Healthy Nutty Bars

in #fruitsandveggies6 years ago (edited)

healthy nutty bars.jpg
Taking the idea of homemade granola bars, I decide to use this bowl of mixed nuts (peanut and almond), and dried fruits (cranberries, cherries, and raising) to the chopper.

healthy nutty bars 1.jpg
Since I have a small food processor, I have to do two small batches! I am a lazy eater in the morning, so granola bar fits the bill perfectly. In this mix, I added coconut flakes, vanilla extract, dried dates, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, maca powder, hemp powder, and a bit of almond milk to moisten them up.

Line up my baking pan with parchment paper, I pressed them down firmly and refrigerate it over night. It didn't take long to make this, which is something I always prefer.

healthy nutty bars 2.jpg
The next morning I cut them up into squares and store the pieces in a glass container! It was perfect with my morning cup of coffee. I also like the fact that it is ready and waiting for me in the refrigerator whenever I need a boost.

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Huge fan of this type of bar, too! They really are so easy and delicious. I always have something like this with me for a snack since I tend to be moving around all day and need lots of fuel to keep me going. They are always so great to be able to customize depending upon what you have on hand. Love it!

Thank you! You said those magic words "What you have on hand", and that was what happened to me. It is a perfect pick me up at any time :-)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-10T10:32:12
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1535.92/1600.00
Total Photos: 206
Total comments: 108
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

Looks delicious. I like this kind of bar. We went on a raw diet for awhile and made bars that looked similar. I really liked them. Maybe time to dig up that recipe or try yours @icybc

Thank you! Raw diet doesn't include meat, does it?

Just nothing processed and no meat. We didn't really follow it too close just did lots of recipes for a few weeks.

Who doesn't love nut bars? 😋 They work wonderfully as a snack, or as a breakfast in your case. Filled with great sources of energy and healthy fats, perfect! I've never even though about making nut bars myself, and now the only question I ask myself is "WHY?!", you proved us that they're really easy to prepare! Looks really yummy, I'd love to have one right now!

Thank you! I was surprise with their goodness too! All the natural sweetness come from the dried fruits.

I love dry fruit dear

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

I would like to test it must be so delicious and healthy.
Can't wait for more from you

It would be best if you make your own! It is very delicious and healthy for you...No chips, no cookies and no candies for sure..

Hello very nice recipe i like to do homemade nuts bars like this you are sure to know what is inside and they quickly get so expensive from the shop. It is a nice filling snack as well:)

Thank you! I added some super power powder to keep me going..

Hahaha that is good:)

Thank you! I added
Some super power powder
To keep me going..

                 - icybc


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Oh my goodness, Icy, these are fantastic..............crunchy, chewy and sweet, Sooooooo yummy and nutritious. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you Lena!

I love this! The ingredients are perfect- I think I add Maca to almost anything… haha. This will be bookmarked for my ‘todo’ list. Thanks @icybc

Thank you! I need a little boost so I also add Maca to my juice too :-)

Yep Maca in my smoothie and Maca in my overnight oats… Maca in everything. Ha

Such a great combo - I especially love the flavors of vanilla and maca in there. I just recently started to freeze my nut treats and it makes such a better texture, right? ☺️

Thank you! Yes, vanilla, maca and hemp powder have a great flavor. I will have to freeze some nut bars too :-)

Somehow things tend to taste way different if they have a changed form - like nut bars or balls, watermelon in slices, eaten with a spoon or as smoothie. This is something that still makes me wonder...☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65