Fruit 2: I found Alkesa and Failure to cook it😂😂

in #fruitsabdveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Hellow Steemit Fellows😉

image
pouteria sapodilla


This is the second post about the things I have read or heard before but never knew what or how it looks and taste until I find it 😊.

On my way back from Bandung, West Java to Pamulang, Banten Via Puncak, Bogor last month, I told My Hubby that we should stopped over if there's any unique things selling at the side of the road. He the asked his nephew, Dody who also our driver that day to stop by for a while right in front of a small fruit stall which you can find a long the national road in Padalarang, West Java.

Hubby told me to buy some Alkesa or Sawo Mentega or Campoleh or chiesa/tiesa or yellow sapodilla. I admitted that this is the first time I saw that fruit and wondering how the tree is. The seller show me the way to the tree behind the stall , but I couldn't get closer because it is growing in the slope. So, I just asked him to choose the good mature fruits and half matured.

image
this is half ripe, the skin would wrinkled later and the taste is a bit bitter if not well ripe


How's the taste? So Sweet..like boiled sweet potatoes and sweeter😊 it has 1-5 seeds inside the yellow flesh. From the colour you knew it contained good vitamin A like carrot. People usually eat the fruit freshly.

image
the texture is soft and melted in your mouth, just like butter


All right, because I already knew the taste and its texture, I thought that I could cook it just like sweet potatoes or pumpkin😂 so, I started my experimental cooking as usual. Unfortunately, I run out the well ripe fruits and I forgot to let the half-ripe out of the fridge.

I'm a stubborn one when I'm eager to try anything comes up in my mind. I thought thatcif I cook the galf-ripe fruits with coconut's milk it will soften like pumpkin or sweet potatoes.

BUT I WAS WRONG, TOTALLY WRONG😂

half ripe alkesa
image
peel it and slice it the way you like
image
cook it with 3 cups of coconut's milk and add some sugar later
image


My plan was to make a sweet soup which can be be eaten with the steamed sticky rice.

I soaked the sticky rice for an hour in fresh water
image
I pour a cup of coconut's milk, a tsp salt and cook it in simmering heat
image
turn of the heat when it half dried and cooked
image
prepare the steamer and put the half-cooked sticky rice and steam it for 15-20 minutes
image
it is ready to eat, but let it cool down
image


After cooking the Alkesa for 20 minutes, I found out that it would never soften forever and the taste was still the same, but my soup has a sweet scent. So I add some sliced plantains as alternatives for the soup and let it simmering for another 5 minutes.

Because this was for my toothless FIL coffee break snack, I just served him the soup with plantains and the sticky rice. I forgot to captured the picture because I'm a bit disappointed with the result. But My FIL ate everything I served on the plate😂😂😂 without the alkesa for sure.

I learned something from this failure😊

Don't you ever cook the half-ripe Yellow Sapodilla forever😂😂😂

Well.. next time I have the well ripe Yellow Sapodilla, better turn it into cookies or cake rather than a compote or sweet soup😣. I still keep my curious with the fruits because I couldn't eat more than one fruit at a time because it is too sweet and soft, a good ingredients for ice cream and smoothie.

What is Yellow Sapodilla?

This fruit is native to South Mexico, around 16th century the Spaniards who cane to Philipina brought the seeds and from there it spread through all over South Asia including Indonesia. In Indonesia, we couldn't find this fruit anywhere in the island. So far, I just know that the fruit is growing wild in West Java. An evergreen tree and the fruits always available through the years. It will fell down from the tree when it is riped and couldn't survived more than 3 days after that.

We called this fruit as Sawo Mentega, Wolanda, Campoleh and Alkesa in Indonesia. I don't find many information about how to proceed this fruit into desert or cakes in my country but I read that some people would turn it into jam, pie and marmalade too. It needs more research about its benefit for the health. I'm sure that thus fruit is a good source of Vitamin A and C, dietary fiber and the latex can be use as a mixed latex to make Gum Candy.

Who said that you should post only the succeed recipe? Even the squirrel fell from the tree sometimes. Thanks for Stopping By and See You Around.

Created by @cicisaja for #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving and the Steemit Community!

