Fruits & Veggies Monday: Shiso Syrup / 紫蘇シロップ

IMG_5470.png

(Japanese follows / 日本語は下に)

This is my entry to Fruits and Veggies Monday, created by @lenasveganliving and hosted by @plantstoplanks. Thanks to all for realizing this great Monday Vegan gathering on Steemit.

STEEMIT FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION

This time it's about Shiso (Perilla) and syrup made from it. Shiso is one of the beloved herbs in Japan especially in summer time. You may see green one comes along with Sushi or other dishes at a Japanese restaurant. People who tasted my Shiso at plant exchange events said it's like mixture of lemon, basil and mint.

As it's not easily available in Germany, I grow Shiso from seeds every year. I cannot miss Shiso in the summer time.

IMG_5345 1.png

Mostly I use Shiso to garnish dishes. In addition to it, I make Shiso syrup every summer. I made first bottle of the season last weekend. Shiso grew well and it was 38 degrees ... it was time to make it. I needed the refreshing taste.

I picked up leaves and cooked them in hot water. Then I strained it.

IMG_5445.png

IMG_5446.png

At this point the color was not the final clear bright ruby red yet. I mixed sugar in it and let it cool down. Then magic happens with vinegar. It changes the color! I like this moment.

IMG_5447.png

There are a lot of recipes online. I followed a recipe on a Japanese food companies website as it has variation to use apple vinegar instead of citric acid, which I don't have in my kitchen.

[かんたん!しそジュースの作り方]味わい方、保存のコツも紹介|カゴメ株式会社

I used 50g Shiso leaves, 350ml water, 85g sugar (for long preservation up to 6 months) and apple vinegar 30g.

I dilute the syrup with sparkling water. The shiso and vinegar flavor refreshes me a lot especially on a hot summer day like yesterday (38 degrees without AC!). My German partner says it's also Westerners' taste.

If you want to grow Shiso by yourself, I have some spare seeds that won't germinate next year (Shiso seeds are only for the next year). I sow enough already in my garden. I'm happy to share it with people in EU region with shipping cost supported in STEE/SBD. It may take a while until you harvest leaves but can be done in summer to autumn up to the climate of your place. More detail is in my previous post:

First seed sharing of the season (Do you want Shiso seeds?)


先週はあまり針仕事をせず、今日は@lenasveganlivingさんがはじめて、@plantstoplanksさんがホストしている月曜日のビーガンコミュニティーFruits and Veggies Mondayにお邪魔することにしました。

STEEMIT FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION

今回は週末に作った紫蘇シロップについて書きました。庭の紫蘇がわさわさしてきて300ml分くらいなら作れそうだったのと、週末が酷暑だったのとで・・・。リフレッシュする何かが必要でした。

レシピはカゴメのレシピを参考にしました。クエン酸を使うものが多いところリンゴ酢での作り方が紹介されていたので。紫蘇50g、水350ml、砂糖85g、りんご酢30gで作りました。長く保存したかったので砂糖は多めです。

[かんたん!しそジュースの作り方]味わい方、保存のコツも紹介|カゴメ株式会社

紫蘇シロップはお父ちゃんも気に入っていて、真剣にヨーロッパで生産して売れないかなどと考えているようです w 紫蘇農家になろうかな ;)

そんなこんなのビーガン月曜日。肉食な人たちが帰ってくるまではビーガンで過ごそうと思います。

Sort:  

I have to try this

Yes yes you should!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a beautiful herb! I love that purple color to the leaves. Sounds like a delicious flavor, as well. I can just imagine how refreshing that is to use in a cool beverage. I might have to try something similar with our mint and lemon balm. You got my brain working now... ;)

The color is so nice and every year I enjoy seeing it as well as drinking it. Happy to inspire you. I was inspired by you and made lemon + mint water for dinner :) Happy fruits and veggies Monday!

Hi @lenasveganliving! Thank you for creating this great contest :) It is a good chance for me to rethink and write about food periodically.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR AWARD!
maxresdefault.png

Thank you for the award! I'm proud on it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44