Time to Make Your Own Applesauce 🍎| Quick and Easy Recipe

Happy Fruits And Veggies Monday!

Have you already made apple sauce this year? If not, now is the time!

Obviously we can buy apple sauce from the grocery store, but why would we do that when it’s super easy to prepare yourself? It’s certainly a simple process that won’t take you long. I always encourage you to prepare your food from the scratch, and making your own applesauce is a great start!

IMG_20180818_202515.jpg

All you need:

• apples
• water
• sugar
• cinnamon (optional)
• large pot
• blender/hand blender

IMG_20180902_161710.jpg

What to do?

• Wash and dice your apples, you can leave them quite big (one apple into 4-6 chunks is fine), but get rid of the cores.
• Place the apple chunks in a large pot filled with water (and a cinnamon stick if you wish), you don’t need a lot of water, just enough that the apples are mostly covered.
• Cook until the apples are a little soft, this should take approx. 5 minutes, depending on which apple cultivar you are using.
• Once the apples have softened, place them into a blender along with a little bit of that water you used for cooking them. Add some sugar, blend, and taste. Add a bit more sugar if needed. You can also add a little lemon juice to give it a nice twist.
• Pour the sauce into containers, and voilà! Important note, please don’t do the same mistake I did, don’t fill your boxes completely, since apples contain water, and water expands in the freezer. As a consequence, all the lids will pop off. You can store the ready applesauce in the fridge (short term), or in the freezer, so you’ll have enough applesauce for the whole winter!

IMG_20180818_202543.jpg

How to use apple sauce?

Applesauce is great for baking, for smoothies, to eat with oats or yogurt, only the sky is limit!

inCollage_20180903_083619961.jpg

Here are some overnight oats I prepared for this morning using oats, apple sauce, oat milk, cinnamon and a pinch of salt. Many thanks to @puravidaville for encouraging me to give overnight oats a try, it was a delicious autumnal breakfast!


Approx. a month ago, I wrote about stocking up on berries (post found here), but now it's the time for apples. Even if I love all the recipes I've seen in #fruitsandveggiesmonday, I feel it's also important to share posts like this too, preparing your own condiments and filling your freezer with fruits and berries you've picked yourself is so rewarding and fun! I hope all of you, including the lovely host of the contest @lenasveganliving, enjoyed this a little different post for this week's Fruits And Veggies Monday!


How do you use applesauce? 🍏 🍎


-Jasmin ❤

Sort:  

Way to knock it out of the park @jasmink. This apple sauce is so simple yet looks amazing and bravo for using it in some overnight oats. I’m really glad you gave them another shot. Your oats look amazing too, btw. It’s always such a pleasure to read what you’re cooking up my friend! Great entry :)

Thank you so much for all the lovely compliments @puravidaville! I was really surprised how delicious these overnight oats turned out, so thank you! Before making them, I was a bit skeptical if this breakfast could keep my hunger away more than 30 minutes, but it was a nice surprise to notice that it took several hours for the hunger to kick in. A real success, I'd say! :)

Awesome! Like I said they were a hit in my house. I wasn’t sure either because they were served cold and didn’t know how I’d feel about that texture cold but it was great. The almonds really gave the oats the crunch I needed. Such a versatile breakfast too- happy you liked them. :)

Overnight oats definitely are something I'll prepare again! Summer is basically over, and on cold winter mornings I enjoy my hot oats, but I overnight oats could be a real hit for me next summer. I'm still not going to wait until next summer to prepare them again, I think next I'll try to add some crunch just like you did. :)

You know I was even thinking about heating up the over night oats before eating 🤷🏼‍♀️ Maybe I’ll try it out and let you know if it worked :)

I've also read about heating up overnight oats, but I don't know if that makes them taste nicer. I'll let you try it first so I'll know if it's something worth trying, haha!

You got it! Give me a couple days and I’ll get back to you with my results :)

Applesauce was a staple for kids lunches at our house. We do occasionally add to smoothies for a change.

I remember when I spent a year in Canada as an exchange student, and so many people had those little containers of apple sauce as a part of their lunch. Thinking about that brings up so many nice memories! Applesauce is something that isn't that often used in smoothies, but it indeed gives a nice little twist!

Ka’pow! All of the above. Well deserved reward on this one, too, @jasmink. I had no idea I had a real life rock star on my screen earlier!

Haha, what a compliment! Thanks a lot @dandays! :)

Congratulations @jasmink! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

yummy, this looks delicious!

My boyfriend's mom gave us a few jars of homemade pear sauce a few weeks ago and it is heavenly! I can't wait to go apple picking to load up and make some of this myself. I actually used some of the pear version in a salad dressing with poblano peppers and it was fantastic. I have to say I really like it with some peanut butter on toast, too. Just as good (or better) than jelly!

Pear sauce truly is heavenly! But I'm still going to stick with apples, since there is an abundance of them in Finland at the moment, but pears are always imported from other countries. I've also combined peanut butter and applesauce (you combined pb and pear sauce, right?), and it's absolutely delicious! I think it's my new favorite combo to be honest! I'm looking forward to seeing what you'll create from apples after picking them! 😊

We got lucky with the pears--his mom and dad have a little pear tree that only produces small hard fruit that really isn't edible raw, so she usually just makes a big batch of the sauce to use them up. Otherwise, it is mostly apples for me, too. That's ok though, fresh crisp apples are just as good! Especially with peanut butter. ;)

Lucky you, indeed! It's so nice to hear that she has found a delicious way to use the pears, it would be a shame if they rotted because no one used them!

Who doesn't like the smell and taste of warm apples and cinnamon? I can totally imagine the sweet aroma taking over your house. Making our own apple sauce is a great idea that we can enjoy the whole winter. Well done my Dear, everything looks delicious 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

The aroma truly took over the apartment when I was preparing the sauce, it makes the process even more pleasant! Thank you Lena! 😊

Hello i love to do apple or pear sauce i used to make so much of them once my daughter was a baby:)

Pear sauce is also delicious, I've never made it myself, though. It's wonderful to hear that you've made apple and pear sauce yourself for your daughter when she was little! That way you know exactly what's in them and how they are made!
Thanks for commenting @drawmeaship! :)

Hello yes i like to try to make things myself as much as possible for her:)

That's just amazing, excellent parenting! Nutrition plays such a huge role in our overall health, taking care of it from early on is vital! :)

I'm so glad I've bumped into your post dear Jasmine! I used to make apple jam, which is similar to your apple sauce but in a jar, not frozen. And we used to eat it with brad.

why would we do that when it’s super easy to prepare yourself?

I feel the same and do it myself, just posted my pizza sauce recipe with my vegan spelt pizza :)

Hi @erikah, I'm glad you found your way here and enjoyed this post! Apple jam also is delicious, when I was a little girl, my grandma always prepared it, and it was one of my favorites with pancakes, crepes and bread! Preparing your foods from the scratch truly is rewarding, isn't it? I'll go check out your pizza sauce recipe, sounds intriguing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42