Preserved Lemon : The Moroccan way!

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

As most of you surely knows by now that I am from Morocco but living in Mauritius, preserved lemon is a very important ingredient for me to have at all times!

Back in Morocco, getting preserved lemons were just so easy as you find them nearly everywhere...but here in Mauritius no one sells them and it is very rare to find someone making them!

So finally I have been making my own preserved lemons for nearly 5 years now and as you know .... homemade foods are always the best!

For this new round of fruitsandveggiesmonday organized by the beautiful @lenasveganliving , I have the pleasure to share how I make them the Moroccan way!
Making preserved lemons are really very easy and anyone can do it!


First you need a good quantity of lemons and salt!

C5CB517A-9C56-424D-BC00-C47BAE7BCA8E.jpeg


Cut the lemon in quarters but without opening them completely! See the below photo to understand it better!

Fill each of the lemon with salt!

57B49A01-7559-487A-A788-A0031B1F78DA.jpeg


Take a sterilized jar and start stacking the lemons in it! Press them well until all fit in!

Once your jar is full of lemon, add little water and little oil ,and 3 spoons of white vinegar!

Add some more salt on top and close the jar!

F8DE9128-2252-4334-AC17-A79E181C30F9.jpeg


I normally keep the jar for minimum 1 month at room temperature before I open it!

60DFD69B-2C06-4C9D-869F-AA4A58A1342F.jpeg


After one month, your preserved lemons will be ready for use and will look as follows!

48B1DACB-E65F-401B-96F6-F42921B0ED12.jpeg


If you want to see in which dishes I use these lemons, kindly check out my blog...you’ll find a lot of different recipes I’ve shared and more to come soon!

I would like to thank @lenasveganliving for organizing such a lovely contest giving us the opportunity to share some great post with the world!

Wish you all a great day ahead!
Thanks
@creativewoman

Sort:  

I never knew about this and I am wondering how it tastes. Truly amazing Dear @creativewoman 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Hi dear Lena! Its taste combines acidity and salinity. I can not describe it to you. I advise you to try it and I am very sure you will like it, it’s something important in the Moroccan cuisine.

It may be similar to pickles, but I will try for sure........soon as I get chance my Dear 🌸💖🌸

Do you think this would work well with limes too? Lemons are so difficult to find here and super expensive too!

Hi dear! You need lemon because the limes has different smell, and will not come like the Moroccan way, because here also so expensive, I tried before to do it with lime but the taste different.

Thanks for the tip. Will give it a try if we find some.

الله الله على الحامص المسير تبارك الله عليك

بارك الله ا فيك الا مصايبتوش مكينش منين نشريه

Hello friend how are you, I've learned a lot of things with you this thing of keeping lemons is wonderful, they almost always get bad in the fridge since I do not use them every day, I saw your husband's publication of the bistro they have and it's fantastic this very nice , where you live is an island is wonderful!

Thank you very much for your daily support! I appreciate it.

I bought preserved lemons from Marrakech. Never came around to.use them. The 2 jars sat in my fridge for almost 4 years and I discarded them last year like a fool. Feel like an idiot now.

Hahaha! Ohhh! Very good, you have to try a Moroccan dish with these preserved lemons! Am glad that you visited marrakech, really it’s a beautiful place.

Had a lot of Tagine dishes for a week that I was in Morocco! And the orange juice in that heat! Amazing! Have a good day!

تبارك الله عليك راكي موسوعة شاملة انت خاصك تحاولي تديري قناة الطبخ في اليوتوب دخلي بها الصرف ما شاء الله عليك

شكرا لك بزاف أخي

I live in Israel. there is a lot
dishes from Moroccan cuisine. but I did not see such lemons. it is amazing!!!!

Hi friend! The israelian cuisine is little like the Moroccan , especially the spices, I watched one documentary about the Israel culture, there also have good food.

تبارك لله عليك

بارك الله ا فيك شكرا

looks much better rather from what we buy from stores.

Hi brother! Of course don’t have better than homemade! It’s the best.

I love this recipe, I always buy many lemons and they are damaged now I can take advantage of them more thanks friend.

Hi dear! If you try this way ! Believe you will like the result , and you can put it in different dishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59184.02
ETH 2530.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46