You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homemade Applesauce ~ TRICK to making PINK! ~ FruitsandVeggiesMonday

Applesauce is one of the best foods of all time! I make my applesauce pink by using the tart, lemon-flavored hairs of Sumac bushes. I have a Smooth Sumac (Rhus glabra) in my yard. They grow in PA, too, and you may have the Staghorn Sumac (Rhus typhina) around, too. They make things things pink and tart!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the info @haphazard-hstead I will have to search that out. I am aware of sumac and we have some growing on our land. I will have to research and see what we have. Wonderful!

That's great that you already know where some sumac is - and on your own land, no less! The seedheads will be ready in the late summer or early fall. You gather the whole seedhead, but just use the hairs. The seeds are way too hard to eat. It's great for lemonade, too -- no lemons needed! ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59239.80
ETH 2662.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48