Fruits & Veggies Monday - Sweet potato, spiced vegan scones

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Good morning foodies!

This weekend, our yoga group had a lovely vegan brunch together after our outdoor class at the park that I teach every Sunday morning. I started this tradition in Singapore and Milan yogis seem to enjoy it as well. I made some incredibly delicious vegan scones, so I'll be sharing with you the recipe and including it for the Fruits & Veggies Monday contest by @lenasveganliving.

Before I begin, let me tell you (aka warn you) that these are not your traditional scones, therefore they do not taste nor do they have the consistence of a regular scone. However, that does not mean they are not delicious. In fact they are so yummy, it has happened to me before to finish them all by myself in one day with zero guilt and a super happy and nourished belly. So here you go, keep an open mind and give them a try when you crave something sweet and healthy!

VEGAN SCONES

Ingredients:
250g(2½ cups) Oats
1 tsp. Baking powder
1 tsp. Baking soda
Pinch of salt
50g Coconut oil (4 Tbsp)
1 tsp. Vinegar
1 Tbsp Maple syrup
200g (about 1 cup)Cooked mashed sweet potato
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1/4-1/2 tsp cardamon according to preference
1/4-1/2 tsp nutmeg according to preference
1 Tbsp raw maca powder (optional but so yummy)

Preparation:
Blend oats in a food processor to make a flour. Add baking powder, baking soda, salt, spices, coconut oil and blend till the mixture becomes crumbly. Then add your cooked and mashed sweet potatoes, vinegar, and maple syrup and mix till it becomes one mass. Place it on an oat floured surface and knead a couple of times to fully combine. Then shape into a flat circle about 1.5 inch deep. Cut the circle into 6-12 triangles, depending on how big/small you want the "scones" to be. Place on a baking sheet and bake at 180c/350f for about 15-20 min till golden and cooked (could be longer, depending on your oven). Let them cool before trying them. Serve them with jam on top!

Nom Nom Nom!

IMG_1107.JPG

IMG_1109.JPG

DQmVU2u5t3GVpKC5zPpLKKaCH1xoTLA6FiCSg1yNqtiUU69.jpg

Sort:  

Gluten-free goodness :)

That's so true, didn't even realize they were gluten-free :)

Wannaaaa, send to me, please!

Aha, there are none left 😆

These look fabulous. What a great way to incorporate sweet potatoes into breakfast! My family would love this! Thank you

You're welcome! I hope you try them :)

it really looks good! Will eventually try it out! Thanks !!!

Of course, I hope you like them!

Woww this looks amazing!! Such a unique and smart way of using sweet potatoes ;) Thanks for the recipe!

The sweet potatoes help with the sweetness without needing to add more maple syrup. I hope you give them a try :)

A want it all, looks great! I'm bookmarking this!

Thank you :) Let me know how they turn out.

I will :)

Sounds and look super delicious and incredibly healthy. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67