A Day at the Orchard

Happy Monday everyone!  I haven't been on the computer as much for the last few days, so @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge is a great way to get back in to the Steemit community to start out the week!

One of the great experiences that got me outside and away from my computer was visiting one of the biggest orchards in North Georgia yesterday--Mercier Orchards.  Somehow @dksart and I had made it through most of our lives without ever going apple picking.  I grew up picking strawberries every year with my grandfather as a small child, but never made it out for apple season.  I hope to start making memories with my niece as she starts to get old enough to do things like this.

It was an absolutely beautiful day.  Luckily we went early before it got too hot and crowded.  They only do u-pick on the weekends, so it can get a little crazy when the afternoon gets rolling!  They had about 7 varieties of apples to pick this weekend including cameo, braeburn, empire, mutzu and granny smith, plus about the same amount of different types already picked in the main store.

I think we made it out of there with about 30 pounds of apples!  I'll definitely have lots of apples on the menu in the weeks to come. :)  It is great to be able to get some of our food straight from the source.  We try to keep up a garden and go to the farmers market as much as possible, but it was nice to make it an actual outing for us to enjoy the day together on a little excursion away from our usual routines.

Have a great week everyone!

Sort:  

Thank you so much!! I am so glad you enjoyed our little foray into the orchard!

Amazing, absolutely love it Dear @plantstoplanks .......what a lovely day you had a so many delicious apples. Thank you so much for shraing this wonderful experience with us 🍏🍎💚🍎🍏

Thank you! Now off to the kitchen to make some applesauce... :)

My pleasure and have fun with the applesauce 🍎💚🍏

Love apples!! do you know if it was an organic orchard?

Hi there! They are not a certified organic orchard, but they said they do use as natural products on their fruit as possible (they encourage people to try out the apples straight off the tree). We saw tons of bees everywhere, so I'm hoping that was a good sign!

Bees are a good sign!! Personally, I don't care about the certification. I care more about what people do on their land. Sounds like you asked them and got a good answer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41