Fruits And Veggies Monday - Daikon Two Ways

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday thanks to @lenasveganliving.

I don't often use daikon except for once in a while. The other day I bought one to add a bit on a salad but there was so much left over. I never used it much at all in my life. So today instead of throwing it away I made two different things with it. Plus I decided that Monday would be a good gluten free day.

Daikon Ramen noodles

dai9.jpg

Shredded daikon

dai.jpg

Shredded carrot

dai1.jpg

Shredded Cabbage

dai4.jpg

Edamame

dai6.jpg

Enoki mushrooms

dai5.jpg

I combined the shredded daikon, carrots, enoki and cabbage then steamed them. I made a broth using veggie broth cube, tamari, ginger, garlic, sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, dried shitake mushrooms,edamame and three sheets of nori broken up inside the broth.

dai11.jpg

Daikon cakes
dai13.jpg

I combined daikon, carrot, green onion, garlic, ginger, and chopped it finely

dai2.jpg

I mixed it with rice flour, tapioca starch, and salt

dai15.jpg

I formed them into patties and browned them in a pan then adding a little water much like a pot sticker

dai3.jpg

I made a dipping sauce for them with some leftover peach that I had. It was a combination of peach, ginger, garlic, maple syrup, rice wine vinegar, and salt

dai14.jpg

I have used daikon only raw which is very strong. After cooking these it had the daikon taste without the strong heat which was still there but not so much

dai12.jpg

Have a good week everyone!

signature.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-06T18:34:57
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 424.48/800.00
Total Photos: 58
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Dang girl, that looks absolutely mouth-watering!!! I agree--radishes can sometimes be a little too peppery for me raw, but cooking can help tone it down just right. That peach sauce sounds perfect to go with those patties!!

Why thank you. This was an experiment gone right haha!

Sounds vert tasty, I am not familiar with the mushrooms, are they difficult to find? T dipping sauce sounds divine! Beautiful @carolynstahl :)

The mushrooms seem to be more and more popular here in the stores. I am seeing them everywhere so I imagine you could get them in the States too. They have a cool texture. Kind of chewy but not a strong flavor in my opinion.

Thanks for the compliment!

Oh my goodness Carolyn, I want it all, right now. It looks absolutely amazing, just like from a fine Asian vegan restaurant if not better, because is homemade. I definitely have make it. Your presentation is stunning too my Dear 🍓🌿🍌🍍🍑🍇🍒
image

So wonderful of you to say. I was experimenting with Daikon which I have never really eaten much in my life except raw. So it worked out the way I prepared it. In fact now I want it more often haha.

Thank you Lena! Have a great day!

I can see why Caroly......... I am going to eat it more often as well.
CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
2.png

Thank you Lena!!!

This looks so good! Where did you learn to cook like that?

Aww how nice of you. I just love food and many kinds of it so that inspired me to figure out how to make what I imagine. Thank you @white.tiger!

I'm going to have to try these! Lovely photos too :)

Thank you I hope you try it and like it.

Nice recipe ideas! I've never heard of daikon before, so I learned a new radish variety today, thanks for the inspiration 💚

I think it has different names depending on where it is purchased. I believe it could be called winter radish or white radish. It has a real spicy hot taste but I usually have it raw in a salad or sandwich. This was the first time I had it. I think you might like working with this.
Thank you @rawadventuress

Definitely sounds intriguing 😁 I've seen some radish varieties on the markets here, maybe I can find out what types there are here in Malaysia! They seem to add a great twist to salads 😉

Oh what a lovely meal! And so super healthy!! I can't remember if I have tried daikon before, will see if I can find it here! That dipping sauce looks and sounds also super delicious and kind of fruity and sweet!! Yumm!
xx

Thank you so much dear! I hope you can find it. It has an interesting hot taste.

WOW !!! It looks so tasty, some of your ingredients have never tasted before;) Thank you for sharing :)

Thank you very much @margaretwise!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95