Homemade Pumpkin Puree

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

Hello foodies!

Today, I got a lot of local pumpkins from a farmer for free. I decided to make some pumpkin puree for the coming fall season.

I took a shoot of the end product which was so vibrant in color. Perfect for today's color challenge asking for orange. :)

IMG_20170829_192905.jpg

I simply make pumpkin puree ahead and freeze it in mason jars. When I like to use it for baking or other stuff, I defrost it and use it as store bought pumpkin puree (in my country I have to go to a supermarket with American food which is really expensive; where I live, pumpkin puree is not that popular). But I think it is not only cheaper but also tastier. Moreover, you know that you made it yourself. So, your next pumpkin pie will even taste better. ;)

Thank you so much @lenasveganliving for creating the awesome #fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge! I hope this post of mine is a good entry for the beginning. :)

I hope you enjoyed this post!

If so, please don't forget to resteem, upvote and follow me! 😊

Sort:  

Excellent Job!

This post was very informative thank you for sharing
you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

Thank you so much @mannyfig1956! :)

Now I'm a foodie too but there's no way I'm going to actually cook something lol

I bet those pies are delicious

If you don't like to cook something with it: it is also great to use it for smoothies. ;)

Yes, they are delicious! :D

Thanks for commenting @cristiungureanu! :)

Oh my, feels like fall is on its way. Summer passes way too fast. Those pumpkin purée look yum though :-)

Thank you @ikaputri3! You're totally right. It's unbelievable how time flies. The older I get the faster time goes. But I'm looking forward to fall and winter. I love baking even more when it gets colder outside. ;) This pumpkin puree is perfect for a delicious fall dessert. I'll post about it. :)

Cool, looking forward to reading your post then :-)

Love it! I've been wanting to try pumpkin puree for a while now.

You're welcome @natashahall! :) Though, there's no exact recipe covered in this post. :D But as you may already know you simply cut the pumpkin in cubes, put them in boiling water until they are very soft. Then you transfer the drained cubes in a food processor to get a fine puree and put it in mason jars for later usage. You can put it in the fridge or in the freezer. Both methods work fine.

I love homemade pumpkin puree. Thanks for reminding me to make a new batch!

Yeah, me too! :) It's so easy. But you have to bring yourself to make it for the first time. :D Afterwards, it becomes a routine. ;)

Thank you so much Alina, for this wonderful glowing entry. Such a beautiful colors and I am sure its super yummy too. Super healthy goes without saying. UPV & RSD 😋

Thank you @lenasveganliving! I'm glad you like this post. :) Thanks for the support!

Looks pretty and healthy (:

Absolutely! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61