Fruits and Veggies Monday - Let's Eat

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

It is FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY initiated by the wonderful @lenasveganliving!

persimmon.JPG
This past month, my local fruits and vegetables market sells persimmons, which is rare, and I have to get my fill of them. When they are in season; they are DELICIOUS and so good.

persimmon 1.JPG
I pick the very firm ones for two reasons: I like the crunchy taste, and they won't get spoiled too soon, which give me a few days to consume it even when it gets a bit softer.

The price per pound for these babies was $.79 cents at the moment, comparing to $1.29 last month.

salad with black olive.JPG
I can't have a meal without a salad bowl of some sorts. Usually it consists of romaine lettuce, cucumber, and toppings. This time, I get back to the basic of black olives, and mandarin oranges.

wild rice.JPG
I choose wild rice for grain this week! I want something different and changing taste a bit! Seems like my son likes it too as he is a picky eater.

P1080881-mushrooms.JPG
Prepare Your Mushrooms:
-Cleaned, and lay on baking tray
-Toasted for 10 minutes at 400 degree.

In the meantime, sauteed one sliced yellow onion and set aside.

Prepare Your Sauce:
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 chopped garlic clove

Combine cooked mushrooms, sauteed onion, and sauce. Mix well before serving!

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!

Sort:  

Many years ago I discovered Persimmon for the first time. But somehow it never really appealed to me and so I ignored them for a long time. But maybe three years ago I got to eat one which was really delicious. I like the taste and the consistency. Now I buy and eat them a lot! Soo good!

They are rare here in Michigan, and only available at a certain time..I would eat it year round if they offer them :-)

Here in Europe they come from Italy, Spain and Israel. They are available from late summer to the beginning of the next year. They became really popular and are available in every supermarket.

I love Persimmons!! and your salad looks yummy too!!

I indulged for two weeks, and now my time is up, :-) There is no more!

That is how it went for me :) But that is the beauty of eating in season. We eat a lot, it is over before we are tired of it and are looking forward to the next season :)

I love persimmons. I like to slice them horizontally so I can see the pretty stars on the fruit as I eat them.

I am not picky in how they sliced as long as I can eat them, but if I set up to make them look pretty for picture, I should adopt your style of cutting, lol..thanks @metzli!

❤️❤️ Tag me if you do!

This is fantastic entry Icy.............. delicious persimmons and salad with wild rice and mushrooms. Absolutely love it !!! Thank you so much and good luck🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thank you Lena!

you have a persimmon very cheap! at us it costs 2-3 dollars - 1 kg - and this is the smallest price. now is the persimmon's season. I also love persimmon very much.

They are so good, and just one more week, they will be all gone, until next year :-)

Alas.... ;(

All delicious foods! I think the first time I tried a persimmon it was under-ripe so it made my mouth feel fuzzy. I'll definitely have to give them another try and just make sure it's ripe this time! I've seen some in stores here lately, too.

Oh I remember eating un-riped one before too, and the taste wasn't that pleasant! Now I just make sure to only purchase the ones that yield a tiny bit of softness to the squeeze :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41