Fruits and Veggies Monday | Thanksgiving Squash-kin Cake!

DSC_0252 (2).jpg

Happy Monday my sweet Fruit and Veggie Elves!



Hope you’re all prepared for another exciting week of amazingly delicious food thanks to our fearless leader @lenasveganliving! For well over two years now Lena has hosted Fruits and Veggies Monday, a wonderful weekly gathering of Steemians sharing fresh fruits and veggies from all around the world. Thanksgiving is just around the corner so I’m pretty excited to see the healthy recipes this week, perfect timing for the holiday.


So you're probably wondering what’s cooking in the Bird’s kitchen this week, right?


Butternut Squash!


It’s such a versatile vegetable. Known as a winter squash it can be baked, broiled, sautéed and stir-fried! Included in soups and salads; butternut squash is one veggie I love to have around during the fall and winter months! Loaded with fiber, potassium and Vitamin A it’s a great addition to your meal plan.
DSC_0081 (2).jpg

Did you know?


Butternut squash can be used in place of pumpkin? Yes, it can! This type of squash has a very mild flavor and its texture is quite like pumpkin. Paired with cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice you’ll never know the difference. I’ll show you, it’s so simple. After slicing the squash, I removed the seeds and placed it on a parchment lined baking sheet! Add a tablespoon or two of water around the squash, cover with parchment and seal with foil. Into the oven for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees; you’ll know it’s done when a knife slides through it like butter.
DSC_0088 (2).jpg

Ready to make Squash-kin cake?


You'll need...

  • Almond Flour (2 cups)
  • Arrowroot Powder (1/4 cup)
  • Baking Soda (1/2 tsp)
  • Cinnamon (1 ½ tsp)
  • Ground Ginger (½ tsp)
  • Ground Cloves (1/4 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1/4 tsp)
  • Coconut Palm Sugar (1/4 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (3 tbsp.)
  • Coconut Oil (2 tbsp.)
  • Butternut Squash Pulp (1 ¼ cup)
  • Walnuts (2 tbsp.)

Cream Cheese-y Topping

  • Raw Cashews- soaked and drained (1/2 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Vanilla syrup (1 tsp)
  • Dairy free Sour Cream (2 tbsp.)

While the squash baked…


I gathered all of the dry ingredients together.
DSC_0094 (2).jpg

Baked and ready!


I’ll be using ½ of this squash for this recipe. Stay tuned, you know I love to bake for the holiday! We’ll be heading to Denver so preparations are in order for care packages to be mailed!
DSC_0097 (2).jpg

Maple Syrup, Coconut Oil and last but not least…


the butternut! After a healthy stir, into my favorite spring form pan and baked for 40 minutes at 350 degrees.
DSC_0100 (2).jpg

While I waited…


I blended the cream cheese until it was perfectly creamy and smooth. Of course tasting was necessary to achieve the perfect balance of slightly sweet creamy-licious-ness, lol
DSC_0239 (2).jpg

With a drizzle of cream and a sprinkle of walnuts, enjoy!


DSC_0259 (2).jpg

First slice, oh my! Perfect with your favorite cup of tea!


DSC_0266 (2).jpg


This will be perfect for our Thanksgiving dinner! Not only is it dairy and gluten free it’s grain free too! And don’t forget, your family won’t know they’re eating veggies for dessert! It’s a win-win dessert option. Thanks for stopping by and thanks to dear @lenasveganliving for another great week of FAVM!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png


Sort:  

In my mind... whatever taste like pumpkin is pumpkin 😂 I did bake some cakes with this butter squash too.. pound cake always my guys favourite. But..when I look at your cake ... Gosh I want that too, I need to find the subtitute of some ingredients that I couldn't afford and find in my neighborhood though.

I bet the taste is super delicious Mrs @birdsinparadise and if I ever tried this recipe for the community gathering, I think they will ask for the recipe too😂 we all live pumpkin here!

