Fruits and Veggies Monday Week 61 | Shiitake Stuffed Boniato Cakes with Savory Chive Sauce

DSC_0027 (2).jpg

Good morning my fellow foodies! Life has been busy in the Bird house lately. With family coming and going creating new meals for the family has been fun. As I said before, they are very flexible, which makes cooking even more fun!


I shared a post a few weeks ago making Boniato Veggie Fritters. . The Boniato is a tuber which I mentioned was native to the Caribbean Islands however; I have found it is also grown in Florida.


boniato.jpg

I want to thank @lenasveganliving for this wonderful weekly gathering. The Fruits and Veggies Monday Contest brings so many special recipes each week. I love it! It reminds me of the times I would receive new recipes (on those cute index cards mind you), from my mother-in-law. She was always coming up with some great creation which she was happy to share with me. I still have those cards and cherish them.


I try to purchase and try all locally grown vegetable or fruit, especially those I’m not familiar with. The fritters were great but I thought I would try something savory! I paired Boniato with Beets this time.


todaysjourney.jpg

Shiitake Stuffed Boniato Cakes


I Used

  • Boniato (qty 1)
  • Red Beet (qty 1)
  • Almond Milk (As needed)
  • Salt and Pepper (to taste)
  • Vegan butter (to taste)
  • Vegan Sour Cream (to taste)
  • Fresh Garlic Cloves (qty 3)
  • Cayenne (to taste)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (2 tablespoons)
  • Fresh Spinach (1 cup)
  • Red Onion (qty 1)
  • Shiitake Mushrooms (1 cup)

Chive Sauce

  • Raw Cashews (3/4 cup)
  • Filtered Water (2/3 cup)
  • Fresh Chives (1/4 cup)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar (1 tablespoon)
  • Sea Salt (to taste)

After peeling and chopping the beets and boniato I boiled them in fresh water until they were tender and easy to break. Drain and mash them with your favorite mashing instrument…no lumps please! Whip in butter, sour cream, salt and pepper and taste! Add more of one or the other until the flavor is perfect to your taste!


Now sauté the Onions in Olive oil until translucent, add in chopped garlic and sauté a few minutes. Add the shiitake mushrooms and continue cooking for 8 minutes. I add the spinach and seasoning last cooking just until the spinach wilts. I want to keep as many nutrients as possible!


DSC_0007 (2).jpg


Now get ready for messy!


Grab a handful of the potato mixture, top with a spoonful of veggies and cap with more potatoes. Patty cake up and lay aside! On to next patty cake…until all potato/beet mixture is in patty form. Place the cakes in your oven at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Now, shower up and let’s make chive sauce.


DSC_0013 (2).jpg


This sauce great and can be used with so many dishes as a light tasty garnish. Just place all of the chive ingredients in your favorite blender and blend until smooth. Taste, add any additional salt/pepper as needed and refrigerate until the cakes are done!


DSC_0018 (2).jpg

When the cakes are done, drizzle the wonderful Chive sauce over the top, garnish with Shiitakes and serve!

Voila, Savory Boniato Cakes


DSC_0023 (2).jpg


You can freeze them and pull them out later for a quick meal. A perfect cold winter comfort meal!
I hope you’ll try them. They’re quick to make, amazing served with a slice of hot fresh bread!


Thanks for stopping by my Fruits and Veggie friends!
And as always, blessings to you all

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 297 (10/30/18)

Thanks so much @thesteemengine! Truly appreciate being featured :)

another fabulous recipe the way you present them is always amazing

You are too sweet @tatoodjay. I was concerned the purple color from the beets would scare everyone away. lol Glad it was okay! Thanks for stopping in!

Well that doesnt scare me away I love Beets there one of the things I have in my lunchtime salad every work day LOL

There you go with those yummy-looking tubers again! Now I really want to find some. Haha, well perhaps it is a little cold now but I'm determined to hunt some down eventually. Until then perhaps I can make do with some local spuds. Another delicious entry my friend! Keep on making those wonderful family memories!

Well I did include beets! These were really savory...paired with a nice salad it made a wonderful dinner! I'm sure you could make these with your favorite local spud! Thank you Katie, you are such an inspiring friend :)

looks so yummy @birdsinparadise .. I love the picture and never seen any boniato before.. is it something similar to taro root? the colour is perfect and can I have a bite, please?

It is similar to sweet potatoes but not as sweet. I wanted to use the red beet because I love the beet color (as well as the nutrition!) Thank you for such sweet words :)

That's a very impressive ingredient list, the cake looks so yummy too :)

Thanks @jackdub, glad you enjoyed them. So great to see you stop by!

Uuuh seems super tasty, it' s hard to find shitake here but they have an amazing taste. I like your post a lot, good pictures and tasty, healthy choiche of food.

Thank you @noemilunastorta, they were fun to make and enjoyed by the family. I appreciate your kind words. Thanks for stopping by!

I have never seen or heard of boniato before, thanks for widening my horizon today. ✨

You are so sweet, I stumbled upon them at the market, didn't know what they were and just had to try them! It has been fun and the results were positive. I'm glad you stopped in today :)

That's how I also often explore new fruits or veggies - the vendors are always helpful in explaining how to prepare it and then starts the adventure in the kitchen. 😁

Happy to hear that your curiosity led to something so delicious! 💚

Ha… upon first glance I totally thought I was going to read a lava cake recipe but instead got this hearty Tuber beet recipe. That’s frikken great! Your creations are always so amazing @birdsinparadise- keep all of that good stuff comin because we are eating it up 😋.

lol, you are so funny! You always make me smile, thank you @puravidaville! I hope you noticed how messy these patty cakes were to make....btw the kitchen was a mess...I'm sure you would be happy to know that. Next time I'll include a picture just for you!

Yes… definitely include a “hazard” picture next time. Haha, people forget you know that there is a lot of cleanup that occurs with all of these fantastic Steemit dishes. A friendly reminder is always fun to see 😉. I’ll have my eyes peeled for that pic now. :)

I am amazed with all the creations you come up with made of pulp. I have to buy juicer just for that, lol. I love both your boniato recipe, although I never heard of this vegetable before. On the other hand, I know Shiitake very well with all the rest of the ingredients and it all sounds delicious. Well done my Dear, you got me drooling again, lol 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Gorgeous food as always @birdsinparadise, your creativity for wholesome healthy food is astounding! I've never tasted Boniato but this looks delicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36