What day is it? It is Fruits and Veggies Monday, my friends. - Croatian Style Italian Bruschettas.🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

2017-10-02-15-39-45.jpg

Croatian Style Italian Bruschetta's

I went to an Italian restaurant last night for dinner with some of my teammates. Like always Italians like to order appetizers before their main courses. Among a lot of different types of appetizers their usual choice is french fries or my personal favorite bruschetta. I love to order to some bruschettas before my main courses.

Bruschetta is a simple appetizer. You have warmed up bread in the oven covered with a mix of tomatoes, onion, olive oil, and seasoned with some pepper, salt, and oregano. I can tell you one thing. This is a simple dish but for me it is delicious. Especially if made with fresh ingredients. But, the health freak I am I always thought what I can use to replace the bread to make even more delicious and more healthy ingredient to fit my 95% vegan and 5% vegetarian lifestyle diet. So this is what I a came up with to replace the bread and take this dish to a whole another level. At least for me. You can be the judge. :)

Ingredients you need

So today, I will share with you my delicious recipe for homemade bruschettas Croatian style. lol It is really simple and filling recipe which anyone can truly make with ease. There is really not much work. So these are the ingredients you need:

  • Fresh tomatoes

  • Onions

  • Olive oil

  • Potatoes

  • Red Peppers

  • Plus the spices you like to use. I use paprika, oregano, pepper, and Himalayan salt.

This is not in any way fixed recipe. Use your imagination while cooking. Have fun with it. Cooking is fun and it can be very simple. Just like this recipe. One of my personal favorites to add to this recipe are Avocados.

2017-10-02-15-38-31.jpg

The process

  • 1- Preheat the oven to about 160-180c. Start by simply washing and cutting the potatoes in about half an inch slices. You don't want them to be too thin or too thick. I like to eat my potatoes with skin so I wash the skin very thoroughly as the skin contains a lot of nutrient value. If you decide to eat the potatoes with skin try to get them from local markets or from the organic stores.
  • 2 - Place the sliced slices in the oven while using Himalayan salt and paprika as a spice on top of them. It will usually take 20 min for them to be finished depending on what kind of potatoes you used.
  • 3 - While potatoes baking in the oven. Slice up the tomatoes, onion, red pepper into tiny little cubes. Spice them up with some more Himalayan salt, pepper, and add oregano and olive oil to top it all off. Mix thoroughly so the tomatoes soak up all the amazingly flavored juice inside the bowl.
  • 4 - Wait for the potatoes to be done. Listen to some music. Relax. You have completed 95% of work already. Get some Bob Marley songs going. Enjoy cooking. :)

2017-10-02-15-46-40.jpg

I know you are probably worrying about so much onion inside the bowl but trust me you will not even feel it as somehow the onion strong taste will be balances by tomatoes and olive oil. :)

Finishing it up.

After the potatoes are done. All that is the left for you to do is to place them on a plate and cover them up with the delicious mixture you made earlier and wholaa you have a delicious appetizer in front of you. Can it be simpler than this guys? Cooking can be simple, fun, delicious and healthy at the same time. Just like this appetizer Bruschettas.

2017-10-02-15-39-06.jpg

If you are vegetarian you can also put cottage cheese on top of the potatoes before covering them with this amazingly flavored mixture of veggies. My friend Lena would not approve at all. lol Just in case you are looking to become vegan check out her amazing blog full of delicious vegan recipes.

Anway's guys, I truly you hope this post will encourage you to start cooking on your own. Cooking is fun, and it can be very simple and delicious. Plus no time consuming at all. With my busy basketball schedule, I am all about quick and delicious meals such as these Croatian Style Italian bruschettas. Let me know if you try this recipe. And no matter what have some fun with it. Make this recipe your own. Add ingredients and spices you like. Let you IMAGINATION run wild. Because what is fun in cooking if not experimenting with recipes. :)

Thank you for reading, have an amazing day, much love,

dbjegovic 💓

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

ALL THE IMAGES POSTED, AND WORDS WRITTEN IN THIS POST BELONG TO ME. 100% ORIGINAL

COPYRIGHT OF DURO BJEGOVIC

Sort:  

well done @awakentolife. upvoted

Thank you, my friend. Have an amazing day. :)

I definitely have to try this...............it looks super delicious. I love bruschetta and I love all the ingredients. Although there is not that much difference between potato and bread as far as health goes unless you avoiding gluten. The healthier option would be sweet potato or squash. Nevertheless, I love it and I am going to make it. UPV & RSD 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Oh, Lena, Dr. Gerson would disagree with you! The Gerson therapy (for cancer and other diseases) has you eating potatoes twice a day :)

Don't get e wrong, Marienne, I love potatoes, but apparently is the juice from raw potatoes that is the most beneficial. Also sweet potatoes are healthier then regular. I eat them both. I just had oven roasted potato wedges for lunch lol.

:) I eat them both as well - and love them both...

Now that is my kind of snack! Upvoted followed and resteemed.
followed, upvoted and resteemed.

A real winner here! I am all for making it up as it comes along. I really like the simplicity of the ingredients and ease of making this. I intend to give it a try, but, dare I say it? I may put the cottage cheese on, just for the protein. But, shhhh! You didn't hear that here.

Thank you again for the time you take! Good luck and I hope the basketball is going well this season! tip!

I would add the cheese too... :)

I don't think it can get much simpler than this but if you are worried about protein add some beans to it if you are looking it to be 100% vegan. They are full of protein. Cheese, of course, is the other option also as cottage cheese is full of protein. I just hope Lena does not read these comments. lol :)

The basketball is going well. We start our season in about 13 days so I am excited about it. Kind of tired from practices. Need these games to start. hehe :)

Thank you for amazing comment @dswigle and the tip. Have an amazing day. :)

I'll have to share this recipe with my wife. It looks like something she would especially enjoy. Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome, brother. This is one of my favorites. Quick and delicious plus you can add anything you want and like to the recipe. I hope your wife likes it. :)

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

I love bruschetta - I tend to go way overboard with garlic, and also throw in some balsamic.
Will have to take a look with some of the other ingredients you mention!

Cheers

I knew I forgot something today. I do also tend to go overboard with garlic. But I don't mind it as garlic is amazing for our bodies. Balsamic is great addition also.

Will have to try those also. It is all about having some fun recipes and making them your own. :)

Cheers. :)

Thats a great idea. I am also always trying to find suitable replacements for bread, one thing ive found is cauliflower. Take the cauliflower and grate it up, soak it in water and then dry it, you can form it into whatever shape you desire, then bake it in the oven and voila.

heres the youtube link which will give you a better explanation of what I'm talking about:

The only thing I have to find as I am trying to eat vegan as much as possible it how to replace the egg they are using in this video. Something which will connect the cauliflower together with the way the egg does before baking it. I do love cauliflower and the taste of it and you just gave me an idea to experiment a little more in the future. Thank you, brother. :)

I hope you are having an amazing day. :)

You can replace egg with chia seeds Durko and cheese with avocado. Then you get really healthy meal. 1tsp of chia mixed in 3tsp of water. Let it sit for 10min and stir well. Add it to whatever you are cooking.

Love it. Thank you amazing advice, my friend. I was looking a long time for something to replace an egg with. Will try this for sure. Thank you again. :)

XOXOXOXO

My pleasure Durko, you know I am always happy to help.............let me know how it turned out 🌸💖🌸

right back at ya

I love to use cauliflower!

What's the point of replacing bread with cauliflower, but mixing it with cheese and eggs full of cholesterol???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48