Fruits And Veggies Challenge - Corn!

Part of the #fruitsandveggies challenge by @barbara-orenya

Well, I have been here before with my patio corn. While this year the corn managed to stay upright through all the rain and storms, it again produced these pretend ears of corn. According to Burpee's site the On Deck Sweet Corn is supposed to produce real ears of corn.

ever so tasty breakthrough bicolor variety is perfectly sized-4-5' tall-to spend the summer on your deck, patio, or terrace, adding vertical interest as well as producing two to three delicious 7-8" long ears per stalk

This is what I have


Full sized kernals, but no ear.


Corn hair, but no ear.


Maybe the pretend ears will finally grow into something this year. Next year, I might try real corn in the container garden.


redFish.pngDeanLogicForkSing-sm.pnggardenbadge-small.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

Ooh ! I have to confess I've never seen corn at this so early stage... ! ^_^
Thanks for your submission @deanlogic fruitsandveg.png

Well...we'll see if it actually turns into full fledged corn.

Awesome! What kind of climate do you have/need for that?

I'm in USDA Hardiness Zone 7b. As long as you can get your planter soil above above 55 degrees Fahrenheit prior to planting, you can grow it. The link in the post provides more planting details.

How about pollinating by hand? I've had a little luck planting container corn in pots, very close together (so they wind pollinate each other). The fewer plants, the harder it can be to pollinate. If you've got a few stalks together, try gently shaking them or even putting them very close to allow wind pollination. The best part of gardening is experimenting, so don't give up! 😎👍🏻 best luck and happy harvest!🙏🏼🌽

Corn is self pollinating.
Tassels are removed by large farms to prevent cross pollination.

I have 6 plants in there and they are touching each other. I think it is just the type of corn. It is some sort of hybrid to grow in small areas. I'm not sure how it is different than real corn. It was just something fun to buy last year and I had some seeds left over.

I'm aware corn self pollinates, I was suggesting that one tassel can pollinate others. I've used broken, blown down stalks to pollinate viable stalks and sometimes get 3-4 ears per stalk. I grow several varieties of corn each year and I do not remove tassels - I simply plant differing varieties at different times - tasseling at various times and never cross pollinating each other. I grow blocks of corn 50x50 ft and in patio containers. I've even had some luck with 5 gallon buckets in the past, grouping them together. It's fun to experiment. I planted Silver'n'Gold seed given to me by a neighbor. Seed was easily 4 or more years old - I'm trying it anyhow.. Started a 20' X 10' cluster that's germinated and growing - no idea how well it will do, but I'll find out

20' x 10' <--- larger than my biggest micro-garden

It's all about trying things out and seeing what will work. :D

@deanlogic I never had the space to do more than a 10'x10' until last year. Now I have 88 tomato plants - 21 different heirloom varieties. Few thousand square feet of tomato beds..lol

I'm testing different trellis methods, tomato varieties, and training techniques that I never would have dreamed of doing just last year.

It's all about making the most of your space - however large or small - and that's the beauty of gardening.

You can do a lot in a small space, but when you find more room you tend to find ways to use it rather quickly. Gardening teaches us to be dynamic and never static.

It just as rewarding on a micro-scale as it is on a million acre commercial operation. Keep up the good work and I look forward to more of your content!

I think I will be moving more to containers next year.
Too many issues with invasive weeds and such things.

Also, I really didn't plan much this year, just put things out to see what would grow where.

"just put things out to see what would grow where."

Yup, that's my whole strategy.

How did you germinate them?

Just stuck them in the dirt.... which was a mixture of potting soil, raised garden soil and play sand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66