No Need To Buy Expensive Seed Starter Kits

in #frugal7 years ago

Hobbies can become expensive, but when that so-called hobby is actually a lifestyle and has a purpose in your life to save money, you watch every penny.

#Gardening is not only a lifestyle choice I made, but it is also therapeutic for my #auto-immune disorder by helping me relax and reduces some stress; which could lead to anxiety.

I am not a person to spend money left and right. I am a saver. I am frugal. And not only because we are a one income household, it is just the way I am. So when it came to getting starter seed supplies this past spring and I saw the prices at the local home improvement store, my jaw dropped.
I knew I could do better price-wise as well as accomplish my task of getting my seedlings growing.

As it turns out (bless her soul and heart) my aunt passed away in May and she was what some may call a hoarder of sorts. She had every rubber band that ever crossed her threshold, every napkins from fast food restaurants (some have been out of business for years) and take-out containers tucked in every cupboard of her kitchen. Well, I snatched up the containers. I just discovered a use for them.

After I had every container matched to a lid, I was off and running.
I drilled holes in the bottoms of the containers (for good drainage and watering later) and proceeded to scoop seedling and potting mix in each bottom. I planted a variety of greens (arugula in three, spinach in four, etc), watered and added a think layer of seedling mix over the seeds. Then I loosely covered with the lid and set in a dark place in my house.

*DO NOT drill holes in the clear lid. This will act as a tray to set the container on later as a bottom watering dish.

Within four days here are my results (one spinach container)

20170717_112439_001.jpg

If all goes well, within another few weeks I will have a great salad collection of greens. So simple and free. It helps that the carry-out containers have the clear lid. Perfect for any gardener.

I still have a few dozen of these containers and plan on getting my fall herbs going in the next week or so.

Sort:  

Sharing this on our Facebook page

Thank you! I keep forgetting to link back there

Hi @goldendawne. Totally get this.

We collect all sorts of discarded containers for use in the garden - yoghurt pots, donut boxes, coleslaw tubs...

I hate throwing away perfectly good plastic containers that have only had one short use.

so much plastic, so many uses

good for recicled and for usesfull thing that you do not imagine that you should some of this, i write about a lemon trees, watering by recicle water of beef or chicken meat when you wash and clean this beef the water result of the proccess you should put it on the lemon tree and you every year have been lemons, during a lot of time because it is a good fertilized for it.
thanks for shared about this nice informatiòn.
:=)

I have been researching growing my own tangerine tree. Will be quite the effort though as I live in the north. It can be done but takes patience and know-how

Please try, o guau tangerines are good i hope you should grouwn up this amazing tree and delicious fruit. Good luck

That's actually a good idea for starting seeds, and free is always good.

My motto has always been if it's free, then it's for me

A good motto to have. :-)

Great post. Perfect way for anyone to get into gardening. Thanks for sharing

thanks Tom- I love finding new uses for old items

good post

Good luck on your fall herb planters. I look forward to seeing an update :D

will post update pics in couple weeks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30