FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY - lentils-quinoa summer salad

Are you looking for a recipe idea for these hot days? Should it be something healthy, light, fresh and tasty? Don't you want to spend all day in kitchen?

Yes?

Then keep reading!

My lentils- quinoa salad is perfect for you! It is an ideal meal for summer days that has everything what your body and soul need. It is ready within 1 hour (including roasting) with very simple and quick preparation.

Let's start cooking!

DSC_0232.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/3.5 18 mm

Ingredients - up to 4 servings:

1 cup cooked lentils
2 cups cooked quinoa
1 cup zucchini
1 cup sweet potatoes
1 cup orange/red bell pepper
1/2 cup asparagus
1 cup cherry tomatoes
2 medium sized onions
1/2 unpitted black olives
2 handful of arugula
1 bulb of garlic
Bunch of parsley
Bunch of basil
1 handful of pine nuts
1 handful of sesame seeds
3 tbsp olive oil
Splash of lemon juice
Salt and Pepper to taste

DSC_0121.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/4 18 mm

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C.

Cook quinoa and lentils as per instructions on the package. I used blonde lentils and quinoa of three colors but you can use any type of your choice.

Prepare veggies for roasting. First cut garlic into half and place it on a baking sheet covered with baking paper.

A perfectly roasted bulb of garlic should be soft, with a little browning on the outside. The cloves inside should spread like soft butter on toast. Roasted garlic will change its taste to sweet and it will lose its sharpness. One bulb looks like a lot of garlic, but trust me you will love it!

DSC_0142.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/4.2 28 mm

Cut zucchini, sweet potato, onion and bell pepper in equal sized pieces. Place cherry tomatoes between two lids and then slice through them to cut all of them at once.

Place all veggies on the baking sheet. Add olive oil on top, sprinkle with salt and pepper and mix it up well together so that all pieces are covered with oil.

Look at the colors! It already looks delicious!

DSC_0158.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/4 18 mm

Place the baking sheet in the preheated oven and bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown.

In the meantime cut asparagus in 1 cm long pieces and bake it in a small pan with a splash of olive oil on medium heat for 3 minutes. I don't roast asparagus with other veggies in the oven as it would become too soft. Other veggies need much more time to roast so if I bake it separately it keeps green color and remains crunchy.

Cut cucumber and olives in equal sized pieces and roughly chop basil and parsley.

Roast sesame seeds and pine nuts on the medium heat until they are lightly brown, for about 2-3 minutes.

DSC_0166.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/3.5 18 mm

Take the baking sheet out of the oven. Set aside to cool down for 15 minutes.

DSC_0178.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/3.5 18 mm

So yummy!

DSC_0189.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/3.8 20 mm

Place veggies on a plate and take garlic cloves out of the skin. You can easily do it by pressing on the bottom of a clove to push the soft deliciousness out. We like big chunks of roasted garlic, but you can cut them in smaller pieces if you wish.

DSC_0198.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/3.5 18 mm

Place cooked lentils and quinoa in a big mixing bowl and prepare roasted veggies, cucumber, herbs, olives, sesame seeds, pine nuts, baked asparagus, roasted garlic and arugula for mixing.

DSC_0208.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/3.5 18 mm

Add all ingredients in the bowl and mix everything well together. Add some salt and pepper if necessary.

How good does it look?

DSC_0228.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/3.8 20 mm

The combination of roasted veggies and crunchy cucumber with herbs and nuts is irresistible!

Serve and enjoy the taste explosion in every bite!

I would recommend to serve it with a glass of rose if you are having this meal for dinner 😊

DSC_0238.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/3.5 18 mm

All pictures are taken by Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II. I use Lightroom to edit my pictures.

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday hosted by lovely @lenasveganliving.

I hope you like my recipe. If you recreate it, please tag me in your post so that I can see it.

If you like my articles, feel free to upvote/resteem or follow me.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,

M.

DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

This is just the type of recipe I have been searching for - Summer temperatures have arrived and I need a cold, nutritious meal to get me through. This sounds delicious and likely to need very little prep time in the kitchen which is ideal. It's too hot to cook!

Thanks for sharing @delishtreats :)

Thank you for your kind comment! You are so right! It's too hot to cook and this is the perfect solution for these temperatures :)

This is the kind of salad that I could live on. It has so many perfect things that all dance together nicely and the roasted veggies are a super addition to the quinoa and lentils. Yummy and nice photos!

Thank you for stopping by Carolyn 😊

You are right! It was really good. I like such combinations too!

Beautifully done and it looks really delish! I could have this all day for breakfast, lunch and dinner lol!

Serve and enjoy the taste explosion in every bite!

I can imagine this explosion of different tastes already :D

Thank you! ❤ you should try it! I'm sure you will love it!

👏👏👏👏👏👏👏😍😍😍😍WOW!!!!!!!! This looks so good I can’t wait to try out this recipe Thank you so much. The whole post is beautifully presented you are a superstar💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛💛

Thank you my friend! You are too kind to me!

Let me know when you try it. I would love to know how you liked it! :)

I am preparing for a healthy food challenge, I love this recipe.
Much success.
Also if it's your pleasure I invite you to go to my blog.

Thank you for your comment! What kind of a healthy food challenge?

I will definitely check your blog 😊

Your step by step photographs are fantastic! This is definitely the kind of meal I love to eat this time of year, as well. Yum! :)

Thank you for your kind words my dear! 😊

I try to make make pictures in a way that helps people to recreate the recipes 😊

Let me know how you loke it if you try it.

Have a good day!

This is absolutely to die for Sweetie.............my kind of recipe. I love all the ingredients 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you my dear! ❤

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 90 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-04T15:19:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 52.00/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks a great recipe, thanks for sharing it @delishtreats

Thank you for stopping by! ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52