Fruits and Veggies amazing Monday - Leftover's dinner. Get creative people and don't waste food. :) 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

cooking-3093321_1920.jpg

Hi, there my amazing Steemians. I hope all of you are having an amazing day. Which I am sure you are since it is Monday, and it another edition of Fruits and Veggies Monday challenge created by my amazing friends @lenasveganliving. Is there really a better way to promote healthy living? Every Monday new delicious recipes, which encourage you to eat more healthy and take care of your body. So let's have some fun, and see what new, amazing recipes we will see this week. Good luck to all the participants. :)

So if you remember last week I shared my lentils risotto recipe. Which for me, personally, was delicious. But taste in food varies. I hope some of you tried to make and found it to be tasty. Now, what you don't know is this? I had a leftover rice, and lentils which I did not use to mix with sauce. I cooked way too much rice and lentils. But, as my parents have taught me all my life is not to waste food. Not only that they paid for that food with their hard work, but there are so many people around the world who had nothing to eat today. Be considerate, my friends. DON'T WASTE FOOD.

As a kid, I might off not understood my parents with no wasting food policy, but today I do. As I work for my food and take care of myself wasting food is something I try to limit to the best of my ability. So the help you out I am going to build upon the recipe from last week. Well, really not build up, but rather show you how leftovers can be turned into a new delicious recipe. So today, I am going to share simple lentils, rice, and salad recipe. I had it for dinner the same day, and I loved it. Are you ready? 3..2..1.. Let's go. :)

2018-01-22-12-23-46.jpg

Ingredients

  • lentils
  • rice
  • 1 piece of garlic
  • salad (not sure the name of this type of salad.)
  • spinach
  • tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • 1 leek
  • parsley

Spices: paprika, olive oil, pepper, himalayan salt, acceto balsamico.

Play around with the recipe, add your own spices and ingredients, and don't forget to turn on some amazing music while doing preparing this delicious salad. :)

My choice of music today while making this delicious meal was an Italian song. I actually can sing along with the song. It is very popular here in Italy right now.. :) Wait does this mean I am little Italian? What is going on here? lol

Preparation

So what do you need to do? Simply cut all the veggies into small pieces, so when mixed they will blend together well. But, pay close attention to the garlic and the way you cut it. As you know it has a very strong aroma. So cut it into smallest pieces you can cut it. I mean breadcrumbs type of pieces. As it will blend with other ingredients and you will not really feel it much in your salad. Garlic is incredibly healthy for your body. Especially, if eaten raw like this. So it should look something like this?

2018-01-22-12-26-02.jpg

After it all nicely cut it is ready to mix with lentils and rice. So just go ahead and dump it all in. Add the spices, and olive oil. Add little more olive oil because the rice tends to absorb it so your salad does not turn out dry a bit. So what to do next? Mix and blend it all together. I mean mix well for about 2-3 minutes so everything absorbs the amazing taste of olive oil.

What do you think about my current favorite Italian song? Pretty good right? :)

Basically, you are done. Let the salad "cool" down a bit for 5-10 minutes so everything absorbs all the amazing aromas around it. After 10 minutes serve it for yourself or your family on a plate and little balsamic on top. There you go. You have a complete meal really. Full of carbs, protein, vitamins, minerals, anti-oxidants... A COMPLETE MEAL. I don't think it can get simpler than this? Delicious, healthy, and simple to make. I'll take that meal any day, and twice on Sunday. Well, not on Sunday, since it's Monday.I will take that meal any day, and twice on Monday.lol

2018-01-22-12-22-29.jpg

And, trust me it tasted even better than it looks. :)

So there you go, my friend. A delicious and simple meal filled with ingredients your body needs in order to keep you alive and well. "Take care of your body, and your body will take care of you when you need it the most."Eating healthy can be and it truly is simple. We tend to overcook things today and in that way destroying the nutritional value of our foods. This year I am taking my adventure to the world veganism to another level. I have decided to eat more raw food. The way God created it for us. So far I feel amazing. My energy is through the roof. Maybe little too much. lol

And, lets all not forget to STOP WASTING FOOD. Think about it next time you waste food. There are some families around the world which would be more than happy to make a meal of what we are wasting every day. In a perfect world, we could feed all the hungry with what we just waste every day. But, unfortunately, it is not a perfect world, but we can still control our wasteful nature personally. But this is a long subject for some other time. :)

