FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY | Vietnamese Egg Plant

I have a Saturday morning routine, which is to head to the local wet market nearby my apartment to get fresh supplies for the week. Since, I prefer to cook for dinner as compared to eating out or ordering take-ins; having fresh ingredients is important to me. It's much easier here since majority of the vegetables and fruits are freshly sold daily.

On this one occasion, I found myself intrigued with one specific vegetable. I've seen it being sold in many vegetable stalls but never got around to buying it; mainly because I have no idea what it was. This time, I bought a few numbers of this vegetable and decided to give it a try. Asking the expert, Mr Google, I found out that it's actually the fruit of a brinjal or some may call it eggplant. This is the local Vietnamese egg plant; still at it's infancy stage before it becomes a full grown egg plant as how most of us are familiar with.

Snapfeed1.png

Unfortunately, it is not to be eaten raw or cooked in a dish. Instead, it is served as a pickle dish using lots of vinegar, cut chilly, salt & sugar. Marinated for a period of time to let the vinegar seep deeply into the egg plant. And when serving it, it is best to be eaten with a hot bowl of rice.

To clean the egg plant, firstly is to remove the top of the stem. Wash it well with salt water. And then cut into half. As you can see, the inside looks exactly like the brinjal. Since I won't be able to prepare this dish on my own, I guess I'll have to either give it away to someone who can cook this dish or ....

I'll definitely share more in my next post. Hope you enjoy my photo taken from my Huawei

xvkj4fvznj.png

Come & join FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY by @lenasveganliving
• Take and post at least 3 photos of fruits and vegetables. (It can be variety or just one kind from the garden, supermarket or anywhere you wish, PLANT BASED RECIPES ARE WELCOMED).
• One entry only!!!
• PLEASE MAKE SURE THE ENTRY IS 100% ORIGINAL CONTENT!!! (images and text)
• Text must be at least 100 words.
• Use hashtag #fruitsandveggiesmonday
• Mention the creator @lenasveganliving, the host @plantstoplanks and the title FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

Sort:  

🍇 Happy new year! 🥦
I wish you all a fruitful new year!

Thank you so much

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

That is truly fascinating Ireen! I had no idea eggplant can be eaten like this and I would love to try, because I love pickled veggies. It actually looks like an egg, lol. Thank you for sharing it with us my Dear 🍆😍🍆

01.jpg

Thank you so much @lenasveganliving
I had no idea either but seeing another lady buy 2Kg of it raise my curiosity.
That's why I brought a few numbers and decided to find out what it was..

And I think last week I found out another vegetable pickle dish ha ha..
Let me find out more first before I make a posting of it :)

Sounds like a plan Ireen! I always love to learn about new exotic fruits and veggies 💚🌿💚

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR BONUS PRIZE Dear IREEN 🍆🌿🍆
4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82