Fruitsandveggiesmonday - Stuffed Chickpea Crepe

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday by the lovely @lenasveganliving.

pot`1.jpg

This was one of those, make it up as I go along things. I started with chickpea flour and decided to make a crepe with it. There was some leftover flat leaf parsley which I love and wanted to use up so I added that to the flour after blending.

linee.jpg

pot8.jpg

pot9.jpg

After adding a 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder salt and pepper, I added enough water to make a batter that would pour into a non stick pan with just a brush of oil.

linee.jpg
pot11.jpg

I decided on a potato pea and carrot filling resembling the inside of a samosa, adding cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, ginger, cayenne, turmeric, salt and pepper. These were just basic ingredients that were short of a few items found in a samosa but it worked well anyway.

linee.jpg
pot13.jpg

pot15.jpg

Meanwhile I made two sauces to add to the dish. The first was a roasted red and yellow pepper sauce. The peppers were first grilled under the oven broiler after a brush of oil. After the skin removed.

I know pepper sauces are generally made with red peppers, which is the only way I have had it, but my mother in law, whose place it is where I stay, will only eat orange and yellow peppers. They never use green because they really don't like green things. They purchased a large bag from Costco and rarely use them, living mostly on a steady diet of ham, cheese, bacon, eggs, white bread and fried foods. She will use the peppers now and then, deeply fried for a spaghetti sauce but I think they purchase them for us so I used them.

linee.jpg
pot12.jpg

The peppers were blended with sauteed onion and garlic, salt, vinegar, lemon juice, olive oil, cayenne pepper.

linee.jpg
pot14.jpg

I also made a pea puree with peas, chives, and Thai basil, from the herb pot outside, completing it with salt, lemon juice and onion powder.

linee.jpg
pot22.jpg

The crepes were filled with the potato mixture and rolled.

linee.jpg
pot16.jpg

pot17.jpg

I drizzled each one with the pepper sauce and the pea puree

linee.jpg
pot3.jpg

pot.jpg

pot2.jpg

It really ended up tasting like a samosa not fried of course. My boyfriend and I love spicy food so I couldn't help but grab the bottle of sriracha and give it a couple drops as well.

linee.jpg
pot19.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

I had the real samosas yesterday but I like your version much much better! I prefer food that is not fried too. And I love the pepper sauce! I have some red bell peppers at home so I'll try it :) PS: Beautiful presentation!! I'm drooling all over my screen now! :)

What a lovely compliment thank you! I am happy for drooling haha.

I can tell right away, your version is way tastier then traditional samosas. Not to forget much healthier and beautifully presented. I can see this as an item in a classy vegan restaurant. Well done Carolyn 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Those are such nice compliments. Thank you so much Lena!

Love your mouth-watering cuisine, with your amazing inspiration, love & your great combination. This recipe is perfect 🤗 as @lenasveganliving already said: Well done :)

That is so kind of you to say. Thank you so much!

Always a pleasure Carolyn and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

This is a beautiful painting! It looks and sounds so delicious! A huge compliment!

Ah thank you so much for a most lovely compliment!

You are welcome! You deserved it!

Omg you have other herbs too in the herb garden!! It's like a mini heaven for cooks!

That's some fancy plating, shorty!!

bwahhhhhhaaaa I love it! Thanks.
His mom bought some herbs because I bought a pot of basil. She was competing with me I think but she wins because my basil is looking like shit haha. Only I use these herbs right now.

Your presentation keeps getting better and better, have you found work yet because I feel u could 100 percent get something in a veggie Kitchen normally language barriers aren't such a big problem in that type of work

I worked for seven years in a kitchen and the last one was two years in a large vegan company as a supervisor. I can't go back there. There are people there I don't want to see. it's complicated. I'm trying other vegan places. Restaurant jobs are all you can get as an English speaker which is fine but now I'm vegan so it is more limited. I worked in a steakhouse for five years and they actually said I could come back but I can't touch meat anymore.

Thanks so much for your support and your nice compliment!

well i hope you find what your looking for, maybe it could even be your own vegan catering or vegan lunches where you make a menu, create some pictures go around offices and promote your food, ppl pay in advance for your lunches that you bring to them... these were ideas that i was having in my own head, i might make this happen still

Yes thank you, I have also had those ideas in my head but I realize I am too shy to talk to people in person. I will have to get a job and save up to travel like I really want to. Good luck to you if you try. You'll be great!

This looks Yummy, have to try this :) I think you could be very interested in our platform for recipes, visit our blog ! Or join our discord for a discussion ! https://discord.gg/755st5Q

Thank you so much @srecipes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97