MY COLOURFUL CREAMY VEGAN CURRY RECIPE

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

image

Hi everyone, this is my first fruitsandveggiesmonday with @lenasveganliving, it is basically a curry that tastes similar to pasanda curry. It has loads of different vegetables, black kale, spinach, red pepper, carrot, peas, sweet corn, sweet potato, brocoli, onions, garlic, pumpkin seeds and cashews. The curry is served on a rice mixture, brown long grain, black long grain and lentils. I love this curry because it is healthy and has most of the minerals and vitamins a vegan needs.

To start off I lightly oil the pan and sprinkle some mustard seeds and fennel seeds.

image

Fry them on a medium heat until they start popping then add pumpkin seeds.

image

Mix that up and chuck in 2 chopped onions.

image

Fry until the onions are translucent, then add 2 heaped teaspoons of billion powder or veggie stock in 500ml water.

image

Then peel and grate a sweet potato and trow it in the mix.

image

Add 1 teaspoon ground coriander.

image

Two teaspoons madras curry powder.

image

One teaspoon chilli powder.

image

One teaspoon garam masala.

image

Let it cook for about 15 minutes until the sweet potato is soft, then add mixed veggies, sweet corn, brocoli, peas and corrots.

image

Let that simmer for about 10 minutes.

image

Chop up some kale removing stems.

image

Dump it in.

image

Let it cook a couple minutes and add the spinach.

image

To make the sauce creamy you need to soak cashews before hand, I boil water before I start making the curry and let it soak, I use 2 cups cashews and 6 garlic cloves I cover the cashews with boiling water so the cashews are just covered.

image

Just before I blend it I throw in 20g nutritional yeast flakes, it has added vitamins and minerals, and it tastes awesome.

image

Then I pour in the cashews.

image

Mix it up and cook it at a low heat for 5 minutes, then add half a red pepper chopped up.

image

Then a handful of chopped coriander.

image

Mix it up and let it stand for 5 minutes and dish up with some rice.

Give it go it is healthy and tasty.

Sort:  

Book marked this! Will attempt to make this week. Do you have like a webpage/ profile with your recipes?

Tonight stuck with lentil ziti pasta bake! Hehe

Great, no profile or Web page, I'm not to clued up with that stuff but it's something I might think about doing. I love a good pasta bake. Thanks for the continued support, I really appreciate it.

Check out srecipes.io

Such a balanced and nutritious dish, which looks really delicious! I can only imagine how great the taste is with the cashew cream and nutritional yeast, I'd love to have a plateful of this curry anytime! Well done, @gguy773!

Looks delicious, Bon appetite.
Enjoy.😊

yummy, this looks so good!

Thanks proanima

Looks very delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe! 😄
Have a wonderful day!

this is a richest curry I ever seen @gguy73, it must be delicious.. spicy and tasty, I really want to taste it becaue the corriander and fennel seeds you add in. whoaa... the pumpkin seed too, never tried to use the pumpkin seed to cook anything before.. inspiring! thanks for sharing this and keep steeming the healthy recipes!

thank you so much cicisaja

Yum! That looks and sounds delicious! Happy to see another new face to spice up our Monday fun in the fruits and veggies world. :)

Welcome to #fruitsandveggiesmonday @gguy773. You have kicked off with a great recipe. I love cashew cheese. The spices are also delicious. I'm sure our lovely @lenasveganliving will appreciate your entry

thank you very much

Bravo @gguy773 👏👏. This dish looks fantastic and so many nutritious goodies in there. I’ll take a seat at your kitchen table any day of the week. Great entry and welcome to the Fruits and Veggies family :)

thanks, it would have been nice to have some of those crepes you made for after.

Thanks, it would have been
Nice to have some of those crepes
You made for after.

                 - gguy773


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I love @haikubot! You rock :)0

I’ll send a few over, we have left overs. That’s the caveat to cooking for a small couple, always lots of leftovers. Hey, my friend who challenges to making these also live in South Africa… kinda neat! He was also the inspiration for the South African dishes I made a few weeks ago.

And feel free to send over some of your curry any time @gguy773.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50