Fruits and Veggies Monday - Broc-Cauli-Kale FritterssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

20190923_140841.jpg
It's Monday Monday again and I still find myself humming that old Mamas & Papas tune that my friend @birdsinparadise and I got stuck on last week;)

But this Monday I've gone far back into the memory banks and have also started humming songs from my children's Nursery school days:)

Question time: What do the following vegetables all have in common?
Cauliflower, cabbage, kale, garden cress, bok choy, broccoli and Brussel Sprouts?

20190822_151510.jpg

They're all Cruciferous and known for their anti cancer properties, just like the cutest educational Vegetable song tells the children on the really cool Kids Learning Tube.

I am Broccoli
My name starts with a B
I'm Cruciferous veggie
And an anti-Cancer Green...

These vegetables are a rich source of Glucosinolates, and studies have proven that a high intake lowers the risk of lung and colorectal cancer.
Reference

20190923_122622.jpg

Today I will be making power packed and cruciferous Broc-Cauli-Kale Fritters served with a sweet Basil Tomato & Onion Sauce for all our Fruits and Veggies friends, hope you enjoy it :)
20190923_141032.jpg

RECIPE

  • 2 cups Cauliflower florets
  • 2 cups Broccoli florets
  • 1 cup diced Kale leaves
  • 4 baby Leeks
  • 1 medium Onion
  • 1 cup cold crumbly Maize meal porridge aka Phutu
  • 1 Flax egg - 1Tbs Flax seeds + 3 Tbs Water
  • 1/2 cup self raising Stone ground wheat flour
  • Seasoning of choice

Place all raw veggies into food processor and pulse till fine.
20190923_123807.jpg

Add crumbly maize meal porridge, flour, flax egg and seasoning, mix and leave to rest for about half an hour.
Note: Phutu is a traditional South African crumbly maize meal porridge served at braais (BBQ) with a tomato & onion sauce; it's quite similar to polenta.
20190923_122630.jpg

Form into patties, shallow fry in oil on both sides and drain on paper.
20190923_132316.jpg

20190923_133623.jpg

20190923_135252.jpg

20190923_140733.jpg

Sweet Basil Tomato & Onion Sauce

  • 1 Onion - diced
  • 2 Tomatoes - diced
  • Fresh Sweet Basil - chopped
  • Seasoning of choice

Sautee Onions in a little oil till it just starts to caramelize.
Add remaining ingredients and simmer slowly with lid on till tender and mushy.

20190923_131723.jpg

Before we sit down to eat, one last look at the making!
20190923_122622-ANIMATION.gif

20190923_141731.jpg

BON APPETIT!

FAVM divider.png
A sincere thank you to the creator of #fruitsandveggiesmonday, @lenasveganliving and to our weekly host the lovely @plantstoplanks! Both these ladies are such an inspiration with their kind feedback and the amazing food coming from their kitchens!
A massive shout-out to that wonderfully talented artist @barbara-orenya for our fabulous awards as well!
Thank you one and all for giving us this opportunity!
Check out this week's POST, follow the rules 100% and show us your fruits and veggies this Monday.
FAVM divider.png

FoodFightFridayLiz.gif
Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

That looks delicious I must say!

Absolutely yummylicious my Dear Lizelle! Such a marvelous recipe! I really hope you get big upvote from one of the big curators this week!!! 🥦🌿🥦
1 Collage.jpg

Ah thank you for the lovely comments Lena, you're too kind! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, I was going to make an Orange dessert but changed my mind at the last minute, so that idea is shelved for a later date:)
Enjoy your Monday!

Always a pleasure my Dear Lizelle! I love everything you make and I can't wait to see the Orange dessert 🍊😍🍊

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR AWARDS!
Most Mouthwatering Entry.png

Gosh all these awards, thank you Lena:)

Well deserved my Dear Lizelle! I wish I could give you 1st PRIZE every week 😍

You are very kind Lena! !tip .20

Oh wow! Thank you so much my Dear Lizelle 💖😊💖

🎁 Hi @lenasveganliving! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @lizelle!

@lizelle wrote lately about: Food Fight Friday - Scents And Sentimentality Feel free to follow @lizelle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Looks delicious! Cruciferous veggies really are king! So useful for health, but delicious in so many recipes. I need to practice with fritters more since I seem to always have a hard time getting the consistency right to get them to stick together. These look like a fantastic mix to practice on, though. :)

I was quite concerned that they'd fall apart on turning in the pan. The first batch was a tiny bit crumbly but fortunately someone needed me so I let the mix stand about half an hour and that did the trick;) Thank you for your nice comments!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooh, you know, that might be part of my problem--I get too impatient, haha! Makes sense that if it sits a bit it will stick together better. :)

I'm exactly the same, way too impatient and always leave things to the last minute;)

ohhhhhh my dear! This looks amazing, being a huge broccoli fan I would love these fritters! Perfect sauce, tomatoes and onions, love it :) No crazy Monday songs this week, sweet rhymes instead! Well done

Thank you my friend, I was tempted to add another Monday song again;)

Oh my, looks very good. I love all your food @lizelle, particularly this one. Absolutely delish:)

Thank you so much @sherylneil!

Those bad boys look amazingly delicious - so yummy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42