it worked out in the veggie burgers. I figured it would function like zucchini to help maintain the moisture and it definitely did the trick. You'll have to let me know if you give it a try some time. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50