FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY|PALEO PEACH COBBLER AND PEACH ICE CREAM

Fruits and Veggies Monday is a great community started by @lenasveganliving. This week's host is @plantstoplanks , yeah. Today I decided to feature peaches. I live in the great Peach State of Georgia, plus I love peaches.

This is one of my old cobblers loaded with sugar, butter, and crust made with flour. It was to die for.
OG Cobbler.jpg

Peach cobbler is one of my favorite deserts. It falls in there right below Pound Cake and German Chocolate Cake. But when I start eating on the Paleo plan, I had to cut out refined sugar, grains, such as wheat oats and barley. Sugar was needed to sweetened the peaches and grains for flour, were needed to make the crust for the cobbler. I had to solve the sugar and flour problem in order to make a paleo peach cobbler.

I put my paleo twist on it and decided to use coconut sugar as my sweetener. The only thing with coconut sugar is that it turns everything dark. When I make candied yams with coconut sugar, the yam turn dark. The taste is not affected by the darkness. Then I decided to use Birch & Benders Paleo Pancake Mix for my batter for the topping. I went from there and created a tasty peach cobbler without refined sugar or grains.

These are the ingredients that I used for the peach cobbler.

Cobbler.jpg

I cooked the peaches in coconut sugar. I did not add any water to the pot because once the peaches thaw out they will create a little water. Also the coconut sugar will created water. I cooked the peaches until almost done then added cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and lemon extract, and ghee. Cooked for another 5 to 8 minutes.Cobbler2.jpg
Cobbler3.jpg

I transferred the peaches to a small Pyrex dish and prepared the batter from the paleo pancake mix for the topping.
Cobbler4.jpg
Cobbler5.jpg

I spread the topping over the peaches and baked it in a 325 degree oven for 45 minutes until the crust was lightly browned.
Cobbler6.jpg

While the cobbler was baking I decided to make some peach ice cream to accompany the cobbler. I added 1 can of coconut milk to my Nutri Bullet, added 2 tsps. of vanilla extract, 1/2 cup of maple syrup, dash of salt, and 1 cup of frozen peaches. After blending, I added some chopped peaches to the mixture so that it would have small chunks of peaches in the ice cream.
Ice Cream 2.jpg
20190218_194047.jpg

Then I poured the mixture into my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker for about 20 minutes and I had peach ice cream.
20190218_195708.jpg
20190218_200043.jpg

Now it was time for desert.
Finale.jpg

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

Sort:  

I love this kind of cake

Thank you @michelnilles, my husband just gave me the thumbs up for it.

Congratulations @paleotwist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Looks so good. I will have to try your ice cream recipe.

Thank you @pyemoney, it is a simple and good recipe.

@paleotwist, this looks so good.

Thank you @brada2550, it was good.

Killed it! Peach cobbler accompanied by peach ice cream… all homemade and gluten free/refined sugar free? Love this creation of yours @paleotwist 😉

Thanks you @puravidaville, I ate some of the ice cream last night. I love the chunks of peaches in the ice cream. I will probably eat some of the cobbler tonight.

Oh my God, I don’t think I could resist the warmed up cobbler with a side of cold ice cream. The hot/cold contrast desserts is where it’s at. 😋

Isn't it awesome to make traditional recipes so much healthier with a few little tricks? Just shows you don't miss out on anything when eating a healthy diet. That peach ice cream sounds perfect! I can't wait until peach season hits the peach state!

Thank you @plantstoplanks, that is what I tell people, you can have tasty food that is also healthy. I will be headed to Lane Southern Orchards this season. Last season I went to Southern Belle Farm , it was so much fun picking your own peaches.

Oh my goodness, this must taste like heaven my Dear wow!!! Absolute love it 🍑😍🍑
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you @lenasveganliving, I try to get that little bit of sweetness in a healthy way.

Always a pleasure my Dear. Great Job 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65