Peach Cobbler Breakfast

in #fruitandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Alright, this isn't exactly a peach cobbler breakfast, but it's really close.

I recently came across a muesli cereal by Bob's Red Mill. I've already been familiar with the Bob's line of goods for other reasons, primarily whole wheat and healthy pancakes (which I love).

In and of itself this muesli is a simple breakfast: nuts, wheats, raisins, etc, boiled in water, eaten, enjoyed. It's probably the best muesli I've had, but still a little on the bland side. What makes it better, however, is more fruit! In particular, peaches and bananas.

To really give the cereal a fruitier flavour I decided to slice up a peach and cook it in the pot with the cereal. No other changes, just add the peach.

In and of itself this was a really tasty addition. Almost like a peach cobbler! What really put it over the top, however, was a dash of cinnamon, which really made it cobbler-esque, and then sliced banana on top. Mmmmmm. Tomorrow I think I'm going to replace the banana with blueberries (mostly because I just used the last banana, and still have blueberries). Pair this up with a good cup of coffee and it is an awesome way to start the day.

This is my breakfast. My 10 year old son, who is literally under doctor's orders to gain weight however he can, enjoyed a bowl of mint-chocolate-chip ice cream with me for breakfast. Oh, to once again have the metabolism of a nuclear reactor.

So, a simple idea from a simple breakfast made tasty.

Recipe:

  1. Boil 1 cup water in a pot. Or a pan if you really want, I suppose.
  2. Add 1/2 cup Muesli cereal. I use cereal from Bob's Red Mill, but any muesli will work.
  3. Slice a peach and add it into the mixture.
  4. Add cinnamon to taste.
  5. Cook 7 minutes. Remove from heat. Let stand 2 minutes.
  6. Add additional fruit garnish.

And there you have it: a healthy peach cobbler!

I'm adding this to @lenasveganliving fruits and veggies contest

https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggiesmonday/@vegansofsteemit/steemit-fruits-and-veggies-monday-competition-special-announcement / https://steempeak.com/fruitsandveggiesmonday/@vegansofsteemit/steemit-fruits-and-veggies-monday-competition-special-announcement
 because everyone deserves the opportunity to enjoy a peach cobbler.

(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
![Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png]()
Sort:  

Wouldn't you know, I've got peaches and muesli in my kitchen right now? Haha, this looks like a delicious breakfast or even a great snack. Stuff like this is always awesome because you can easily swap out the fruit for whatever you have on hand and it will always be delicious! Thanks so much for joining us at the Monday table!

Reminded me of my earlier Nursing years where I lined up my kitchen counter beginning the preset coffee maker, then with a bowl the Quick Oats, then a choice of Raisins, Chopped almonds, chopped dried apricots, dried cranberries, cracked flax, brown sugar, etc, ending with the microwave oven. Fast Breakfasts.

I am all into the idea of fast breakfasts, too. Difficult to find a good economy of scale, time-wise, when cooking usually just for two though. My boys need to learn to cook.

Howdy sir wwwiebe! I didn't know you were doing this challenge, well done! That looks tremendous. What kind of bowl is that top picture?

Thank you!

That bowl is actually a measuring cup. I have an entire set of cat-themed measuring cups. My boys are infatuated with cats and finding these measuring cups was really funny.

oh how cool! lol.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR AWARD!
the healthiest recipe resized.png

Thank you @lenasveganliving! I'm hoping to keep participating!

You are very welcome and we are happy to have you 🍑😊🍑

I'm curating your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67