Fruits And Veggies Monday - Red Beans and Rice

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

It is FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY initiated by the wonderful @lenasveganliving!

red beans.JPG
I have a confession or two to make: I am not a VEGAN, or Vegetarian either. I cooked meat and fish and seafood! But I rarely eat them. And I don't like beans!

So I set out to teach myself to eat beans, and stock up on a variety of beans. The red bean is the one I tried first.

I soaked the beans over night, and the next day I cooked until it was tender.

To make it tasty, I chopped one small onion, 1 celery stalk, and 2 small Roma tomatoes. Then I stir fried these ingredients, adding salt and pepper to taste. Then I added my left-over rice, and the tender cooked bean. Keep it on low for another 10 minutes and stirred often to marinated everything together.

veggies.JPG
I roasted two big trays with vegetables: cauliflower, broccoli, sweet peppers in one tray; and in another tray I had: zucchini, butternut squash, and beets.

roasted veggies.JPG

roasted veggies 1.JPG

roasted beets.JPG
These veggies trays were all season with black pepper, Himalayan salt, olive oil, and dashes of dried basil.

To tie all the ingredients up, I served with saturated light soy sauce in a bit of water, with squeeze of lemon and topped with sesame! I don't cook with measurement, I just taste my sauce as I make it.

plums.jpg
Since we are going into winter, I also bought enough plums to last me two weeks. I love plums because it helps with my digestive system.

Come and check out what people are eating here: https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggiesmonday/@lenasveganliving/3vqey5-steemit-fruits-and-veggies-monday-competition

Text and Photo @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!

Sort:  

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Thank you!

OHHH SUPER FOOD

Thank you!

The presentation alone made my eyes popped. Beautiful, delicious photos!

Thank you sweetness!

Ohhhh! These beautiful shots! And nice entry! I love how you cook them, they looks so tasty, and healthy.

Thank you very much! I am trying to eat more healthy :-)

I am truly proud of you Icy. I heard people not liking beans, but they usually don't care. I am very happy to hear that you are making steps to more healthy and kind living.

Not to forget another fabulous entry, with delicious recipe and beautiful photography. Absolutely love it................well done! Thank you so much, I see a prize coming your way my Dear 😊

Thank you for your kind words, Lena! I am trying, and the beans are something I need to concur and quickly as they provide much needed protein.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88