Sort:  

Really... hearing for the first time of edible fly-agaric look alike....
thanks!

I was going to ask the same question. That's awesome! I know Russulas are a bit of a strange group, but those are cool. I need to go to Finland!
I've harvested/used about a dozen types of wild mushrooms now, but five years ago, I hadn't tried even one.

You're always welcome here @viking-venturess! It's great to hear that you've been experimenting with different wild mushrooms, there are so many new things we can find and taste from the store, but also from the nature! How have you liked your wild mushrooms?

I'm fairly boring with my mushrooms, I tend to sauté them with bacon and rice. :-)
Most of them seem to handle that treatment very well, so I'm good. (My girls don't seem to like them, so maybe in a few years.

Now, I'm in the Rockies and the mushrooms I prefer are several hundred miles away from me, so it's something I miss from being on the coast.

I fell in love with Finland a few years ago when doing some armchair research. I've never been there, but Finnish influence was strong in my hometown. When I studied the Finns, I began to understand myself better. I do have one Finn in my family tree from about 1700 before he moved to Sweden, but I don't know where in Finland he was from. I just say I'm half Scandinavian by ancestry. If someone asks "which country" the answer is "yes."

Kiitos! (One of my few Finnish words.)

I didn't like mushrooms as a child, but now I love them, so perhaps your girls will fall in love with mushrooms one day as well! :)

It's really interesting to hear that you have a Finn in your family tree! My mom did some family tree searching when I was little, and found out nothing interesting, lol. It's really different for you living in North America, you all have great stories to tell about your ancestry!

Family tree research is so much easier now than it was years ago. So much of it is online with more being added all the time. Have you been acquainted with the TV shows being shown in Norway, Sweden and Denmark about family research? "Allt for Sverige" (and similar for the other countries) is a show where they bring Americans over to experience the culture and to learn about their family history. It's a fascinating program which I can sometimes find on YouTube. It taught me that people over there (probably Finland too) miss their American descendants and cousins just as much as we miss our ancestors and cousins!

I love that I can talk to my Swedish 3rd cousins via Facebook. I have first cousins whose father is the son of Finnish immigrants - he was from the north somewhere though I don't have much information on them. Anyway, when I lived in England, I found this educational puzzle with a map of Scandinavia and I looked at this image of a Saami and knew it looked just like my Uncle! So maybe there's some Saami blood there - I don't see it on my Swedish side though - we're in the very south there.

Genealogy is fun. I plan to do a little mini-series on Steemit about it and all the fun things I've found and learned along the way!

I haven't heard about that "Allt för Sverige" -show, but I'll have to look it up, it seems really interesting, and I suppose I get to practice my Swedish comprehension while watching it, haha!

If you really have some Saami blood in you, that's really interesting and special, they're a very small minority here! I've never even met anyone of them, probably because I've never traveled to North Finland (shame on me...) but this is definitely fascinating!

Please do that mini-series about genealogy, it would be really interesting to hear about everything you've learned and found out! :)

It's my cousins who would have the Saami blood. But there was this Ray Mears show where he was up with the Saami in Sweden and one of the joikers looked just like my mother! So, who knows?

(I often get my Swedish vs Norwegian spellings mixed up... I understand that when I do use Swedish, it's "with a Norwegian accent" - which is fine. If I only learn one, that's the one it should be - the most understandable in the different countries.)

I will probably start the genealogy series on Sundays. Maybe in the same light as my Rambles that I've started doing.

Swedish and Norwegian are two languages really close to each other, you have to pay attention while listening or reading them to be able to tell which one is which, at least in my opinion. Finnish on the other hand is something totally different, it's actually quite weird and funny to think that Swedish, Norwegian, Danish and Icelandic are all relatively close to each other but Finnish is something completely different!

I don't even know what I'm rumbling here anymore, haha. Anyhow, I'll be back on Sunday to check if you've started the series! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34