Chilled Mango Avocado Soup

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday thanks to @lenasveganliving

Hello friends! I thought I would drop an entry before I run to work this evening. I'm keeping things light to keep up my energy level. Tonight the Beach Boys band is playing outside of our restaurant at the Just For Laughs Festival which is still going on. This could mean we are very very busy due to the crowds anticipated. Or we may not be busy if everyone chooses to stay outside to watch the show.

I was hoping to get today off but the chef chose me to work with him and the line leader. I was thinking he didn't like me but he chose me for what could be a crazy night. He chose Marc to open the kitchen which we know he likes the way Marc opens.

So for my light lunch I chose to make a chilled soup which I have been getting into more and more due to the hot weather. It feels refreshing and because it's savory I feel like I'm having something substantial.

soup7.jpg

I bought a small chopper/hand blender so I was able to chopped veggies than blend it . I chose to blend mango, avocado, cucumber, tomato, ginger, garlic, Thai basil, cilantro, salt, lime and coconut water.

soup.jpg

The coconut holes were punctured and the juice poured out. I added lime juice to that.

soup1.jpg

After blending the cucumber, tomato, cilantro, Thai basil, garlic and ginger I added some pink salt.

soup2.jpg

The mangoes and avocados were so beautiful sweet and juicy mangoes and the avocados were ripe and creamy.

soup3.jpg

After they were blended I chopped some radish and green onion as part of the garnish.

soup5.jpg

I chilled the soup in the fridge for a while adding ice cubes.

soup4.jpg

I added the garnish of radish and onion plus a little watercress.

soup6.jpg

And since I love my spicy food, I had to add some cayenne and black pepper. I also added a few drops of sesame oil.

soup8.jpg

It was refreshing and delicious sweet, tangy, savory and slightly spicy. I wanted to leave some for Marc but I couldn't. I ate it all!

Sort:  

Hello my friend how are you? There will be a lot of movement in your place of work, this cold soup that you present today I love it and I have seen the combination of vegetables with fruits and it is great, I published a pumpkin cream with mandarin

Thank you. I will check your blog tomorrow I just came home so late and want to say hello.

This looks insanely delicious - and good for you too. Avocados are the best for giving that creamy taste to raw soups. So impressed!

naturalmedicinesmallavatar.jpg

I really love that comment. Thanks a million!

Delicious! I don't blame you for eating it all. ;) You need your energy in case it is a busy night, haha!

I was really thankful for the light lunch. It was busy but not insane haha.

That's good! :)

I absolutely love this recipe Carolyn. It tastes and sounds supper tasty and obviously refreshing. The taste for sweet and spicy is something that we have in common, lol. It looks lovely too, especially with that watercress garnish 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

PS: I cant believe Beach Boys are playing there and I am happy that the chef likes you.............. maybe he is recognizing your talent :)
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much Lena. I could eat this all the time if Mangos were less expensive.
Believe me the only talent required for my job is to repeat the mediocre dishes over and over the same with speed and accuracy. It's a joke that these guys are called chefs. They are nothing more than kitchen managers haha.
The Beach Boys didn't cause that many people to flood in but it was busy for a Monday.

No problem, we value your talent here a great deal!!!

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
1.png

Oh my god , what an incredibly creative recipe dear @carolynstahl:-)) I will try it out tomorrow as I have some avocado and mango in the fridge but I don't like the taste of coconut water in savoury dishes, so I will leave that item out. You should open a restaurant yourself because you are a very talented chef!

That is a wonderful compliment. Thank you very much.
Really the coconut water taste was not really present in the end. It is not necessary for sure.

Thank you dear @carolynstahl for always posting such awesome and creative recipes and for beeing so authentic:-))

Mango and avocado soup? So interesting! I love both of those fruits, I should try this out. :)

Yeah I love sweet and savory. Lately I really dig turning fruits to savory dishes. Summer does this to me.
Thanks so much @mrchef111

You are very welcome! :) I love sweet and savory too! :)

I love soups, dese looks very delicious!

Thank you so much. Soup is my favorite!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-23T18:37:00
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 404.98/800.00
Total Photos: 55
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.69 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44