From Garden to Table - Veggie Tikka Masala

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

Happy Monday everyone!

Today I thought I would post another entry for @lenasveganliving's inspiring Fruits & Veggies Monday competition. I love looking at all the entries each week and hope mine is a welcomed addition!

My first harvest of the year consisted of broccoli, cauliflower and peas. A small crop, but a real triumph for a newbie gardener like myself :)

GCHARVEST1.jpg

GCHARVEST2.jpg

With these little veggies washed and ready, I decided the best way to use them would be in a delicious curry. I made my favourite: Veggie Tikka Masala. If you would like to know my recipe I wrote a post all about it which you can read here!

GCHARVEST3.jpg

The peas never made it to the pan, they went straight from the bowl into my mouth! They were better enjoyed raw as a snack whilst cooking, so crispy and yummy. My partner made us a tasty garlic & coriander flat bread to have with our curry which really rounded off the meal perfectly. We were very satisfied!

I hope you have all enjoyed my entry, feedback & comments are welcomed! I'm starting this week on a real high note thanks to my gardening success :)

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

This looks soooo yummy! Will defo be checking out the recipe! :D

Thank you @zoeyartanddesign, I hope you like the recipe. Let me know if you try it out :D

These are mouth watering dishes! I suddenly have a craving for white long grain rice :-)

@icybc thanks very much! Glad you think so ;) the rice in my photo is basmati, one of my favourites to eat!

Well done on growing those vegetables! It takes a lot of time and effort but I bet it tasted so good. The curry with flat bread looks really delicious! :)

Thanks @ashleighchanel, the veggie growing sure did take some time and work but it was all 100% worth it. Now I need to plant some more!

Yeah I have grown broccoli in the past and was surprised that it was a one-time-only vegetable to grow. That was the only season I was a veggie-patch gardener, but it was really good. I also was really impressed with the taste of home-grown brown onions that I had grown that season. Well done on planning to continue growing veggies!

WOW just fabulous peas, that pod could have won prizes in a horticultural competition! They must have tasted soooooo good to not make it to the tikka masala!! hahahahaha
upvoted and resteemed. You have worked super hard on your garden, your photos and your post. Congratulations..... you should be very proud of yourself. A new generation of fabulous gardeners who understand the value of growing your own food is what the world needs right now. You are an inspiration to others.

Thanks very much @sallybeth23, I always love reading your thoughtful comments. The peas were indeed yummy, I can't wait to harvest more pods once they are ready. I had to photograph that one pea pod, the peas had formed so perfectly it would have been rude not to!

That pea pod looks jam packed! Great shot of it too!

I wonder if it's the pod from the plant you sent me the picture of for inspiration of the banner that I created?

The curry and flat bread also look very delicious, I may have to make curry for dinner today. :D

Thank you @magiccleatus! I couldn't be totally sure if it is the same pod from the photo I sent you - I could well have eaten that one already :P

I hope I inspired you enough to feast on a yummy curry today!

My favorite kind of food..............absolutely love it 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓
Collage.jpg

Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked my entry @lenasveganliving! :D

Oh my gosh that pea pod is so adorable! I love it! So nice to see what you made with some of your crops. I have visions of beautiful vegetables of our own dancing through my head...though we've got a ways to go. Getting down to freezing here again the next few nights, but hopefully we'll be able to transplant our seedlings outside soon! Thanks for sharing!

Hehe I know right!! I just had to photograph it when we saw how perfectly formed it was :)

What seedlings have you got on the go?? I sure hope the frozen temps leave your garden be so you can soon enjoy your own crops too!
Super glad you enjoyed my post, I really appreciate your feedback :)

We've got a few different tomato varieties, cucumbers, squash, and a few herbs so far. I think we've got seeds for eggplant and a few other veggies still we can plant, as well. I think after today it's supposed to start warming up. The process is so amazing to see from seed to grown plant, but it's hard not to be impatient when you can almost taste fresh tomatoes in your mind!!

What a great variety of veg you have going - you will be laughing when all your cucumbers start to come up, and you'll have tomatoes coming out of your ears before you know it ;)

I do hope so!! ;)

Great work! I am hoping my crops come out that good. Looks yummy ! 💯🐒

Thanks @vibeof100monkeys! I am sure you will have successful crops too. What are you due to harvest?

Well still at seed level here only just seeing the beginning of spring showing her face so were a long way off yet! 💯🐒

Lovely veggies you grew 💓 there is nothing better than picking and eating something you grew... Except maybe sharing it with others!
I am glad to be connected with this community and look forward to sharing more with you 😊
Blessings 🐦

Couldn't agree more @onewithearth - anything we cannot eat I will give away to friends so nothing goes to waste. Thanks for your lovely comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80