I hope you enjoyed my leftover food salad recipe. And, that it will encourage you to not waste your leftover food, but rather get creative and make a delicious meal out of them. :)

Thank you for reading, have an amazing day, much love,

dbjegovic ❤️❤️

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

Sort:  

Looks like a fabulous, wholesome meal! And I am all for reducing waste in the food supply! The world throws out way too much food. I do have to buy ahead, but we always find a use for everything. It is very rare that I throw anything away. And whatever scraps we have we compost to make the garden healthy, too! :)

As long as we try to limit the waste to the best of our ability it is all good. I have a very busy schedule with basketball so I would stock up as well on food. But, recently I decided I am going to the grocery store every day or the other day a buy what I will eat today and repeat tomorrow again.

First of all I eat fresh, and the second I don't waste anything anymore. Only thing I stock up on is on the things which can last such as: legumes, rice, quinoa, amaranth, different types of seeds.... The rest I buy everyday almost now. :)

My mom in Croatia does the same with her garden as well. :)

Thank you for such a great comment. Have an amazing day. :)

I cannot agree more about wasting food plus, you can't go wrong with rice and lentils Durko, they are so many ways how to make delicious meal out of them and you just showed us one of yours.

Well done my Friend, easy breezy and super healthy. No one can say that vegan food is too difficult to make or tasteless, or whatever blah, blah blah, lol.

Thank you so much for joining us again and showing us few vegan cooking tricks 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

"Easy breezy, and super healthy"

Food can be easy to prepare, delicious, and healthy at the same time. This is just one example of how easy it can be. I didn't even realize with my busy schedule how much my diet was not good. When I started taking time to prepare my food every day I start feeling way better. Eating out in restaurants is fine occasionally, but you never truly know what is in your food, or is it even fresh.

Thank you for such an amazing comment. I am happy to participate in your weekly challenge. XOXOXOXOXO

Everything looks sooo fresh and yummy thanks for sharing

Well, it is because it is fresh. One of my new year's resolutions was to stop stocking on food and buy fresh almost every day. It helped me stop wasting food as well. What I buy, I cook the same day. :)

Thank you for the comment. Have an amazing day. :)

I agree that we should waste less food and I also love making new things from leftover ingredients I have in the house.

This is such a delicious and wholesome salad 🌱

I use garlic in almost all my meals, it's so great!

Garlic is an amazing thing to add to salads and dishes in general. One of the best anti-oxidants nature has provided for us. Plus for me, it tastes great if you know how to use it. :)

Making delicious food out of leftovers is amazing and let's you get creative. :)

Thank you for a great comment. Have an amazing day. :)

Thank you for the recipe and the music! I'm going to ask my two italian friends-sisters if they already know this. They will be surprised by me!

Oh I am sure they will know this song. It is one of the most popular songs here in Italy now. They probably have it on their playlist. :)

Yep just invite them for leftovers dinner and turn on this song. I am sure they will sing along. :P

Congratulations @awakentolife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

He can cook, play basketball and he's got the looks! What can you not do!? :)

hehe the only thing we all can't do is what we decide we can't do. All the rest is possible. :)

i had an argument like that with my sister the other day. it was a bit different than this us she made more than she could it, way more for at least 4 people and said the same thing. people are hungry all over the world and you want to throw it out?

i forced her to eat it for the next 2 days :P am i cruel or a hero :p

Well, as long as you did not tie her up to the chair and spoon fed her I believe it is a valuable lesson for her. lol Next time she will think twice before cooking too much. lol

I don't think it is cruel as it is an important message to learn. :)

haha no i used only democratic ways :p next time my image will pop to her head :P

That looks delicious! Yup we all should stop wasting food.

Thank you. We should stop wasting it no doubt. This is one simple and delicious meal. :)

Amazing food, photography and healthy recipe. Wow, I need to eat more fruits and vegetables. My daily intake is almost zero.... :( Got to do something about it before it's too late.

You should my friend. Your body will thank you for it. Eat more of alive food than processed and literally dead food. You will notice the difference in your energy levels very soon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54