Fruits and veggies Monday - Persimmon

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

Persimmon is an exotic-looking fruit with brilliant orange color and delicious taste. Asian persimmon, or Diospyros kaki is the most widely cultivated fruit of persimmons, also available in Hungary, but here it is not so widespread.

P1010750.JPG
(Photo: @kalemandra)

It was the first time I tasted persimmon and I liked it very much. Tastes like peach, plum and melon together. Only edible in ripe condition, that means it's very soft inside, like jam. Unripe fruits are very sour, because they contain tannin.

What are the benefits?

This fruit is full of vitamins, like A (Beta carotene), C and P vitamins, and minerals like potassium, magnesium, calcium, iron, iodine. Persimmon fills the body with potassium salts that are so necessary for the cardiovascular system. Useful nutrients of persimmon collectively strengthen vascular walls, reduce hypertension and normalize blood pressure.

P1010748.JPG
(Photo: @kalemandra)

Even the color of the fruit is eye-catching - it is best to overcome winter depression. The wonderful orange color of persimmon is the source of vitamin A (beta-carotene) that helps prevent cancer. Vitamin A has the most beneficial effect on the eyes and skin condition.
The same carotene takes care of our breathing system and prevents bronchial and pneumonia. With high levels of A, and C, it increases immunity and protects us from colds.
Originated from China and spread all over the world like Hungary, where likes the climate and yields rich.


(Img.Source: http://keletihangulat.blogspot.hu/2014/11/datolyaszilva.html)


#fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving


U5duKNhbBcAvnmXL1qTuPLmQs6jLvP2_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Very tasty! I've noticed they quickly clean me out too💩

wow, beautifull tree!))) and so shinny at the first photo!
I'll go and buy it! It looks so tasty))))

Oh, thank you! Unfortunately the tree is not mine :))) This fruit became my favourite ever in wintertime.

and I also love it in winter. Specially when they are very ripe!
and you just remind me about this fruit))))

Ans now I am thinking to plant it))) I like how it grows!))

I have never tried a persimmon, but I do like plums, melons and especially peaches, so most likely I would like it.

you should try it!

Healthy from nature, I like the tree, looks good as the fruits are hanging there, I hope they taste the way they are healthy

I love persimmon, and did the post last week! I like my persimmons that are still hard to the squeeze since I like it more on the crunchy side :-) My mom, on the other hand, loves the soft ones!

Beautifully photographed!

I love persimmons, they are beautiful, delicious and super healthy. Thank you so much Dear @kalemadra this a very insightful information and beautiful photos 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓

I had one today. They sold some smaller persimmons with a much darker color inbetween some huge, pale stone hard monster kakis. But this one was soft and sweet like a plum! Delicious! It looked almost like yours...
Both photos are beautiful!

beautiful post !!!! I really like persimmon: tasty and useful

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45