The Easiest Way to Enjoy Lady Finger

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

79euaiwy30.jpg

I harvested lady finger this morning, as part of my everyday routine. They mature quite fast, and if left unharvested, it becomes hard and is harder to chew when cooked.

nafek7gt9i.jpg

Fresh from the garden, I decided to boil it for a minute or two. This is the easiest way to cook it. Sometimes we even put it on top when we are cooking rice!

The boiled lady finger can be dipped into an organic coconut vinegar, or soy sauce with Filipino lime, whichever you prefer. I made soy sauce dip this morning with a lime, which is also freshly picked from our garden!

cdkdolsfbn.jpg

It is so awesome when you can enjoy the freshest of produce from your garden.

Lady finger is a good source of potassium, Vitamin B, Vitamin C, folic acid, and calcium. Source

Studies also shows that lady fingers alleviates asthma, lowers cholesterol, manages diabetes, boosts immune system, prevents kidney disease, and promotes healthy pregnancy. Source

Since my father is diabetic, we planted beds and beds of lady fingers in our garden. It is very easy to plant and also easy to grow. Now, we enjoy our lady finger, which is also known as "okra" in our language, in almost all our dishes. We prepare it as a stand-alone vegetable, like this one, or with a medley of vegetables in a stew, or even make an okra water!

el7odkx0v8.jpg

And that's it, I enjoyed my simple breakfast this morning! Hope you had a healthy breakfast too.

lhsrs61mvu.jpg

==========================================

This post is for #FruitsandVeggiesMonday by @lenasveganliving, hosted by @plantstoplanks.

Sort:  

Lady fingers i also thought that was the name given to those small bananas what you are showing me their i have always known them to be called okra but maybe it's different over there 😎

It is also OKRA in our place. I just looked up the English name and found out that it is called LADY FINGERS in English! Hahaha! 😁😂

Damn ...English people they can't speak English themselves don't listen to them...haha 🤣 🤣 🤣

Hahaha! Aren't you a native English speaker yourself? 😂

Na i'll stick to my Italian background...lol 🤣 🤣

Ahhhhh.. So you're Italian? I thought you were from Australia..

I was born in Italy but my parents took all four of us to Australia when i was 5 years old then left Australia 10 years ago to come and work in Thailand for a contact building company as a project manager it was suppose to be temporary but i loved it so much here that i ended up stating here now i only visit Australia 🌝

So now i have 3 cultures in me Italian , Aussie and Thai ... hehe 🤣

Oh I see. That answers it. Hahaha! 😁😂 Thank you for taking the time to answer my curiosity, my friend. Hahaha! 🤣🤣

Ganyan na ganyan din ako. Tas boiled sayote yum!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank is such a beautiful okra! It must be very delicious when is fresh from the garden! @tipu curate
1 Collage.jpg

Those are very delicious. In my part of the world, Central America, those are called "Okra". Super delicious and I like that stir fried with onions and Garlic.

Hahaha! We call it Okra too. But somehow when I looked up for the English name, 'lady fingers' came out. So I really thought that's the English name!

Wow! I'm so glad to know that you also have okra in your place. Yes, we stir fry the okra too, sometimes with squash, eggplant, and beans altogether. 😊😊

Thank you for dropping by.

I love Okra!! We call it okra also. It must be the Brits that call it ladyfingers. Wonderful post and I love that I learn something new every day on here!

From your own garden is so self-satisfying! I hope you are having a great day!

!tip

Really? So OKRA is already English? We call it okra too. But when I looked up the English name, because I thought it was our local name, "lady fingers" came up! Bwahahaha! 😂🤣😂

So, how do you usually prepare the okra?

Thank you for dropping by. I'm honored with your visit, my dear. 😍

I have to wonder if it is Lady Fingers in the Queens English, in Britain? Sometimes I take a touch of olive oil and salt and pepper and roast them. There are lots of recipes!

It is always a pleasure to stop by. xo

Oh yes, so many ways of cooking. Sometimes we even slice it thinly and make it into omelette. 😍

🎁 Hi @gingbabida! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome In Color Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you @tipu.. 😊

I'm so glad I finally started eating these this year! It really is a lovely vegetable when you cook it well. We found it really enjoyable cooked on the grill, too!

To be honest, I haven't tried it grilled. Hahaha! 😂😁 I'll try it next time.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR AWARD!
Most Beautiful Fruit & Veggie.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83