Sort:  

Enak rasanya seperti makan ubi

Posted using Partiko Android

Bener bang @hsidik, makanya tak coba bikin kolak atau bubur.. tapi salah pilih, sepet dah 😂😂 tapi wanginya dapat lah sbg ganti durian dan nangka

Congratulations @cicisaja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 9750 replies. Your next target is to reach 10000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Happy to see you this week @cicisaja! This is one I actually have tried before! Though unfortunately like your cooking experiment, I actually tried to eat it before it was ripe enough. Not very tasty at all. Ooops, should have let it go for a few more days to be able to actually enjoy it. I had a client for a while who was from Mexico, so he brought one of these in a basket for my birthday one year with a number of other fruits native to his home country. It was the best gift ever to get to try some new fruits! Luckily all the other ones were delicious. I'll have to try to find this again to give it a true chance.

happy to joined back again @puarvidaville, I've been busy playing steemmonsters lately so, never had a chance to create a post for fruitsandveggiesmonday. it is quite chalenging, I don't know how to let it ripe, some said that I should keep it in the rice container, but I'm afraid that I'll forget about it and rotten all my rice too. I still have it in the palstic bag but I haven't check it yet.
I really want to try to cook something with it, its remind me to durian, though the smell and the taste not quite the same. because its texture more like boiled sweet potatoes when it riped, I think I could use it to make a cake, a simple one.

whoaa... trying new fruits always chalenging and interesting, you're solucky with the gift. I need to go to some place if I want to try some unique fruits, I want to grow one ..but because the trees could grow til 20-30 meters tall, Hubby refused my idea..LOL

Hi, @cicisaja!

You just got a 0.31% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Great preparation and I am glad that you are here again @cicisaja

Thanks @proanima, at least I can kearn something from this failed trial 😊

Nice to see you again Dear @cicisaja, I always enjoy reading your stories and this time is no different. Altough, I never ate this fruits, I am familiar with it from internet, because I collect fruits and veggies on www.pinterest.ca. You can also READ HERE about the health benefits of this fruits, because it has many!!! So consider yourself lucky that you found it, lol. Otherwise, I am glad you shared your experience with us, we can all learn from it 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much for your information and acceptance @lenasveganliving😊 I know so little about this fruit, but I'll try to process it again if I had found the well-ripe later.

I just love your Fruits and Veggies posts @cicisaja, your stories are always so nice to read! I see we have some similar traits, I'm also super stubborn when it comes to something I've decided to do/try, lol. I agree with you that we shouldn't only share the perfect creations, everyone has their fails. Still, I don't consider this a fail, it just wasn't perfect, but still good. :)

This is a big failure for me @jasmink because I don't follow my guts when I touch the fruits and try to crash it with my hand and I couldn't. I ignored my knowledge about sapodilla taste if its hal-ripe...but still, I do learn something from this.

Thank you for your nice comment and I love it as well😊 I'm a stubborn cook 😂😂😂 and I don't want to ve perfect either, once I cook a perfect one, I'll never want to cook it anymore.

Haha, "I don't want to be perfect either, once I cook a perfect one, I'll never want to cook it anymore", that's true, we always need a little challenge! 😉

More of because I couldn't repeat the perfect one @jasmink 😂😂😂 I can't hold my curiousity when cooking by changing the recipe😂😂

I like that you posted what didn’t work. It makes these recipes and stories so much more relatable and people like to relate to one another. I have never seen nor heard of that fruit but am not surprised, you’ve introduced me to so many fruits I’ve never tasted. Great fruits and veggies @cicisaja- good to have you back my friend :)

Thank you so much for your support @puravidaville 😂 what a relieve! Im thinking about skipped this week too😊 but I have the picture of this failed recipe from last week, uhmm.. actually I've prepare the draft since last week but too shy to publish it until I got the nerve to just let it go to the world.

image
I'm waiting for Rambutan to be ready to harvest and share it with everyone on fruitsandveggiesmonday later


And I still have some fruits to introduce it to you😉 just fasten your seat belt!

I’m buckled in and ready to rock @cicisaja! I’m also glad you decided to give this week a whirl. Not all of our recipes turn out like we’d hope but I’m sure sometimes they turn out even better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62