Fruitsandveggiesmonday - Creamy Cabbage Soup

This is an entry for #fruitsandveggiesmonday thanks to @lenasveganliving

soup4.jpg

Last year this time, Marc and I had just landed in the Yucatan and were spending our first week out of a month there in a little town called Tizimin. We spent a total of three weeks there than left for Acapulco.

It was very hot and humid which I prefer over the chill that I am in right now in Montreal. The fall does have it's perks but I really am afraid of the winter to come. I haven't spent a winter in Montreal since 2016/2017. I know this is my usual complaint. Many are probably sick and tired of it.

In the meantime my appetite continues to have me yearning for hot soups and stews, so with some of the items that are available for better prices, I have made a cabbage soup.

When I was younger, there was a period of time where cabbage soup became all the rage among my friends that needed to lose weight. They were making cabbage and tomato soup which seemed to be working but I found it quite boring. I often made the soup with more ingredients in it and I enjoyed it much better.

Today I took some onion stems, onion, garlic and carrot and sauteed them in a pot.

soup.jpg

I added potato and cabbage. After a while it was covered with water, salt and pepper and veggie broth.

soup1.jpg

When the potatoes and carrots were soft, I blended everything adding almond milk. It was blended to a creamy smooth texture. I wanted something different then the usual chunky soup with cabbage.

soup2.jpg

When it was all blended I added it back to the pot and simmered it, adding more salt, pepper, and a little cider vinegar slowly until I got the taste I was looking for.

I had made a fake bacon from tempeh. I broke up plain tempeh and marinated it in tamari, cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, liquid smoke, maple syrup and a little balsamic.

This was part of the garnish along with green onion and chopped cabbage.

soup3.jpg

I had it with a slice of toast that I cut to pieces. It was part of my favorite kamut bread that I often purchase.

soup5.jpg

Well I must run to work which has been quite tiring since I get little sleep due to the opposite shifts Marc and I have. This is why Steemit has been on the back burner these days but eventually I will get back into the swing again. I really enjoy connecting with all of my wonderful friends and seeing their excellent posts.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

I love the color of your soup! And that tempeh! Yum! It must have been a delicious meal. Also, your presentation is lovely! Good luck with the contest and thank you for sharing!

Aww thanks @delishtreats! The tempeh really completes this for me.

I am definitely getting in to soup mode myself, though it is not quite feeling like fall here yet. I remember the cabbage soup detox craze, too. I just like it because it tastes good, haha! Though your soup is also very nutritious, too. :)

Haha the cabbage detox soup that my friends made was quite bland but a good cabbage soup feels pretty comforting.

hello @carolynstahl .. this soup looks tempting.. yay, never think aboout blend the cabbage before. but I wonder whether the thing you called tempeh is the same Tempe from my country, made from fermented soy bean and specific yeast/mold? like this?
nfkvs8hhlc.jpg

Hello @cicisaja! The tempeh I bought was exactly the same thing. I bought it from a company that I worked for making it and it looked identical to this. It is a wonderful thing for vegans to use especially.

We boiled the soy beans then we dried it in a spinner then we put it in a tumbler and put the spores/mold into it mixing it well. After we put it in a weighing machine that dropped it in the bag and we flattened it. After we put it in an incubator for around 30 hours.
They supply many stores in the city so there are large amounts made each day.

👍😃 that's exactly the way we made it.. aahh I'm so proud being an Indonesian now. Tempe is our contribution for the world😊

Yes the first thing I heard about tempeh is that it is originally from Indonesia. Thanks to you guys for your contribution.

Yum 😋😋. Soup is all the rage this week, which makes me a very happy camper. Love the colorful ness of this recipe… thank you for the sprinkle of sunshine today @carolynstahl- great F’s and V’s post.

Such kind words. Thank you very much! I really am and have always been a soupaholic haha.

Yes, soup, stew, chili, all of it… love all of it :)

I never tried cabbage soup sounds delicious

I hope you try it and like it!

Good to see you @carolynstahl! We have missed your wonderful creations! This soup looks so yummy. I do remember that horrible diet cabbage soup....do you think it really worked? lol This looks amazing, especially with the bacon and bread sticks for dipping. Well done, this should help warm those northern winter chills!

Haha hilarious that you thought it was horrible too. I do think it worked though but it was like cabbage and tomato with nothing else in it.
Thanks @birdsinparadise!

Nice to see you again Dear Carolyn and so is your delicious soup. What a five star restaurant recipe and presentation, wow! Very impressive and I no doubt delicious 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Oh you are too kind. Thank you so much Lena!

I made cabbage soup yesterday, the regular chunky one with cabbage, potatoes, onions etc. Even though it's a really simple soup to prepare and one of my favorites, I think blending it with almond or coconut milk could be a nice idea to try! Thank you for the inspiration @carolynstahl! 😊

I do love the chunky version as well with the potatoes and other things. It is a full meal that is comforting. This is the first time I ever made a creamy version and I have to say that it is one of my new favorites.
Thank you @jasmink

Such a great recipe, I bet it is so soothing, especially when the temperatures outside are dropping. ☺️

Yes indeed. That darn winter is coming haha. I'm scared haha. Thank you @rawadventures!

It is my first winter outside of Germany, we will be in the Australian summer during Christmas. So I will watch your wintertime recipes from far away here on Steemit, but I bet you will be just fine in front of your warm soups and stews. 😉

yummy, I like this soup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84