FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Vietnamese Pickled Vegetables

During the Tết festival, having pickled vegetables are one of the popular traditional food served. Two of the most frequently served pickles are Dưa Hành: pickled onion and cabbage & Củ Kiệu: pickled small leeks.

Then again, these pickles are also traditionally served on Vietnamese Banh Mi sandwiches. They’re a little like bread and butter pickles, though crispier, not as sweet, and with a slight radish taste from the daikon. If you are unfamiliar with daikon radishes, they are very large, long (over a foot), white, mild radishes. Pickled daikon, sliced crosswise, are often served with your food at Japanese restaurants.

IMG_20200118_085429.jpg

These pickles are not cooked, so they are refrigerator pickles, not “canned” pickles. I’m told they’ll last for over a month if stored well in the fridge or cold weather like in Hanoi during the winter. Anyhow, on one of my trips to the local wet market here, I came across a lady selling these pickled vegetables. She had two silver round trays serving two different types of pickles.

Ingredients for the first tray:-
Sliced cucumber
Sliced lotus roots
Sliced carrots
Spring onion heads

  • Vinegar & cut chilli is a MUST but I think they do add other ingredients as well in order to keep it preserved.

IMG_20200118_085424.jpg

This second tray is a bit different. Since I wasn't sure what the ingredients are, I dared not buy and try. But I do know that white longish looking is a vegetable since I've seen it sold before here. But, I have no idea what it is. Maybe, I've got to try it next time around and I'll be able to share with you.

IMG_20200118_190822.jpg

I'll definitely share more in my next post. Hope you enjoy my photo taken from my Huawei

xvkj4fvznj.png

Come & join FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving
• Take and post at least 3 photos of fruits and vegetables. (It can be variety or just one kind from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, PLANT BASED RECIPES ARE WELCOMED).
• One entry only!!!
• PLEASE MAKE SURE THE ENTRY IS 100% ORIGINAL CONTENT!!! (images and text)
• Text must be at least 100 words.
• Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
• Mention the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks and the title FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

Sort:  

I love pickled vegetables! Especially like this when they still have a nice crunch to them. I don't mind a soft cucumber, but the radishes and carrots are delicious when they are still crunchy like this. I am actually trying to ferment some radishes from the market right now, so I'm curious if they'll still have a little crispness once they're ready to enjoy.

What an amzing salad Sweetie! I saw photos of the lotus flower root before, but I didn't know what it was. It's so beautiful! I have to see if I can find it in our Asian supermarkets 🌸🌿🌸

01.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74