fruitsandveggiesmonday Zucchini madness: tomato sauce.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

20180905_141421.jpg

It's time for everyone's favorite fall activity: canning. This years tomato crop was a little thinner than usual so I've been topping up my tomato sauce with zucchini.

20180903_203838.jpg

Start off by prepping the tomatos, you don't have to use a press like this to seperate the seeds and skin from the pulp. It is fine to cook up the whole tomato with the stem part cut out.

20180903_203819.jpg

Once in the pot add the shredded zucchini. I also put in some fresh basil, black pepper and a spoonfull of sugar. Now let it cook down a for a bit.

20180903_203655.jpg

I cooked it too much and became quite thick. Thats ok just can it anyway, in the cold winter it will be perfect to cook with.
Now just wait for the next batch of tomatos to ripen.

DQmTP74feNKeXVjsCNcyyVFJSXcw5LVEZPacvshqKtbAuAc_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

So much cooking happening at your house this week. Looks yummy.

Nothing like homemade tomato sauce! I think zucchini is a great accompaniment, so definitely a good way to fill out the sauce!

Love this! How did you cook all of this sauce and not make a big pot of spaghetti ?!? I wouldn’t have been able to resist. Looking forward to your tomato sauce creations this winter :)

Usually I make a big mess. Stay tuned for some greasy exploits!

Usually I
Make a big mess. Stay tuned for
Some greasy exploits!

                 - edthecanadian


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

The messier the better it tastes

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Pasta with this sauce will be absolutely dreamy! Well done my Friend 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks for the support😊

Nice and delicious looking @edthecanadian. Wish I had the patience to do it. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61511.66
ETH 2989.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63