Exotic fruit you need to taste for Fruits and Veggies Monday! - Jackfruit 🍈

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

Today's fruit for my entry to @lenasvenganliving Fruits and Veggies Monday is so interesting! I bet you've heard of it before, but anyway I could not omit that. It is the largest fruit that grows on the trees and can be really enormous!

Jackfruit

Can weight up to 30 kilograms ! From the outside it looks similar to Durian, its peel is also covered with small spikes.

Thanks to its high nutritional values there are some projects that plan to use Jackfruit as a way of decreasing world hunger and malnutrition in Third World countries ! 100 grams of Jackfruit provides us with 92 callories! That means it is one of the most calorific fruit in the world.

Inside this giant there is a light, tacky substance that sorrounds small 6-centimeter, edible yellow pieces. These are the ones you crave! Very sweet and juicy. Me and my friends in unison claimed it tastes exactly like white Haribo gummy bears! It smells like a banana or a pineapple.

What is interesting about Jackfruit - you can also cook it! It is said to taste like pork when cooked... But I can't realate to that, I haven't tried it cooked.

Imortant thing! Don't make a mistake I made... Don't buy the whole Jackfruit! That tacky substance is so tacky that it pasted all over the knife I used for cutting it. I didn't manage to clean the knife untile I came back to Poland and used really strong detergent. You can easily buy only those edible, ready-to-eat parts.

Have you ever tasted Jackfruit? Maybe you treid it cooked and can confirm if it really tastes like pork ? Let me know in the comments !

Sort:  

I have not tasted fresh yet, but I've heard it's delicious! I have gotten the young jackfruit in a can to make a vegan carnitas. I had a few people fooled into thinking it was meat! It was really good, so I would definitely recommend you try it that way, too!

Thanks! I will for sure, next time I'm in Asia or around I will seek for it and try!

Szook, nie wiedzialem, że tak duże moge byc :)
Pozdrawiam

You are so right about the sticky substance, I used oil to clean my knife, lol. Definitely better to buy already cleaned. However, this is a very insightful entry, I had no idea about the world hunger solution. That is really a wonderful news. Thank you so much Anna 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓

I had jackfruit in a restaurant. They made a vegan goulash of it together with mushrooms. The taste was good because the cook was good - all the spices and aromas and the sauce.... ! But the texture of the jackfruit was not so much my favorite. Maybe I have to give it a second try!

I did not see him in Israel

Wonderful article, @anna.urbanska. I often use canned young jackfruit for savory dishes. I haven't yet tried using fresh jackfruit. I must admit that I've been a bit intimidated about breaking down the whole fresh fruit. Maybe I'll try the fresh if I can find it in packages. I would love to develop a dessert around the Jackfruit. Thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45