You're such a sweetheart, thank you @cicisaja :) I love hearing from you, you're such a blessing. The joy you bring to FAVM each week is infectious. I'm sure you make an amazing cake for your guys, they love your cooking, filled will love and smiles. Blessings my friend

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR STAR AWARD DEAR Lizelle, for your highly curated entry with exceptional quality content. Keep up the great job 😊
star.png

You're wonderful dear Lena, take care of that hand! Heal fast:) You'll want to be in top form for all of the holiday fun! Thank you for FAVM! You are always so thoughtful! xx

You are most welcome my Dear Mrs Bird and thank you so much. The stitches are out, so I hope I can return into the kitchen soon 😍

Hello Mrs. Bird, I am so happy to see you bringing us one of your delicious treats. I can smell it through the screen! And I wish I could share slice with you and cup of tea. That would be so lovely; I know I said that before, lol. Anyway, this is a fantastic and healthy recipe! Well of course, I wouldn't expect anything less from you! Well done my Dear 🍰☕😍
01.jpg

Oh you are too kind, thank you sweet friend :) I'm just practicing for the holidays, lol Mr. Bird had two pieces before I finished taking my shots!! How is your recuperation going? Did surgery go as planned? I've been think about you, hope you're on the mend! Blessings!

I cant blame Mr. Bird, I would have two pieces too if I was there, lol. Otherwise, I am doing well, thank you for asking! I just had my stitches taken out. So far so goon 😍

I would never have guessed this was base don Butternut squash it looks and sounds so good

Thank you @tattoodjay, I guess it was okay, my husband had a couple of pieces before I finished taking pictures, lol Texture was nice, a cross between pie and cake which was what I hoped to achieve. Spices really make the cake, lol Glad you enjoyed!

I scroll on here for one second and bam! I run into this decadent treat. How do you do it? Such a pro! Lord help me to not gain any more weight by just looking at this delicious heavenly piece o butt cake 😉

Butt cake...😂😂😂

Because that’s exactly where it’ll go. By pass my stomach and straight to my butt 🤦🏼‍♀️

lol.....shhhhhhh! no truth to that, with as much running as you do...it'll just roll right off! :)

omg....you are a hoot! You're back just a few days and you're already spreading your infectious joy all over the FAVM community :) Thank you, thank you, that means so much coming from kitchen magician like you! Grain free and vegan....yes mam you're welcome! xx Cheers

I can just imagine this cake must be sooo delicious my friend, it looks amazing too!

Posted using Partiko Android

This experiment turned out well @lizelle, thank you! I enjoyed the texture, the squash gave it more of a pie/cake texture. I thought the cream cheese topping would be a nice add and it worked!

This looks like a cake I would love, Pumpkin or squash and cream cheese topping would be delicious.

I like using the squash because fresh pumpkin can sometimes have a stringy texture. Adding a pumpkin pie spice mixture made it exactly what I wanted. Thanks @redheadpei :) glad you enjoyed!

Oh!! You know that I love butternut squash and make a cake with it, but, this surely is a Masterpiece! I have two on the counter right now and I am going to try one today for practice and hopefully, that will give me a reason to make another for Thanksgiving!

Thank you for the recipe! It looks divine!

!tip .20

Oh I would love to hear your recipe for a cake @dswigle :) The texture of this cake is kind of a cross between a cake and pie, we enjoyed it. My husband reeeeealy enjoyed it, in fact helped himself to a couple of pieces pretty quickly, lol Please let me know your thoughts/changes if you try it okay? Blessings!

You're stopping through Atlanta and dropping off one of these, right?? 😜 Between the multiple bags of pureed pumpkin I have in the freezer and a few more garden butternuts left on the counter, I think this is definitely on the plan to make soon. Oh I could just imagine it for a nice holiday brunch. You never cease to absolutely amaze me with your delicious baked goodies!

Aww, you're too kind, thank you @plantstoplanks :) I hope you'll try it and let me know what you think. We liked it, in fact my husband had two pieces before I was finished taking pictures, lol Kind of a cross between a pie and a cake, it would also work well made as a bar. I just thought I would start practicing now for the family gatherings, lol

I showed a few of my co-workers this cake today and they both agreed I need to make it and bring it in to share, haha!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, thank you @steemitbloggers! Truly honored by your supprot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83