You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Early Spring Homestead Weed Salad - 16 Wild Plants and a Foraging ID Quiz - 2018 Wild Salad Series [1]

Glad you enjoyed my wild weed salad, @kittynick! I wonder what sort of plants grow around you. We are in very different regions, I think. I bet you have some good weeds for eating, too. Maybe you have Amaranth (Amaranthus spp.) or Purslane (Portulaca spp.) around. I don't see them here until it gets hot in the summer. Enjoy your salads, too! :D

Sort:  

We are in very different regions, I think.

Yes, miles apart ;)

Yeah, we have amaranth around us, their seeds used to make flour (in our language we rajgira flour) which we used to make pastas and baked other goods, and their leaves used to make a dish called cholai ka saag. We eat purslane with fenugreek leaves and spinach and it tastes delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34