Fruits And Veggies Monday | Daucus Carota Cake with Melt in Your Mouth Icing –Baby Shower Love| Vegan

IMG_0379.JPG

Good Monday my Steemian Fruit and Vegetable Lovers!

It has been quite a weekend for Mr. Bird and I! We are visiting our daughter in the Midwest to celebrate the upcoming birth of their first child. Such an exciting time! We made chocolates on Thursday and a fabulous Carrot Cake on Friday. I enjoy cooking with my daughters. Both are so creative in the kitchen and the thing I am happiest to know is that they both follow a very healthy diet. My youngest daughter (who is having the baby) is gluten, sugar and dairy intolerant. It was fun to plan the menu full of goodies she would enjoy!

Being part of the Fruits and Veggies community I wanted to share this delicious jewel as my entry for @lenasveganliving’s Fruits and Veggies Monday Contest! I am so thankful for this loving and supportive group of Steemians. Thank you @lenasveganliving, for hosting this contest! Week 34, wow!

Come along friends, as we bake a...

Luscious Carrot Cake with Creamy Cashew Icing

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups almond flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 5 chia eggs
  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • 3 cups grated fresh carrots
  • 1 cup organic raisins
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Chop the walnuts, Look at those delicious raisins!

IMG_2542.JPG

Combine flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg in a bowl and set aside.
Mix agave, chia eggs, coconut and maple syrup in larger bowl.

Add carrots, raisins, walnuts to wet ingredients. Combine wet ingredients with dry ingredients. At this point my daughter was wondering if this would really turn into a cake! I said, just trust me!

IMG_2549.JPG

Line 2 9” baking pans with parchment, oil sides of pans. Divide mix evenly between the two pans.

IMG_2551.JPG

Press Carrot Cake mixture into pans.

IMG_2553.JPG

Bake for 35 minutes or until knife inserted into center comes out clean. Remove from oven and cool. Make sure cake is thoroughly cooled before applying frosting!

Now let’s make the Icing!

Note: The night before you will want to soak 2 cups of cashews in filtered water.
Ingredients

  • 2 cups raw Cashews
  • 6 tablespoons Coconut Oil, melted
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • 3 teaspoons Organic Vanilla
  • 3 teaspoons Lemon Juice
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • optional 2 tablespoons water

Preparation
Combine all ingredients except water in high powered blender. Blend until smooth. You may want to add water if necessary for blending..

The results, a creamy frosting with an ever-so-slight tart touch, thanks to the lemon! Yum! Now, place the icing in the fridge for about 30 minutes. This will thicken the icing beautifully! The icing will thicken to a perfect icing consistency.

Now, let’s put this sweet creation together!

Generously Ice the top of one layer. This will serve as the base layer. I like to sprinkle more chopped walnuts and raisins on this layer….never hurts right?

Lay the top layer on and ice use the remaining icing. Sprinkle a few walnuts on top.

IMG_4196.JPG

And Voila!! We made chocolate baby decorations to place on the top of the cake!

IMG_4199.JPG

Refrigerate the cake, remove about 1 hour prior to serving.

IMG_2561.JPG

And at that point…it was time for a wee cat nap for the mother-to-be!

IMG_4177.JPG

And yes, made with Daucus Carota, the carrot! The guests didn't know it was carrots, the mother-to-be certainly did and loved it!

I hope you will try this recipe! Not only is it delicious, it is healthy for you…imagine your family eating carrots for dessert! Thank you for stopping by.

And as always, blessings to you all

IMG_0316.JPG

Sort:  

That looks so good! I would gladly partake in a slice (or two...) of that! It is kind of fun to see what you can come up with dietary restrictions--like a good challenge. Avoiding a few things definitely does not mean restrictive in flavor! Yum!

Thank you! Yes, needless to say over the years we have learned (sometimes the hard way) how to cook with her restrictions. Really though, I have found we all feel better eliminating most of the items she can't eat from our normal cooking. So it all works out! The cake was indeed tasty!

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

that looks really great! the final product looks so yummy! i love that you called it daucus carota ;) and shots of erin's belly and kitty babe xoxo glad you made it home safely and are back to steemin' lol!!

You like that name huh.. lol Yup, I'm Baaaaack ;) Wish I could have seen you! ox

Yayyyy just seeing this!!! Woohooooo!!! Xoxoxo

Yum! This looks perfect for the recipe section in the next WHN if you don't mind me including it! And congrats to your daughter, do they know if it is a boy/girl?

Yes, they are having a boy. As you can imagine, they're pretty excited. (As am I!)
Thank you for the sweet compliment, and of course you may include it, I would be honored!

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked/featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

I aw this yummy goodness cake yesterday and forgot to comment and vote. I see you were well rewarded by curie again!! Good for you!!!!

You are so sweet! Thank you @countrygirl. I know I couldn't believe it last night when I got curied...shock! I guess curie has a weakness for carrot cake lol. You would like this cake...just have to hide the carrots from John! My husband actually liked it.

hehe....he actually loves carrot cake....but I'm trying to keep the deserts out of the diet for a bit.....I'm losing weight bc of said "foods". :)

hehehe, I totally understand, that is why I left everything at my daughter's house! I too am losing weight staying away from these "goodies" But at least this cake truly is a healthier version if you are a cake lover hehe

I can have my vegetables and cake and eat it too :)

Thank you for your kind words. I hope you'll try the recipe! All the best

Omg look at those tiny little chocolates. They look so cute =) What a great cake to celebrate a new family member.
And that kitten... soo cute, just wanna snuggle

Your are a sweetie, thank you. We had a lot of fun making those little chocolates. They were so tiny! A couple of the smallest didn't make it. lol The kitty Nova is a sweet little thing, a bit angry because her mom was busy baking all day, as you see needed snuggle time!

I can imagine there was a lot of work trying to take those tiny ones out of the mold :D.
Aaw of course she wants some love. Such a cutie. Makes me miss having a little hairy snuggle buddy. =)

Woww absolutely love your creation!! Healthy but soooo delicious :D

You are too kind. I think it was eaten by all. It's fun to make healthy desserts which everyone will be able to enjoy and not feel guilty! lol

I'm sure they all really enjoyed it! I love making healthy desserts as well, they taste so good and are even good for your health so it's a win win :)

Wow what a great cake! And so healthy with carrots and nuts, totally in love with this one, and especially the frosting! I love the step by step pictures, too! And congrats on soon to become a grandmother, and congrats to your doughter for having her first baby, such a special event and life changing time!!!! Sending you all lots of love! (When is the due date for the baby?)

You are so sweet, thank you for your kind words. Needless to say, I'm a bit excited for this little guy (they know it is a boy ;) ) and of course they are over the moon about it. Baby is due first week of June, so I'll be going back to stay with her for a bit when the baby is born. Yes, definitely life changing for us all. Thank you my friend!

Oh so the due date is the same week as my little boy was born! (or he was born one weeklater, on 13th june), such a beautiful time to give birth. Start of the summer and everything is blooming!

Yumm, I haven't had carrot cake since going vegan. This looks amazing!

Well, there you go, you will have to try this! I really believe you'll find it very satisfying! I think it's better than the non vegan variety- no gluten as well. AND VEGAN!
Thank you for you kind words, can't wait to hear what you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40