Fruits and Veggies Monday-Vegan With A Toaster Oven In Krabi Thailand

I'd like to share this with @lenasveganliving's #fruitsandveggiesmonday.

We have moved to Krabi south of Bangkok and to budget for a while we got a moderately priced bungalow. This is the first time I've stayed in a place that had a kitchen but no stove.

Roasted peppers, mushrooms, onions, tofu, and rice noodles, with peanut sauce. Salad with mango dressing.

DSC_3680.jpg

Although this kitchen has more counter space than I usually get, it has only a toaster oven and a kettle. I panicked a little when I realized I couldn't cook, rice, pasta or make curries and stews.

Then I realized that this would be an interesting way to make meals. Fortunately I bought a small blender in Bangkok and have been taking it around with me.

We had been eating quite a bit of food sauteed in oil . Too much actually. so this toaster oven is forcing me to cut that frying out for a while. I feel better as well.

We have a Tesco supermarket five minutes away so there we purchased some items to grill in the oven. I have never cooked anything but toast and warm up pizza in a toaster oven so this would be a trial to see what could happen.
There were things in the bargain bin so I picked them up, chopped them up and stuck in the oven to grill with water on the bottom along with salt and pepper.

Green peppers, mushrooms red onion and tofu.

DSC_3643.jpg

I'm used to having a lot of spices and sauces in my food so I had to figure out how to easily sauce this up without a pot or pan.

There were really ripe mangoes that I used to make a sweet and tangy dressing.

Untitled-2.jpg

I had also purchase a bag of hot peppers and garlic. The garlic didn't come loosely so I was stuck with a lot. The only solution was to make a roasted garlic and hot pepper puree.

Untitled-1.jpg
I now had two trays of things to roast. This would take a bit more time but I thought it was a good way to go without eating for a while to refine my longing.

I had decided that the mango dressing would be for the salad.

DSC_3586.jpg

I realized I could make rice noodles with hot water from the electric kettle. All I had to do was soak them. Then I decided to make a peanut sauce using peanuts, soy sauce, lime juice, chilli garlic puree, and some of the mango dressing to sweeten it.

Untitled-19.jpg

Untitled-199.jpg

The sauces and dressings will come in handy to dress up some future toaster oven concoctions. I do miss having a stove but really this is fun and has me eating easier food.

I did use a bit of sesame oil in the dressings but only enough for flavor. I usually use coconut sugar but this time it's sugar free.

I think we'll try to give the gluten a break as well. I notice quite a difference in the way I feel. I just won't write anything in stone because I do love pizza and pasta.

Enjoy your week everyone!

Sort:  

What a great looking lunch treat - yumyumyum

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @razack-pulo on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community.

Join the foodie fun! Check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Follow us for a FOODIE reward! We'd also love your support via delegation(receive a 2x FOODIE reward) so that we can help spread gastronomic delights.

foodiesunite_small.png

Wow no cooker. I would freak out to lol. Nice meal your produced there with a fryer oven and kettle.

It was a challenge that forced me to eat a little better.
Thanks Amy!

Ohhhh, you make me hungry hehe.

Thanks I'm glad it does haha!

You are a master chef Carolyn and I love your presentation. everything looks absolutely dreamy . I actulay don't have a stove neither, but I have very good quality toaster oven and a hot plate. Maybe you can get one of those as well, even if just a cheep one 💚🌿💚

01.jpg

Thank you for your nice comment. It makes you think hard when you find yourself in a situation that you're not used to. I also feel better not frying or eating pasta. It's going to change tonight when we move to a place with a stove.
It was a short stay.

This looks really yum @carolynstahl, who says vegan is boring;) Your plates always look so enticing! Nice presentation!

Aww thanks!!!

Oh man this looks amazing. I miss cooking whilst travelling. Amazing how inventive we get when we dont have the usual kitchen stuff to hand.

I went to Krabi years ago, solo with my 4 yo. Different time then. Fond memories.

Oh so cool. I would love to know about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60