Exotic fruit you need to taste for Fruits and Veggies Monday! - Santol 🍊

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

That fruit is simply amazing! I've never seen it before until I went for my backpacking travel to South East Asia. Even on the internet!

I was told by the local people I met on the market, that if I'm interested in fruits (I think that madness in my eyes that always occures when I'm sorrounded by the fruits I don't know is clear to everyone) I need to taste that one ! It didn't look very promising honestly speaking compared to the other colorful fruits, but certainly I gave it a go!

So how does it taste like?

To begin with, it has a double (both edible) layers. Santol is a size and shape of a grapefruit or a large orange. Firs layer (the one just under the peel) is similar to an apple in consistency: it's brittle and tender. In taste it also reminds me of an apple- the sour one.

Ok, let's get to the next layer. There are large seeds sorrounded by really soft, gelatinous flesh. It is really sweet, the taste completly diffrent than the upper layer! Local people eat that fruit with diffrent hundreds and thousands. Salt/ pepper/ grated peanuts, but I prefer the natural taste of it 😃

Santol is also healthy, one of its interesting properties is soothing diffrent allergies! Several parts of the plant also have anti-inflammatory effects. Chemical extracts from santol have shown anti-cancer properties!

If you haven't already tasted it you need to put in on you fruit bucket list now !

This is my first entry for @lenasveganliving Fruits and Veggies Monday. Check it out! Many interesting fruits, photos and healthy recipes are there ! :)

Sort:  

in Israel, I did not see such a fruit. usually citrus fruits cause many people allergies, but this fruit is not? amazing !!!!

thank you for that nice comment :) unfortunately i have no idea if santol is a citrus or not ...

I haven't seen this before neither! Very interesting! Thank you for telling us about!

Thank you for the nice feedback! 😊

You are welcome! Really nice post!

I came across a photo of this fruit long time ago and I think I have it pinned on my Pinterest board. Although I had no idea how it tastes, so thank you for the detail description of this exotic flavor. Hopefully someday I will taste it for real, but in the mean time I can at least imagine. Thank you so much for this fabulous entry and good luck 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thanks you for the nice comment! 😊 you need to try it one day!

Yup, these fruits are native to South East Asian countries. In Indonesia they are called kecapi

Growing up we had a couple of kecapi/santol trees in our backyard. Pretty tall and big tree, you have to climb up to harvest or have this super loooong stick which it's end has an area to pick and twist the fruit so they would fall off 😂 what a memory.

It's been years since I ate one, thank you for bringing up memories!

Kecapiiii, what a nice name :) thanks for that comment ! 🍊🍊🍊

Vegetables fruits
we're happy to eat.
We are healthy
I have a lot of strength.
Vitamins in them
important for everyone,
for a small person
and for an adult.

My sincere congratulations on the selection of materials and very interesting descriptions 🙂

where did you find this fruit? It sounds like something I would love to try!!

I've tried it in Thailand but it grows around South East Asia. It's rather impossible to import that one 😕

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41